Ratings based on 372 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
Pleasant room, good quality comfort, facilities suc as indoor pool, jacuzzi very nice, very nice family place.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hooksett, NH

Unimpressive in the off-season

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: I only briefly interacted with the front desk and housekeeping and found them both to be quite nice. Beyond that, not much else was to my liking.
Cons: Cleanliness, definitely. The furniture and decor desperately needs updating, but I'd suggest patching the walls and painting the ceilings first.
Location: The location in Stowe is perfect, however it would have been nice to know they were doing bridge work nearby, causing a five minute detour.
For $120/night, even in the off-season, I was just expecting higher quality. The lobby area is quaint and homey and kept up nicely. I was given a room in the same building, just a few doors down. This particular building was more motor-lodge than resort hotel, in my opinion. The rooms need desperate updating...twenty years ago would have been ideal. The smell was musty as if the room hadn't been used in months or even aired out by the housekeeping staff. The wallpaper was indicative of a country house, however the hole in the wall cheapened it even more. The ceiling was covered in colored markings that could have easily been cleaned off if the staff could have bothered. Upon inspecting the bathroom, the first thing noticed was the dark brown staining in the sink, the uncleaned toilet, and worst of all, the brown ring around the entire whirlpool tub...and the hairs found clinging to the sides of the tub as well. Honestly, the last thing I planned on doing on my getaway was scrubbing the dirt off of a tub before being able to use it. Based on the upkeep and cleanliness of the room, I didn't bother to check out the spa or indoor pool, so I can't comment on the condition of those. The king-sized bed was firm, but not entirely uncomfortable. The walls? Paper thin. When new people arrived, they could be distinctly heard in their rooms. The wifi? Spotty at best. When more visitors arrived, it practically faded to nothing. The TV? Signal would waver in and out all night long.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice views of the mountain.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
The room was a bit outdated. The lights needed to be fixed. The wallpaper was ripped off the walls in spots. However the staff were really friendly. The view of the mountain was really nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Burlington, VT

Family overnight

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: This is a great location if you're not actually staying at the mountain. You can walk to great restaurants and downtown Stowe.
Location: In season there is skiing, hiking, biking, swimming. World class dining, breweries, ice cream, cheese. Great bike path for blading, biking, walking.
We were looking for an economical place for 3 adults and 3 kids, and this worked. Do not expect any frills. This is a straight-forward, stuck in the 80's motel that is tired. Our room was clean but cramped due to so much furniture (however 6 people could sit), tiny bathroom, an actual wood stove that we fired up for ambience, and a separate bedroom with 2 double beds. The sofa bed was not very comfortable,but I'm not sure there is such a thing. The decor in the room and lobby are dated but surprisingly appropriate. Once you settle in, enjoy the huge indoor pool and sauna, walk across the street to great restaurants or even walk to to Main St Stowe. All in all a good value for 6 people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Loved the Golden Eagle Resort!!!

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
We had an awesome time! Everyone was friendly and helpful. The room Was clean. We are at the restaurant there and we had the best waitress. Can't remember her name. She was friendly and also helpful. I'm so glad we stayed there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MA

Great Place to Stay in Stowe

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Location, price and overall value
Cons: Extra blankets for cold winter nights
The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool and gym were nice. The hotel lobby was cozy and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

weekend stay

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels.com
Only stayed one night but it was very nice and worth it for the price
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Stay

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Heated towel rack and warming bulb in the bathroom.
Cons: Hotel atmosphere, improved friendliness and helpfulness of staff, updated furniture, and improved ability to manage temperature in hotel room.
Location: Far from Topnotch hotel and other notable attractions, but close to the highway.
After reading all of the reviews on Trip Adviser, I really thought this hotel would be an affordable and comfortable option in Stowe. The specific room I stayed in was very cold and dark. The furniture was very outdated and the room appeared to be in disrepair. The front desk staff appear to be overworked and understaffed. Both times I needed to go to the front desk the only employee present was struggling to manage the phones and take care of on site hotel guests. I tried calling the front desk once from my room phone and no one ever picked up! I personally will not stay here again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jonathanfrom Connecticut

Good times.

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
Always a good stay at the Golden Eagle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Garyfrom Brooklyn

Stowe family getaway

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very adequite