Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trapp visit

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Wonderful location, great facilities and you can taste the history of the place. Such a shame that my experience was let down by staff in the dining room who do not appear to have fully embraced ( or understood) the concept of customer service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views and grounds.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Grounds, comfortable clean rooms, friendly staff. Very family friendly.
Cons: Dining staff, some aesthetic updates.
The hotel had beautiful views and grounds. We were only there for the weekend, but I would have liked to have stayed longer to enjoy some activities and learn more about the history of the property. The staff was attentive and very friendly. Areas for improvement: Some eminities could use updating, not that anything was in disrepear but it was a bit dated. Also the staff at the Deli were clearly not well trained. Waited 40 minutes for a couple of sandwiches with only one salad order ahead of us. We do realize the staffing limitations in a resort town, but it was frustrating as we happened to be on a time schedule and were just looking for take-out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting - mediocre room

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The views are amazing and the fitness center/pool facility is wonderful. Our room (#204), however, was not what we expected! The size was good as we had our two teen boys with us and there was enough room for one to be on a cot and one on the pullout sofa. However, there was no air conditioning!! Given that it had been an 80-degree July day, we were a bit concerned! We were brought a fan but the room still was on the warmer side. The bathroom was a bit dingy as well and the bath products were like what you'd find at a Holiday Inn. I would not rush to stay there again, I regret to say.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

A worthwhile stay.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Great view and the beautiful heated pool was next to a field of grazing cattle. Very nice gardens and walking trails. Great breakfast.
Location: The location was amazing. Hiking trails, bike rentals on hotel grounds
Had a relaxing time. Great place for young and old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by D & I M from MA

Pretty as a picture, but staff needs more training

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Inn was beautiful, very charming with lots of photos of the Von Trapps through the years. On our arrival, however, the front desk clerk asked for a credit card (a normal procedure for incidental charges), but then she swiped our card and charged us again even though we had paid in advance through Hotels.com. Then she didn't know how to undo it. After asking another desk person, she was told she had to call someone else to do it over the phone. This took quite a while to straighten out, approximately 15-20 minutes. We were told we were all set, but upon checking out, another clerk stated he would be charging our card. Again we explained we had paid in advance, and he said "Oh, yes, I see that now." Upon returning home, we found that there was a $1 charge on our card--not certain what that was for as we didn't make any calls or use any facilities. The first clerk probably credited the original amount charged incorrectly. Not sure if I'd bother going through this again. Despite this, the inn was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous mountain location, lovely place.

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable rooms. Clean, nicely appointed in casual way. Loved the Trapp photos throughout and the antiques.
Cons: Food options - would like some more options at a more economical price -
Peaceful, excellent accommodations - - love to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Frank A. from Brooklyn N.Y.

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I ski at Stowe quite a bit ,this is the first time that I stayed there. Place is awesome. Trapp Family Lodge is a must if you're traveling through Stowe summer or winter. I'm sure to go back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2014
staff was excellent and very accommodating. will definitely come back and stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alec from Ontario

Simply excellent

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
My second stay at the hotel. Will come back again.