Ratings based on 554 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heat wave in October

Posted Oct 10, 2014
They had that heat cranked like a Mississippi bayou in the summer sweet sandles in November child I do declare.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Would stay again

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Love this hotel the lobby is peaceful with the fireplaces and the soft jazz music I could sit there for hours
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Upon arrival, the hotel misplaced our luggage for 7 hours, one bag arrived, but one didn't. We saw them both at the dock, so they should have been fine, in the one mile trip to the hotel. The hotel was nice, but I would recommend staying on the highest floor, if you plan on getting any rest, the floor above us was creaking all night and early morning. The baggage situation was a real deal breaker for me. That is a HUGE deal. We hauled our own luggage once we finally got it back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Unfortunately with all the rain we weren't able to enjoy all the amenities but the roaring fireplaces in the main lodge were a nice touch. Interesting history exists about the grounds.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom b

Nice decorations, poor appointments

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Small window A/C unit didn't work, only one night stand by the bed, no couch only one chair and a wooden desk chair. Not much space for toliteries in bathroom because there was no vanity. Coffee maker on TV cabinet had a cord that was about two feet long so had to make coffee on the floor. View out the small window was of the ally behind the hotel. Window blind on window was missing the ability to close the loovers consequently, I had to play wit it and close by hand. Very small TV that was not high def with few channels. Not much for the money plus a good mile walk from the down town shopping district. To get to town it will cost you $5 each - one way. Next time, think I'll stay closer to town. They did give us a $50 credit because of the crappy A/C unit, nice lobby and dinning area but I think I can do better elsewhere next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha, Nebraska

Quiet location with a great view.

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Location, view and amenities.
Cons: The only down side was at check in. I had reserved a Main Lodge Lake view room & they had us assigned to a room in the Straits Lodge. It was corrected
Location: It was a nice walk to downtown and the Carriage ride tour was great, as well of all the shopping opportunities.
The luggage service from and back to the ferry was perfect. The facility is very well maintained, as were the surrounding grounds. Very good dining choices in a relaxed atmosphere. It was a great break after being on a driving trip for a week. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Schenectady, NY

Rooms not ready in time for wedding - forced to

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: lobby was nice/bar was nice - beautiful location
Cons: have rooms ready earlier - especially for weddings, lots of out of town/state guests - very inconvienent to get ready - give prices on rooms!@!!
forced to "upgrade" to a closet size room - would not give a price for any of the rooms, you have to wait until you get your credit card bill....what the hell is that?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Liked the hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Location and dining room
Cons: quaility of bikes they rent. Nothing they can do about small rooms
Meals were good. Enjoyed discounted martinis before dinner. Used the hot tub. Wanted to use executive golf course but they didn't tell us it was closing the day we were going to use it. Convenient bike rentals right on property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by ted b

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels.com