Ratings based on 448 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Front porch, breakfast buffet
Staff great. Room had awkward low ceilings. Buffet breakfast very good. Nice to sit in rocking chairs on front porch and watch sun go down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton, Ohio

Awesome stay at a very historic hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Great ambiance. Completely remodeled dining room is very bright and cozy. Loved having a room with a view of harbor and downtown. Loved sitting on the big porch in the rockers and people watching. Very good selection of breakfast foods. Very tasty. We will definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Beautiful old hotel-great location

Posted Jul 27, 2014
It was great to be able to stay on the island for a reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Charming, historic, perfect location

Posted Jul 27, 2014
We had not been back to Mackinac for over 40 years, so what a pleasure to find the Island House still a comfy and convenient place to stay. We loved the breakfast buffet, the kind and helpful staff, the front porch rockers, lawn chairs, and bike rental on site. Having luggage picked up and sent back to the ferry was another giant perk. Great place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Hotel had very beautiful view from front porch and lawn.
Cons: Very small room, but I suspect this is the case in all hotels on the island.
Location: Hotel was very close to town and waterfront.
It was a great stay. Our room had cable TV and air conditioning. There was coffee available in the a.m. in the lobby and a good breakfast buffet was included in our room rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The breakfast buffet was delicious!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2014
We only spent two nights here but would definately use it the Hotel for a longer stay. Our room was a little small but very clean. The staff was very helpful and always right thre when you needed them. On our second day, it rained. We still wanted to go out but all we brought with us was a smll umbrella. we asked at the desk if they had any we could use. Of course, they did. so we enjoyed our second and last day on the Island walking through town visiting all the shops. We had a very pleasant stay..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Relaxing hotel close to downtown

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Relaxing and good location
Cons: More variety on the breakfast buffet.
Location: Just a quick walk to the downtown area.
Our room was ready for us before check in time. We were celebrating our anniversary which was noted on the welcome sign just inside the front door. Nice touch! The hotel is on the Historic Hotels of America list so do not expect any modern decor. I did not book a room on the 4th floor because you had to access it by stairs. Our room on the 3rd floor ended up being accessed by stairs also. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable. The floor had a slope to it but hey it's a historical hotel! The staff was friendly. The breakfast buffet was adequate, but not much changed for choices on the two mornings we were there. The front lawn and porch overlook the harbor where you can watch the ferries dock and all the people, horses and bikes pass by. A beautiful view. At night on the lawn are fire pits and you can purchase supplies to make s'mores. There are bikes for rent right on the hotel property. The location was great, just close enough to downtown to be accessible but also quiet and relaxing. We were able to hear the concert in the park right from the hotel porch. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends and can see staying there again if we go back there. The only problem we had was after checkout. We had taken our luggage down to the bell captain at 9:30 am and he said it would probably make the 10:30 ferry and for sure the 11:00 ferry. We had to wait in St. Ignace for it to come over on the 11:30 ferry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, OH

Beautiful historic hotel!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The hotel has a great view of the water & marina. Since the Island House hotel is historic, the rooms tend to be a bit smaller than newer hotels. Upgrade to a larger room if possible. The hotel has a nice dining room with gorgeous picture windows; during the dinner hours there is also live piano music. There is also a bike rental stand at the hotel, but there are many other bike rental companies on the island that are less expensive . If you have a coupon for the hotel bike rental, be sure to read the fine print for the hours they will honor it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Troy, MI

Okay for overnight stay.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Mainly value and location
Cons: Wider food selection, the breakfast buffet is minimal.
Location: Just about everything, 3 minute walk to downtown, convenient for Horse taxies.
Great location, great staff, freindly atmosphere, food okay.