Ratings based on 510 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florence, NJ

Lovely room, great view.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: If anything; maybe a larger business center, and more "Island Hotel" themed clothes selection to buy
Location: very convenient
The Island Hotel is very comfortable, clean and cozy. The staff is well mannered and super friendly
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Midland, MI

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The bar and the lawn seats with the chiminea fire places were great.
Cons: Rooms are in serious need of updating
Location: Centrally located only a couple blocks from downtown, and within walking distance of all of Mackinac Island's main sights and attractions.
Check-in was easy. Porters take your luggage from the dock to the hotel for you. Our room was on third floor. Room was very small and very dated. We were quite disappointed, especially for the high price. We booked late, so we had few options, as most hotels were sold out. The hotel has some nice amenities. An indoor pool (we never visited it), a couple restaurants and bar (we ate breakfast and had after-dinner drinks on site; the bar and dinner restaurant were recently renovated and offer beautiful views of the harbor), outdoor seating on a verandah and front lawn with beautiful views, and probably a bit more that we missed. It was nice, and I very well could see myself staying there again, especially if the room rate wasn't so high. I doubt their rooms are all identical, so maybe other rooms are better.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

So much for emergencies....

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Cons: Customer service.
Booked this hotel for a two night stay. On the way up (Greyling) I had a medical emergency that required me to be in the ER for 6 hours therefore missing the last ferry over. As I realize there was a 5 day cancellation policy for the Hotel, the EXPEDIA booking specifically said "no cancellation fee" in the blurb for the Island House which (at the time) I thought was pretty cool. When the husband called The Island House from the ER and wondered if we could rebook, the staff was less than friendly and said either come up or forfeit. Way to be accomodating. Crap happens to everyone, at least trying to work with someone in a horrible situation would have left a better taste in our mouths. Will certainly not recommend this venue. I can only imagine if the front desk is this prickly, the rest of the staff must be too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
It was nice. The hotel staff was friendly and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom michigan

Charming hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Went with family for moms 72nd birthday. Beautiful hotel we received upgraded room with wonderful view. Included breakfast was fantastic!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NW Wisconsin

Beautiful Victorian Inn

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Beautiful Victorian Inn, helpful staff, easy walk to everything, gorgeous view of the lake!
Location: Carriage tour of the island is a must! The stable was awesome with all the carriages and horses. Fun, friendly people everywhere!
Bags transferred from dock to hotel, beautiful lawn full of flowers, chairs to sit and look out over Lake Huron. Easy walk to downtown or take carriage ride. Wonderful breakfast included, served in gorgeous dining area overlooking the lake. Helpful staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location location location! Great views!

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. The room was clean. The furnishings were adequate. Our only complaint would be the trash outside our window. Our room was in the back. Everything is usually so pristine that we were shocked when we lifted the shade. The best part of this hotel is the view from the front porch---priceless!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by BKSfrom IL

Good Location, Avg Service

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved the location of the hotel. Close to most everything, yet away from downtown noise. Rooms are relatively small. We were party of 4 and it was tight. Front service varies with who you get. We had good service and average service. Place is pricy, for where it is and date you are traveling this may be norm. Will come back if can not find cheaper place.