Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Hartford, CT

Nice, Clean, Motel-Style Place to Stay

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet. Pretty grounds.
Cons: The decor could be updated, but was appropriate for mountain resort.
Location: Stowe Village is charming with lots of little shops and restaurants. We had excellent hibachi and sushi nearby.
This is a nice, motel-style place to stay. Our room was in the back, quiet, overlooking tennis courts. We stayed in August. There were lots of flowers and nice landscaping. Clean room, comfortable Queen Beds. The indoor pool was clean and warm. There is also a hot tub and outdoor pool and sauna. The breakfast in the restaurant attached to the motel was excellent with excellent service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

😕

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Verry old motel with bad smell may be caus by old carpet. I Will never Go back there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hyde Park, NY

Good value for a well-maintained older facility

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Overall condition of the facility, despite its age.
Location: Handy to the Stowe Recreation Trail, which gets you to town in about 15 minutes. Parking is limited in town, so that's a plus.
"Resort" might be a little misleading for this facility: it looks like an old-style motel where you drive up to the door of your room. Even though the lobby was upgraded in a pleasant way, my expectations were low when I got to my room. Based on my previous "motel" experiences, I expected a freezing cold room, an icky smell, a creaky bed and paper thin walls, So I was pleasantly surprised when I turned the key and saw a clean room, without that motel smell, The temperature was fine---I didn't even bother to locate the AC unit until we were leaving. While the property is obviously old, it appears that great care has been taken to keep things working. The bathroom fixtures operated properly. The television was fine. The mattresses were satisfactory, but not as comfortable as I've experienced in modern properties. The layout of building had us sharing one common wall with another room. I heard a little conversation in the morning, but nothing unreasonable. Free Wi-Fi was a nice surprise. I didn't use the indoor pool, but when I went for a quick swim in the outdoor pool in the morning, I saw many maintenance people working.around the property The outdoor pool and deck were clean and up to snuff. So I would be happy to stay here again. It is not as "modern" as it could be, but was a good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Pretty nice spot

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: pretty much what the review says
Cons: the cancellation penalty is pretty steep.
Location: nice walking trails. Golf is not faraway. The slopes are close, but we were there in summer.
Though calling this motel a "resort" might be a stretch, the rooms are pleasant and the amenities are very nicely maintained. Its nice and quiet, our queen double was roomy, the beds are comfy. the staff very pleasant and helpful. Its a good value spot, and we would recommend it. Our only negative comment would be that the penalty for changing a reservation is pretty stiff- within a week its a full day's tariff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redondo Beach, Ca.

Clean, friendly staff, and close to downtown Stowe

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: All was wonderful
Location: I was there photographing covered bridges and of course there are many... many other surprises to take pictures of also. Loved it.
The hotel staff was very helpful with dinner suggestions and was very cordial. The room was clean and welcoming as were the pools though we didn't take advantage of them. We stayed one night and would stay there again, for sure, when we are in the area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Very convenient to most of what Stowe has to offer

Posted Jul 21, 2014
This was my second stay at this hotel and I was very pleased with the time I spent there. The hotel is walkable to a lot of nice restaurants as well as the movie theatre in town. The staff is extremely friendly, the rooms were clean and nice size, and the hotel also sits right next to the main bike trail through town for those so inclined. Also some great fly fishing in the vicinity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sheryl from Montreal, QC

Very quaint rustic motel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: It was nice that the room had a fridge, although it was noisy when the motor would go on. Great water pressure. Nice indoor & outdoor pool.
Cons: Air conditioner and fridge was a little loud.
Location: Hiking nearby as well as restaurants, market, art galleries and shops
We stayed at this motel from a Thursday to Sunday. We booked online through Expedia so breakfast was not included. This was just as well as the restaurant only opened Saturday morning - it is seasonal. The restaurant is only open for breakfast during certain seasons. The room was very comfortable, large and clean. The windows looked new and were easy to open which was nice as we preferred the crisp country air to the air conditioning. There were restaurants and a market within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from Jacksonville, FL

Great for a weekend ski trip

Posted Jun 17, 2014
This was a great place for the price and the 4 day trip to Stowe to snowboard. Close to many restaurants, friendly staff. I'll stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by THouse from Dublin, Ca.

Loved Stowe!

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was charming. Grounds were nice. Lots of amenities. Location was good, and the staff was great. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.