Ratings based on 582 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy walk to downtown.

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Availability of things to do. Bike rental, golf, pool,hot tub, nice lobby to sit in, great internet access.
Cons: Heated pool
Location: Fort 5-10 min walk. Shopping 10- 15 min walk.
Staff very friendly. Grounds beautiful. Breakfast buffet adequate and reasonable. Several restaurants available on site. Baggage transfer handled with great efficiency. Bellman came up right away to get bags when we called.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Howell, Mi

Our first stay on the island

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: The hassle free way our luggage was handled from boarding the ferry to the return trip back to the mainland.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Located on the SE corner of the island on the water, the views of the Straits and the passing freighters are quite impressive. The fort and the park
This resort (Mission Point) was way more than our expectations. A fantastic place to stay for every age group plus pet friendly. The staff are very knowledgeable, friendly and courteous. The facilities are well appointed, clean and in great shape. We feel that this resort is the gem of the Straits.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Hello Bill! I’m so glad to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations, and that our staff was friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. We at Mission Point take great pride in our service, and love serving the most important people in the world, our guests. We sincerely appreciate any feedback from our guests, and we look forward to serving you again soon! Warm Regards, Brandon Sheldon
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Cons: The amount of time to check in, and definitely not run the fireplaces in the lobby on already warm summer days.
I was disappointed that the room was not nearly as nice as the photo showed. It was a clean room with a comfortable bed, but definitely way over priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Greetings! Thank you so much for choosing Mission Point Resort for your stay while visiting Mackinac Island! We at Mission Point take great pride in our service, and truly enjoy serving the most important people in the world; our guests. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences mentioned in your review, and I can assure you that they are being looked into. We do appreciate any feedback from our guests, as it is the reviews that show us where we have room to grow. and we look forward to setting the bar higher during your next visit. Kind Regards, Brandon Sheldon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Muskegon, MI

Nice. Close to town. Good food. Beautiful location

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Location is perfect. Amenities such as children acitivities, swimming pool, bike rental, gift shop, main lodge, restaurants.
Cons: We would like it if they would consider pets in their suites. We were told pets are not allowed in suites.
Location: Butterly House is a couple of blocks away. Church is easy walk daily service. Grocery store will deliver. We chose to shop and called horse cab.
Wonderful time. We will be back. Property is beautiful. We stayed in the Straits with our dog and 3yr old granddaughter. Kids eat free and the restaurants brought water bowl for dog. Easy walk to town. Lawn is perfect for relaxing, kite flying, frisbee, and watching golfers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Dear Terri, Thank you so much for leaving us a review, and for all of the kind words you had for us! Our location is prime on the East Bluff where we’re just far enough from the bustle of downtown that our guests can enjoy a peaceful vacation. Mission Point does have a wide variety of amenities and activities available to our guests, so there is always something to do! It’s wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoyed our grounds, and all that we have to offer. We certainly are looking forward to seeing and serving you again soon! Warm Regards, Brandon Sheldon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Long walk to town. Made it nice in some respects but if wanted to go back to town not so appealing. Also $5 for shuttle per person seemed high, would have thought complimentary service for those staying there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Greetings! Thank you so much for your feedback, and for staying with us at Mission Point Resort. While we are a bit down from the bustle downtown, you simply can’t beat the peace and tranquility of the East Bluff. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward to serving you again soon. Kind Regards, Brandon Sheldon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Anniversary Stay

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Out of the way but a short ride to all the attractions.
Cons: N/A
Location: Within 15 minute walk or 5 minute carriage ride to tourist attractions and downtown area. Beautiful views of Lake Huron and freighters going by. Grand
Stayed three days and the room was great. Clean and convenient to their facilities. Courteous staff and excellent food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Greetings! Thank you so much for choosing Mission Point to spend your special date, and happy anniversary! Here at Mission Point Resort, we consider ourselves very privileged to be able to serve so many guests and provide such great service. While we are down the road from the bustle of downtown, you simply can’t beat the peace and tranquility of the East Bluff. Thank you so much for your review and kind words, and we are greatly looking forward to serving and celebrating with you again in the future. Kind Regards, Brandon Sheldon
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Room was far from main lodge. Tv did not work properly. Expedia description did not match room given to us and they said it was expedias fault. Pool was in need of repair. Very disappointed for the price of almost 600 dollars for two nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Dear Ed, First off, thank you for choosing Mission Point to stay at during your recent stay on Mackinac Island. We are exceptionally privileged in being able to serve so many guests and share our hospitality and charm with them. We would like to apologize for the issues you encountered during your visit. Here at Mission Point, we work exceptionally hard to make sure that all of our guest’s needs are being met and we regrettably fell short during your visit, and that is truly regrettable. I would like to personally thank you not only for leaving us feedback, but for bringing these disrepairs to our attention. Rest assured that we are looking into solving the issues promptly so as to ensure that they won’t happen again. We look forward to setting the bar higher and showing you the true Mission Point Experience upon your next visit with us. Kindest Regards, Brandon Sheldon
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was suitable, not WOW. Staff was indifferent.

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: It's a hotel.
Cons: Communication, both internally and with guests.
Location: Set away from the hub bub of the island which was nice.
I was given bad info about how to avoid a planned delay in luggage delivery from the ferry dock. The manager's solution wasn't workable, but no one informed me. I was an hour late for a work obligation. Not good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Greetings! First off, thank you so much for choosing to stay at Mission Point Resort. We apologize greatly for your luggage delay and the inconvenience that it caused you. I can assure you that we are looking into this to make sure that it doesn't happen again. Thank you so much for leaving us a review, as it is our guest feedback that shows us where we have room for improvement. We are looking forward to serving you again soon. Kind Regards, Brandon Sheldon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, large grounds, average quiet rooms.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
A 10 min walk to downtown. Nice to be away from the business. Beautiful outdoor bar area on small greens course you can play for $10. Great service. They rent bikes in site but both mornings by 10:00amnthey were sold out. But we walked into town and the first bike place on the left had even better bikes and were awesome. Even gave us reduced prices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Greetings! Mission Point is a bit down the road from downtown, but you just can’t beat the tranquility of the East Bluff, where we are located. We’re so pleased to hear that you were able to visit our Bistro, and enjoy the putting greens down by the lake! Unfortunately, our bikes did sell out quickly, but we’re glad that you were still able to see all that the island has to offer. Thank you so much for your review and we are sincerely looking forward to serving you again soon! Kind Regards, Brandon Sheldon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location- Small bathroom

Posted Jun 14, 2015
The overall hotel is very nice especially if the weather is good. The location is only a brief walk to the main downtown area. The staff very friendly and the lobby area is perfect for a large family to sit by the fire and hang out. The beds are comfortable but rooms are a bit small not too bad for a couple. The bathroom was very cramped. The location of the toliet and sink were so constrictive, the toilet seat felt as if it was under the sink itself. I have stayed here before and did not experience this in our previos stay. Next time we come to the Island, we will probably stay downtown as a change of pace.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Greetings! Thank you so much for your review, and for all of the kind words that you had to say about us! Our property is so rich with history and natural beauty that there is always something to do, even inside our large lobby. We just wanted to apologize that your bathroom was a bit small, and we can assure you we’re in the process of updating the guest bathrooms. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and are greatly looking forward to serving you again in the future. Kind Regards, Brandon Sheldon