Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston,MA

The location of the resort is beautifully situated

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: The view and the staff
Cons: A little updating would work wonders for this hotel.
Location: Located near Stowe and Waterbury Vermont. There is a lot of out door sports, hiking, biking, skiing in the winter. Its also near waterbury VT,
The view from the resort is beautiful. The rooms were charming but could have used a refresh. The walls were stenciled from the 1980s. I understand that they are going for the old world charm, but as clean as the resort was it just looked dated and a little dingy. The view from our room 237 was fantastic. It had a little patio with 2 chairs over looking the valley - absolutely beautiful!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Beautiful Views!

Posted May 26, 2015
My husband and I stayed here for Memorial Day weekend. The staff was friendly and helpful. We sat outside at the Brewery for lunch. The views are breathtaking. There is so much to do at the Lodge. It is very kid friendly, with campfire sing-a-longs and a rock climbing wall in the fitness center. There are three pools. We requested a room with a balcony, which we were able to get even in one of the less expensive rooms. The grounds are gorgeous. We saw deer on property and enjoyed walking around the area. Lots of mountain bike trails. We will definitely be back for a longer stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Von Trapp Lodge

Posted Apr 26, 2015
If you are looking for a quiet, serene place to visit after ski season this is the place..grounds are beautiful..they Have a huge indoor pool and an outdoor hot tub that faces the mountains So you can relax and enjoy the view. Beds are comfortable w big down comforters and Austrian pieces of furniture in the rooms and throughout the Lodge. If you are a Sound of Music fan you will really appreciate this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Amazing place to stay

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: The building itself is full of great history, with European roots. If you’re European living in the US and you miss Europe, visit this place.
Cons: the pool (fitness center) is not connected to the main building so every time in and out you have to dress up. Not so great with little kids. There w
Location: Amazing ski slopes, horse sleigh rides, tour of an ice cream factory, tour of a little chocolate store so you can watch how chocolates are made.
The owners of the lodge care about every little detail of this place. Staff is great, room service very kind and helpful, no pressure, everyone is patient, smiling and unpretentious. In every little corner of the building you have plenty of flowers in pots and planters, even during the winter time (!). Rooms are great, you can use add’l heater if you're cold but it is very warm even with ultra-low temperatures outside. In several corners of the building there are cozy rooms with wood burning fire places, books, games for kids, views from windows. There is a room to play ping pong, other games, there is a room for ballet, dancing, great gym and obviously amazing pool (with very warm water), also hot pool outside of the building surrounded with snow, climbing wall, sauna. For steak lovers, this is The Place. Try Cowboy’s cut rib eye steak. I stayed there for 6 days and every evening had the same meal as I couldn’t imagine anything better. My wife was testing other meals, equally great. Steak prices 30-40% lower than in Manhattan. The best waiter – Tayler (?). I don’t remember the name of the beer, but it was local, dark, heavy smoked, just awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NH

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Location, skiing, staff, activities.
Cons: Rooms were too warm!
Location: Beautiful scenery, fantastic XC skiing, just a wonderful get away from everything place!
Went for an overnight. Meals were delicious, facilities great, couln't be nicer. Workers were fantastic as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Montpelier VT

The dining room and the lounge had great food.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Room, food and service. There is a marvelous gift shop, as well.
Cons: Beauty Salon/Hair cuts.
Location: It is located in the Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. Snow, lots of it, in the winter. There are other nearby areas for downhill skiing.
Across then road, Trapp Lodge has a Fitness Center and full length Pool, also yoga, message and various exercises. There is also an Outdoor Center which suoports cross-country skiing and snowshoeing, however, for this active female, I was quite disappointed they did not have a Beauty Salon! I couldn't believe it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Generally speaking - it's OK... But, please be aware of the stuff evasiveness. They play around with a customer, providing no direct answer for a pointed question. Example: it was really cold outside and no proper heating inside with plenty non functioning thermostats placed all over. I had to press really hard to get the different room with kind of better but no adequate heating as well. Wasn't this lodge designed for cold Vermont winters at the first place? I thought so... This was confirmed further by the following weekend heating - all of a sudden it happed to be sufficiently warm. Most probably because of additional patrons influx. After two days it got back all over again... Too pricey for services they provide...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom newport RI

Lodge convenient to skiing

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Comfortable, friendly with good restaurants
Cons: Lodge could use some updating
Location: skiing both downhill and cross country Mountain biking snow shoeing hiking horse drawn carriage rides
Have spent many great days at the lodge over the past twenty five years.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Bathrooms would definitely need some improvements, very tiny
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels.com