Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

We stayed in late December. Good for travel.

Posted Dec 27, 2014
We stayed during the Christmas week. The hotel was very pleasant. Pool was great. Breakfast was more than enough. Parking lot is big and wide open. Overall, a great stop on our way to the UP. That said, only 2 restaurants were open in Mackinaw City. We went to Cheboygan for dinner instead of choosing either of those 2. We have a child and neither seemed a great fit, plus the reviews on Yelp were fairly poor of each. This isn't a comment on the hotel though, we'd stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgetown, ON

Wonderful one night stay while travelling.

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Handy, great breakfast, accessible parking.
Cons: Dated bathrooms but clean.
Very close to the water and handy when travelling through. Would like to return in the summer!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, OH

Needs Much Improvement

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: The view.
Cons: The hotel staff needs customer service training. A partial refund should be given to compensate for the lack of promised breakfast.
Location: Pancake Chef is an amazing restaraunt just down the street. The folks that work there are really nice and they make all the yummy food themselves.
The pool was foul and needed to be cleaned. Hotel staff were rude and made it clear they didn't want to be bothered. There is supposed to be a free breakfast included, and the breakfast room is beautiful. However, both days we stayed there was no breakfast because staff didn't show up. Not even coffee - there was light brown water coming out of the machine. My husband went to a nearby Marathon gas station to get coffee and breakfast, and the clerk joked that he must be staying at the Hamilton. And let me tell you, there is no more fun task than scrambling to find breakfast for a toddler in a place where almost everything is closed for the season. The lobby is beautiful, the room was decent and mostly clean and the view is wonderful. But I would not recommend this hotel nor would I stay at it again based off my 2-day experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by J. D.from Amsterdam

Prima hotel, needs better sign along the road.

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Large hotel, lovely location overlooking Traverse Bay. Clean facilties, helpful staff, big rooms, good beds. Good tasting in-room coffee. 10 minute walk, 2 minute drive into downtown. Only inconvenience: though the hotel is huge, we drove right past it (causing an extra drive through domwtone and back) because there is no logo on the hotel and no recognizable sign along the road. We saw the sign later - low to the raod and with shiny mirrored letter, quite invisible when you're driving past it.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Bad and bad

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is horrible. When i ask for the wifi password, they said its same password for every "mchotel", which is not. They told me to change my security on my phone or what. Room is not really clean. There was a nasty smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Terrible food

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall nothing to write home about except for the TERRIBLE "free" breakfast. Fake eggs, sausage swimming in grease, bad coffee, fruit tasted like silly putty, and one waffle machine for hundreds of people. Yuk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: The room and view. The room was clean.
Cons: Hotel staff could be more friendly. And the check it time of 4pm was too late.
I really enjoyed our time in mackinaw. The hotel was pretty good but the staff was grumpy and disconnected to their customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Caledonia, MI

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Cons: The handicap tub bars had black mold around them
I had the stomach flu, so I had no experience. Other than a comfortable bed to lay down on.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mpls, MN

Hotel on the water and next to the ferry

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: More items in the breakfast and larger coffee cups
Location: On The lake with private sandy beach. Next to the ferry
The hotel is your basic. The rooms are average size but with a comfortable bed. The hotel is on the lake and has its own sand beach. It is also the closest hotel to the ferry. You can buy your tickets at the hotel and save money vs buying them from the ferry. The breakfast is small and they do not have much coffee. the coffee cups are smaller than average and the coffee if they have it is very weak. This might be a problem with all hotels. The nearest coffee shop is 6 blocks away and its a starbucks. must be the only coffee in town, long line and long wait. The food in the town is bad. everything "even in the restaurants that are to be the nice ones" serve fried foods. Even the fish is fried and the salads are iceburg lettuce. We walked to many restaurants looking at menus before finally getting in the car and driving 6 miles away to a local unknown place. Wasn't perfect but at least a few things where not fried. The front desk staff does not know much about the area which is odd. and one gentleman who works the desk we discovered has the same answer to all location questions. " 1 block away"