Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Story City stay

Posted Jan 26, 2015
The breakfast was very good. We used that room throughout the day and this was not a problem including helping ourselves to some of the items still there. The staff was extremely accommodating! All around it was a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Angelafrom Houston, Texas

Perfect place to stay!

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was easy to get to, very clean and comfortable. The staff was excellent! When I return for another visit, I will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Katefrom Willard

Great place to stay

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place for the price! No complaints at all. Bed was comfortable. Room was very clean.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Laurafrom Story City, IA

Smoke smell and customer service issues

Posted Jul 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
At first, the hotel seemed nice. The lobby was clean and fresh and the check in process was fine. However, when we went up to our room on the 2nd floor we noticed a strong smoke smell through the halls. It was very noticeable. We went into our room and realized it was a smoking room, even though our reservation through this site was specified non smoking. We tried to call the front desk but the phone in the room didn't work so I took my young daughter down to the desk and asked to be moved as per our reservation. The clerk said that since we booked through a site rather than direct through the hotel that they did not have to honor our request. I told him that my daughter has asthma And that we couldn't stay in a smoky room. So he moved us down the hall to another room but said the hotel was booked the following night and we would have to change rooms to a smoking room for our second night. We were irritated to say the least. We contacted hotels.com and they were able to refund our money so we could go to a different hotel for the second night. The pool was nice and the breakfast was good but paying this much money to stay in a hotel that smells like smoke was not acceptable for our family.
2 out of 5
by Samfrom brookings sd

Uncomfortable

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Wouldn't stay again, especially for the price I paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by laurafrom texas

great for going to a wedding

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for a wedding. A bit pricy but saved the drive back and forth if we had stayed in ames
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sherifrom Pacific Junction, Ia

Nice location

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall, our stay here was great and I would stay here again. The breakfast was very nice and plentiful. The down side is we were put in a smoking room and it smelled horrible. Also, there wasn't much for sound proofing done when they built this hotel. We could hear the people in the next room and the people above us walking back and forth for hours. I wanted to complain but my mom didn't so we just waited until it was all quiet before going to bed. This was pretty late and we had to get up early. I would give this hotel a higher score if it weren't for the sound problems and smelly room.
3 out of 5
by Janefrom Springfield, IL

Great hotel for smokers who prefer no ventilation

Posted Oct 5, 2013
The lobby smelled of cigarette smoke, but then stepping off the elevator onto the 2nd floor was like walking into a smoke bomb. The first 10 rooms are smoking rooms before a traveler ever gets to the non-smoking rooms. Once inside the room, the heating and air conditioning unit did NOT work. We called the front desk about it, but no one ever came. Thank goodness the windows opened, but we were kept awake by a huge thunderstorm. The beds were old mattresses, lumpy and soft. We won't return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Return Visit

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were pleased as always with this hotel. It was neat and clean. The staff was very approachable and helpful. We have stayed in this hotel several times over the last couple of years and have never been disappointed.