Ratings based on 548 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom b

Nice decorations, poor appointments

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Small window A/C unit didn't work, only one night stand by the bed, no couch only one chair and a wooden desk chair. Not much space for toliteries in bathroom because there was no vanity. Coffee maker on TV cabinet had a cord that was about two feet long so had to make coffee on the floor. View out the small window was of the ally behind the hotel. Window blind on window was missing the ability to close the loovers consequently, I had to play wit it and close by hand. Very small TV that was not high def with few channels. Not much for the money plus a good mile walk from the down town shopping district. To get to town it will cost you $5 each - one way. Next time, think I'll stay closer to town. They did give us a $50 credit because of the crappy A/C unit, nice lobby and dinning area but I think I can do better elsewhere next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha, Nebraska

Quiet location with a great view.

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Location, view and amenities.
Cons: The only down side was at check in. I had reserved a Main Lodge Lake view room & they had us assigned to a room in the Straits Lodge. It was corrected
Location: It was a nice walk to downtown and the Carriage ride tour was great, as well of all the shopping opportunities.
The luggage service from and back to the ferry was perfect. The facility is very well maintained, as were the surrounding grounds. Very good dining choices in a relaxed atmosphere. It was a great break after being on a driving trip for a week. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Schenectady, NY

Rooms not ready in time for wedding - forced to

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: lobby was nice/bar was nice - beautiful location
Cons: have rooms ready earlier - especially for weddings, lots of out of town/state guests - very inconvienent to get ready - give prices on rooms!@!!
forced to "upgrade" to a closet size room - would not give a price for any of the rooms, you have to wait until you get your credit card bill....what the hell is that?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Liked the hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Location and dining room
Cons: quaility of bikes they rent. Nothing they can do about small rooms
Meals were good. Enjoyed discounted martinis before dinner. Used the hot tub. Wanted to use executive golf course but they didn't tell us it was closing the day we were going to use it. Convenient bike rentals right on property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DownRiver Michigan

Receptionist was not very friendly.

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: There was a great deal to do on the grounds if you had plenty of time on the Island to use them.
We had requested a room close to central activity as my husband had recently had knee replacement. We were sent to the Lodge, quite a walk. Otherwise the hotel grounds, facilities , location, restaurants were wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lori and Scottfrom Lansing

Wonderful first time!

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved the resort. It was our first time staying on the Island and we couldn't have asked for a better resort. It was beautiful, quiet and the staff were very friendly. The morning breakfast buffet was pretty good and reasonably priced. We were also very impressed with how easy it was to get our bags from Shepler's Ferry to the resort. Since we'd never stayed on the Island we had no idea how it was going to be, if we would have to lug our bags all the way to the resort. But we checked them just like an airline and they arrived at the resort a short while after we did. It was so easy and without any hassles! Loved it. We will definitely be returning guests!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brian Smithfrom Stephenson

Small older outdated rooms for the price

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was effected by the lack of quality and small size of the rooms. We did not spend too much time there, except to sleep. Bathroom fixtures were difficult to operate, making showers difficult. Room was very small. Spent too much time stepping over our bags and personal items. The prices are insane for the lack of extras. Upon inquiring about getting our luggage to the ferry, we were told 45 minutes before the ferry departed. The morning of our departure, we got our luggage down to the lobby about 50 minutes prior. There was a different person at the desk and he told us we didn't bring it down in time, forcing us carry our luggage to the ferry. One plus of this location is, that it is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown area. The grounds of Mission Point are beautiful, so I guess that is what you are paying for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tim O.

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Good price for on Island Stay

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Cozy.
Cons: Newer TVs, updated room locking system.
Location: Everything on Mackinac Island.
My girlfriend really wanted to stay on the island to really make the most of our experience, but most seemed too pricey. Mission Point was the same price for one night through expedia as a hotel 2-3 miles from the ferries in Mackinaw City so I said why not. Overall, it was good, the room was clean, outdated but I knew that going in so no surprises...its a Mackinac Island theme really. The room was SOOPER small, not a big deal because it was meant just for sleep after all. Theres no AC built into the rooms but the floor unit does a bang up job so no worries there.