Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westland

Great location for the price

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Location: Near Casino and Ferry docks
Last minute booking as to the Casino Hotel being filled up. Pleasant surprise for the price and beautiful view from the balcdony of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lower Michigan

Great location - great motel for families...

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: cleanliness and view
Cons: Our king size bed was quite non-forgiving
Location: Great central point for points of interest. Short time to the Falls, Soo, and numerous other places.
We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are probably the cleanest we have ever stayed in. Motel is older, but very well kept. Our only problem was the beds - we are elderly and it was just a little too hard for us as we are used to the plushier beds. Great view - we spent many hours on our little deck watching the wildlife lakeside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Nice view of lake, relaxing outside enviroment

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Was a nice relaxing experience. Staff was friendly. Rooms were clean. Nice get away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Close to the beach but very out dated

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The pool and the view, that's about it.
Cons: The rooms comfort, updating them. The breakfast selection / freshness.
Location: The best place we ate was Cliff's Drive Inn and Jose Cantina.
We went up north for a week vacation and decided to stay at this motel as you couldn't beat the price, it's close to the water and had decent reviews. Unfortunately the experience did not live up to the reviews. 1) The room was very dated with wall paper coming off the walls in places and very hard thin beds. 2) The view was nice at least. 3) Generally speaking the staff was nice though housekeeping was very inconsistent on their timing and bringing us items like fresh towels when requested. 4) The breakfast was horrible, a carb-fest of bagels, toast, english muffins, donuts, and some basic cereal and that was it. Nothing fresh, evening the juice was far from the real thing. I guess for the price, it's something at least. 5) The pool was great. We enjoyed it as it's in a glasshouse and is very warm. The hot tub was very nice as well. This was probably the best feature of the motel. 6) Hot water takes 15 minutes of waiting before it actually arrives through your faucets
1 out of 5
by Megan from IL

A place to never stay...

Posted Jun 3, 2014
To start off the experience, my credit card was charged $2 because the girl working the desk didn't know how to use the credit card machine... And no, that transaction was not voided. We get our room keys, and the room does not walk out to the lake like it said it would. It walked out to the parking lot. As we tried to enter our room, swarms of bugs around our door also entered with us. While inside, I noticed the rippled ceiling that looked as though it would fall down any minute. We were able to view about three channels on the tv. The icing on the cake was going to the bathroom... Our toilet didn't flush! I called the front desk to report it (thinking we would get a new room), and the man tells me that he'll send a maintenance man whenever he comes in. Then he hangs up on me before I can say anything. I'm pretty sure we were expected to stay in that room with no working toilet. That did it... We packed our stuff back up and pulled around to the lobby. We stayed about a full half hour. We told them we were not satisfied with the room, and the man tells us he can give us a refund or try to switch us rooms. We opted for the refund... But one can imagine, I still haven't gotten that money back yet. Horrible, horrible experience. Go to the Holiday Inn Express instead!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by john from hamilton, on

Clean and cheap

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Price, no odor, view
Cons: A little dated
Nice clean room with no doors overlooking the water for $55. Beds were comfortable. Will definitely return if we pass that way again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robyn from Hoosick NY

Lakefront rooms clean but dated

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: The Lake view was good, sunrise amazing. Price was reasonable, but I would expect more for the money.
Cons: New pillows, remove/replace carpets to get rid of smells. Better/more offerings at breakfast bar, including real orange juice.
Location: Close to ferries to Mackinac Island, museums in St Ignace were closed by the time we arrived. Ate at Chee Peng, surprisingly good Chinese/Thai food.
Booked online through Expedia, tried to call day before travel to confirm reservation and the phone number on Expedia is incorrect, kept getting message that phone had been disconnected. Found correct phone number on internet and when I called they had no record of the internet reservation. Fortunately they still had rooms and at the same price I saw on Expedia, but this could have been a big problem in peak season. Room smelled like old feet (need to replace the carpet), but was tolerable with the sliding glass door to the balcony open. Beach is NOT for swimming, it is a natural beach. The indoor pool and hot tub were nice, in a separate building across the parking lot. The room was serviceable, but nothing special. The pillows were awful. Breakfast bar was minimal, donuts, juice and English muffins.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful sunrise each morning

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: Staff is friendly
Cons: entrance to the room doors has a little ledge, it was difficult for elderly in the group to get in the door. A handrail or something would be nice
Location: Downtown St Ignace is only 2 minutes away. Lots to do!
Had a great visit with family enjoyed the stay rooms were quiet, view is beautiful on the lakefront.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by marie from knoxville, tn

Nice and beautiful view

Posted Aug 31, 2013
Pros: The view
Cons: New beds and better selection on tv
Location: St ignas is on lake huron lots to do walking downtown fudge shops indian culture center ferrys to island.
Beautiful view from our room but beds where hard and cable tv sucked
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rich from port huron, mi

every room has excellant view of water

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: view
Cons: could have used coffee pot in room
Location: soo, casino, falls, bridge, mac island, every thing close
were gone all day, room served its purpose. would stay there again