Ratings based on 338 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

OK Hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: Excellent breakfast/brunch at McCarthy's across the street.
I found the room quite pleasant, and the bathroom very clean. I didn't like the heating system which went on and off with a noisy blowing heater, and the room was either stuffy or went cool quickly once the heater was off. We opened the bathroom window to "unstuffy" the air. The bed was fairly comfortable, but I didn't like the top cover which was heavy and rather unwieldy. All in all, nothing terrible, and fine for two nights. We did not eat in the cafe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom prov. r.i.

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2014
We only stayed for 2 days 1 night weekend getaway with the girls. We had alot of fun. The hotel staff were all very polite. They let us check in early. Everything about this place was great from beginning to the end. We ate at their breakfast place, went in the jacuzzi and pool, even played a litte air hockey. They have a nice gazebo in the back. It is close to alot of things. Cant say enough about the place. We cant wait to go back next time with our husbands.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsfield, MA

Golden Eagle Stowe-Away

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Cozy, quiet and comfortable.
Cons: The couch in the living room was a bit uncomfortable.
Location: The Golden Eagle is located close to all of the activities available in Stowe.
The Golden Eagle was a wonderful stay. The suite was much more than we had expected. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The breakfast at the Cafe was very good, especially the pancakes and Vermont maple syrup.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Cons: pebble walkway to my room. Had to carry heavy bag.
Location: excellent location.
Was stressed out and needed to just relax. It worked..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Middling Resort in the Middle of It All

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: It is a good value. A nice facility at a good price.
Cons: Just a little polish here and there. It is older and as such could use a little more "lipstick".
Location: Skiing at Stowe and Smuggler's Notch 10 minutes away. Excellent restaurants in the area but if going off-season, check ahead.
I don't mean "middling" disparagingly. It is neither ultra-plush nor chintzy - a good family resort. There are a number of buildings that are single or two story construction as well as some apartments. Checking in was without problem and the room was clean, maintained and comfortable. There is a fitness center with pool in its own building. They also have a breakfast cafe (I think it does lunch during the seasons. We were not there in-season.). The breakfasts there are STELLAR. The resort is located just off the main-drag in Stowe so it is very convenient to retailing and restaurants. And just up Mountain Road are the ski slopes (and more retail and restaurants). The resort is open year-round whereas others in the area might not be and is very reasonably priced (whereas others...)
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

very deceiving

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: They have a good location.
Terrible musty smell in the room. We were very concerned, had to leave the windows opened at all times. What was deceiving were the photos of the type of room and hotel. This is a run down looking motel style and photos on line they do a good job at showing the front lobby as well as an aerial photo of greenery, the section which is not a motel. Not at all a Superior room as per photos on Expedia. When I complained, the reply was Expedia stated basic room, next time book direct, always better. It felt very icky, we were afraid to put our backpacks on the floor. kept our clothes in the suitcases. Not sure a Superior room would have been any different. From the outside one can see that this place needs major renovations. The local paper stated the resort has just been sold and there will be new life and energy. They plan to replace carpets and wall paper. Desperately needs "new " everything. Fortunately only a one night stay. There are much better places in Stowe which we enjoyed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Nice place that was very clean. Quiet and peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great place to stay in Stowe

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Wonderful hotel, a great place to stay in Stowe. Close to everything with friendly staff & lots to do.