Ratings based on 456 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location location location! Great views!

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. The room was clean. The furnishings were adequate. Our only complaint would be the trash outside our window. Our room was in the back. Everything is usually so pristine that we were shocked when we lifted the shade. The best part of this hotel is the view from the front porch---priceless!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2014
This is the third time we have staid on Mackinac Island and finally I found a hotel that is reasonable and a nice play to stay. My next visit will be at the Island House. Historically charming with all the modern facilities you would expect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Nice Hotel on Mackinac Island

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: See Above
Cons: The room we had was small but all we required..
Location: Great Location near downtown but set apart from the hustle and bustle of the crowds. Lots of great places to sit on the porch and lawn.
Beautiful View of the water, Great Location, Lovely Restaurant with Tasty, Free Breakfast, Loved the piano player in the bar!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Very nice hotel overlooking the harbor.

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Conveniently located near shopping, dining, and activities--all within walking distance.
Cons: Structurally, the bathroom was quite small with sink outside the bathroom; not too convenient. Double beds were okay.
Location: Location was great--quiet near end of town yet easy to walk to downtown area of shopping, dining, and activities. Grandchildren enjoyed the fun things
Room was a bit small for four adults but didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Breakfast was filing with great food selections. Very nice staff and service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Good Budget Hotel for the Island

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Good price, comfortable and clean.
Cons: The decor of the room.
Location: Good location-close to town, ferries, the park and the fort. There were bike rentals in front of the hotel.
The staff were nice. The hotel had a good breakfast and the room was clean and comfortable. It had blue rose wallpaper and striped multi-color comforters that clashed with the wallpaper. The layout of the hotel on the third floor was like 2 hotels joined together with a long hallway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2014
restaurant staff not very interested at breakfast so me and wife went somewhere else for prime rib dinner
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming MI

The Island House Hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The peaceful atmosphere and great yard and the character of the house.
Location: It is within a 5 minute walk to Fort Mackinac, and the downtown area. Sainte-Annes church is 2 or 3 houses down. There is Market Street close by also.
My husband and I stayed there in August of 2014 to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We found it a pleasant experience. The hotel is the oldest on the Island (dating back to the 1850's) but is well maintained. The staff was all pleasant and friendly and our room was very lovely and unique. We were in one of the rooms that runs along their large front porch area that they close off at 9 or 10 pm so that people are not out talking right outside your room all night. It is located far enough down Main street so that noise from the downtown area is not a factor but is a short walk to the ferries and the down town area. Also an excellent harbor view from anywhere in the front yard and a great view of the ferries and ships coming through the channel. A nice park is across the street and a great view of the Bayview Hotel, which is a beautiful Victorian style hotel. The hotel also has a separate pool house and a casual restaurant the Ice House. Also a beautifully landscaped back yard with a gazebo and chairs and tables for outdoor dining. Plenty of lounge chairs available for sunbathing with a wooded slope behind you for privacy. We did not have dinner in the 1852 room because the prices were a little high but they serve a complimentary breakfast buffet in there every morning and the food was good and the dining room beautiful, with a grand piano which is played during the dinner service. Overall I would say this was a great place to stay and a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice location, cozy rooms

Posted Aug 19, 2014
The location is great, being just east of the hustle-and-bustle of downtown, and within walking distance of two bike rental stands. The breakfast in the 1852 Grill Room is pretty good and there's even live music in the evening. A big veranda for hanging out or reading a book and make-your-own S'mores in the evening are just some of the other perks at the Island House Hotel. The front desk was nice and helpful, even though we were a big crowd. We didn't try out the pool, but it seemed fine and never too crowded. That said, the rooms are tiny and a little dated, which is saying something for an historic place like Mackinac Island (you can still exude Victorian country charm and not look dated). The service in the Ice House restaurant adjacent to the pool was slow during dinner, but the food was tasty (I recommend the falafel sandwich). It's a nice option if you can score a room for an affordable rate on a site like Expedia, but I would caution against paying sticker price and, instead, look at other options on the island, too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic site. Close to "everything" on mainstret

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Nice location, but somewhat outdated. Team Ok but overwhelmed with crowding tourists.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of Lake Michigan from a historic Ho

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Cons: Need an iron in each room.
Location: Close to downtown shops
We had a terrific time on Mackinaw island and this hotel met all the wants in terms of location, historic character and well trained young staff.