Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Close to lake and dock
Cons: See above
Location: Very easy to get to island and shopping.
TV did not work 1st night or last day. None of the ice machine had ice or were working. Morning breakfast was over crowded.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Rude

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Spent over $300 for one night to have a room not facing the beach. We got there early, and waited over an hour after check in time for our room. The jackuzi jets barely worked, water looked green. And when I called for maintenance, a nosy cleaning lady stepped in telling me the room made it look green and acted offended that I thought it was dirty. Then the maintenance just left. Will never use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G.

It was great hotel near the downtown area .

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The hotel was awesome and we had live stay.I didn't like the breakfast items. The beach was wonderful. We had 1st floor room over looking the beneath area, it was so nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt. Clemens, Michigan

Hotel tried to overcharge confirmed Expedia price

Posted Jul 7, 2014
We booked in May for July 3-5 stay, expecting to pay a little more for a holiday weekend. Price booked at $598.00 in May, but at arrival the receptionist was going to charge over $100.00 more. When I questioned why, she explained that taxes were not covered in the original price. Had I not saved my Expedia confirmation screen of total charges including taxes and fees and showed it to a manager, I would have had no evidence and would have been charged much more. The receptionist didn't know about ringing up the charge by pressing a certain button on her computer screen (supposedly), so I got the less expensive Expedia price. Also, no microwave in room, and coffee carafe chipped and cracked which should be checked every time by housekeeping. Foreign-born staff pleasant and pretty easy to understand. We did get the first floor room facing the beach to watch fireworks I requested! Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CARA from ANDOVER MN

June 2014

Posted Jun 24, 2014
We stayed 3 nights and the hotel was very nice....the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable....They had a big continental breakfast and the swimming pool area was great! Only complaint I had was that the exercise room could use another machine and maybe some weights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colleen from Show Me State

It was an "ok" hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Plenty of parking
Cons: They need to work with there staff in being more customer service friendly
Location: The location was fairly easy getting in and out of, within walking distance of some small shops
The hotel was within walking distance of most shopping venues. When asking the staff about places to eat they seemed as though they were a little to busy to go into any detail and just gave the name of one place which was across the street from them. Although this hotel was close to one of the ferries that shuttle over to the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by melody from Gowen, MI

We have stayed here for the lase 4 years

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Cons: offer body lotion and dental care in each room, dusting would be good.
Location: Dixie saloon is good but has very plain food... Go somewhere else, it's hyped up but not worth it...
We might change our location next time.. We loved this hotel when they first opened a few years ago, it had all bath and bodyworks skincare and hair care, but the last time we stayed they had some off brand toiletries, and failed to include bodylotion.... this may seem petty but when I am staying somewhere I tend to not bring toiletries because they should be included and I figured they were of decent branding, however when I called to the front desk and asked for lotion they did provide me with some actually that was bath and bodyworks... which was interesting because they stopped using that hotel wide.... this is a great location to go to mackinaw island because starline is right next door, and it is within walking distance of downtown and the Dixie saloon.... Anyway the dust in this room on the bed was disturbing.... otherwise a fine room to stay in for this trip. The pool is always pleasing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by wally from Delafield WI

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: clean, convenient, pleasant staff
Cons: mattress..do not like foamy
Location: visited restaurants, took ferry
helpful staff...convenient to what we wanted to do. ....did not like mattress
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome, right by the water. Very comfortable

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Go there! It is a great hotel you'll enjoy your stay. We stayed only a couple nights and we really enjoyed it. We will definitely be returning to this location !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gs from Detroit

Close to beach and walking distance to ferry boat

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Better sound proofing
Location: Again, great location right on the water with nice beach
Wonderful location right on the water. Walking distance to downtown shops and boat ferries. Room average, reasonably clean however not very sound proof. Staff helpful and pleasant. Breakfast Buffett included with room price subpar.