Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

excellent, inexpensive accomodations

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Convenient and comfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by RAYfrom Grand haven mi

short getaway

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The check in person was not to friendly, she did give us information when asked but no smilesor warm greetings. The room was adaquate, however we were told two queen beds and we got two doubles. The room coffee supplies were nil. The room was quiet.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Not happyfrom Michigan

Make sure you specify which part of the property

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you are staying in the cabins you will likely have a nice stay. If you are in the hotel portion of the property you will be welcomed by 1970's type furniture and overall outdated amenities. The mostly Jamaican staff is more concerned with eating and talking then they are with customer service. I actually tried to check out prior to taking the room but was advised that since I booked with Hotels.com I would have to pay whether I took the room or not. Walls are paper thin and you have to go to the hotel next door for breakfast. Pass on this location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nuvenafrom Shelby Twp., MI.

Within walking distance to beautiful view!

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We almost always stay here because the location is great! You can walk across the street to Lake Huron and a magnificent view. It's also near several historic sites, easy access onto the Mackinaw bridge and close to downtown. Since we don't go on vacation to sit in a hotel room, it was fine for our needs. Beds are soft, staff was friendly, water at all hotels is "hard water", (they don't use water softener).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Jackson, MI

Cramped and run down.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: This hotel had a good location near the Star Line and Arnold ferry docks and not far from downtown Mackinaw.
Cons: The rooms need to be better maintained and need to be bigger.
Location: As mentioned the hotel has a good location near the ferries and downtown Mackinaw.
The hotel we booked for the week didn't have a room for our final night so we chose to stay at the Econo Lodge. It cost more than the hotel we were staying at so we expected something nicer; however, the room was quite a bit smaller. There was virtually no space between the beds and the walls and a narrow space between the two beds. The bathroom was only big enough to accommodate the toilet, a small tub/shower combo and a place to stand next to the toilet and tub. There was a small table in the room and a small refrigerator was placed underneath the table. As a result, the two chairs in the room had no place to go but the end of the beds. The sink area was only big enough to accommodate the sink (very little space to place things next to the sink). The only place to hang any towels was one bar in the bathroom and one small hook with two prongs in the bathroom (i.e., nothing by the sink outside the bathroom). The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling back and a corner was chipped off the top of the toilet tank. Internet access was spotty (we couldn't get on in the morning). The door to our room was hard to get closed and we had difficulty getting our room key cards to work.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom detroit

Posted Aug 16, 2014
When arrived no towels no wash cloths, no shower curtain, tiles loose in bathroom, only 1 extra pillow available, Provided breakfast facility was distant and difficult to get to as well as inadequate for number of guests and tables not wiped. Toaster filled room w smell of burnt bread. office is not handicap accessible. When I asked if they had an accessible office he said "well your in here, aren't you.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Disappointed

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Location: It was across the street from the boats to Mackinaw Island.
When we had arrived a lady in the office was screaming about the quality of her room. The reviews had indicated that it had been remodeled. It wasn't and needs it. The website indicated it had a balcony, but did not say it was a shared balcony. The picture showed cabins and this was misleading. I strongly suggest staying in Claire, Michigan and not in Mackinaw city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Petefrom Ontario

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
It had a log cabin feel and the staff were polite and friendly. Rooms could have been a bit cleaner or updated. Bathroom was old.