Ratings based on 597 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach Gardens, Fl.

Beautiful, historic waterfront hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The historic beauty and location on the waterfront. Also, the various restaurants on property which covered all our dining needs as a family.
Location: The hotel is an easy walk into town. The bike trail, 18 hole putting course & bike trail are all on property along with the Bistro restaurant.
We arrived late on our first night, but were greeted by a very helpful and friendly staff. When we realized the room we booked was going to be too small for our family, we went to the front desk to see what could be done. Long story short, they didn't have a bigger room available, but they gave us a second room for NO CHARGE! I travel frequently for work and I have never received such great customer service. The hotel is historic and is undergoing renovations under new ownership. We will definitely be going back to Mission Point in the summers to follow. It was AWESOME!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wallingford, PA

Beautiful Place

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Setting, activities, landscaping, food.
Cons: Wifi in our room was poor.
Location: Bicycling, touring, golf, shopping, horseback riding, swimming, hiking, carriage rides, all the Mackinac Island activities.
Didn't know what to expect, but we found a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. Every staff member was helpful and friendly. I was expecting prices for activities and food to be higher than Mackinac prices, but it turned out to be just the opposite. The meals were fairly priced, and every one of the three meals we ate there was very good to excellent. We rented bicycles, and I believe the bicycles were probably a little less expensive than the downtown prices. Mackinac Island is not an inexpensive place to stay, but I believe the value received, overall, at Mission Point, was notable. We hope to have an opportunity to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Dear Chuck, Firstly, thank you so much for coming to Mission Point Resort, and allowing us to provide you with an exceptional Island experience. We’ve been continually updating our customer service procedures, and the amenities offered to our guests, and it’s so great to hear that you were able to appreciate them! We are certainly looking forward to serving you again the future, and setting the bar even higher! Best, Brandon Sheldon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upgrade!

Posted Jul 23, 2015
We checked to find out we were randomly upgraded to a Suite and it was almost 1,200 sq ft and soooooo comfortable! Great staff, great food, great hotel, lovely experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Greetings! Thank you so much for leaving us some feedback, and for having such kind things to say about us! We’re so very glad that you appreciated your upgrade and found the suite accommodation to your liking! We are hoping that we will have the opportunity to set the bar ever higher during your next visit with us! Best, Brandon Sheldon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Enjoyed the stay

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Staff were very friendly, although...
Cons: although some of the staff were woefully uniformed.
Location: Walk, bike, sail, carriage ride enjoy the view, eat good food at surprisingly reasonable prices.
Enjoyed the stay in the oldest hotel on the island and without the pretense.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Dear Peter and Joan, Thank you so much for not only staying with us, and leaving us a review! We are greatly looking forward to serving you again in the future! Best, Brandon Sheldon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa fl

Chicago to Mackinaw Race 2015

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Perfect location and comfort. Great view and patio bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Greetings! Thank you so much for not only staying with us, and leaving us a review! We are most defninitely looking forward to serving you again in the future! Best, Brandon Sheldon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Chicago Yacht Club Mac Race

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Decor and location away from downtown
Cons: HVAC in lobby
First time at hotel under new management. Could see the positive changes in rooms, food and staff. Had dinner in Chianti and played putt putt golf Good time after a long race.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. J, We are making some changes around the resort, and while we feel pretty great about it all, it’s nice to hear that our guests notice and appreciate the changes as well! We are so glad that you joined us on our beloved property and look forward to your next visit! Best, Brandon Sheldon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our stay was good.

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: The hotel was clean and staff were friendly.
Cons: I think it would be nice to know the location was at the very end but worth the walk.
The hotel was very nice. The service at the restaurant outside was not very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Greetings! Thank you so much for your review and all of your kind words! We would like to deeply apologize for the inconvenience that you mentioned in your review, and assure you that we are looking into it. Thanks again, and we look forward to serving you again soon! Best, Brandon Sheldon
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Not terrible, but would not recommend.

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Location: Seabiscuit Cafe for great food. Horn's Bar for nighttime entertainment.
My husband and I stayed at Mission Point Resort on our honeymoon. Our room was decent, clean but dated, and our only complaint in that regard was the extra money we paid for a disappointing "lake view." Our overall disappointment was mostly based on the dissatisfying service, and even less satisfying food. We both work in the restaurant business, so we're very understanding when it comes to issues with food and/or service. However, this experience was on a level I had never encountered. Round Island Bar - fried whitefish (the local specialty): It was very bland, and I was really only able to eat a couple bites of it. I felt bad, because I should have just made a different choice, but when the manager came around to ask how things were, and I responded that I just did not care for the whitefish, but very much enjoyed my (locally brewed) beer, she snarkily responded, "Well, I brewed it just for you!" Bistro on the Greens - Grilled asparagus & prawns, and roasted beets: My favorite meal here, but the "prawns" were definitely shrimp... and it was $14 for 5 of them. Server was extremely slow and quick to leave the table without asking if we needed anything else (like their delicious xango). Chianti - Early bird special of fettuccine alfredo: Considering we got the early bird special, this was by far the best money for quality/quantity of food at Mission Point. The service here was good, as was their bread with aged balsamic vinegar and roasted garlic
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Dear Kellie, We are so very glad that you chose to stay at Mission Point Resort during your recent stay on Mackinac Island. Nothing pleases us more than hearing that our guests were pleased with their stay and the service that we provided. I speak on behalf of Mission Point, and would like to deeply apologize that your experience within our dining establishments. I can assure you that we are looking into the issues that you mentioned to ensure that they don’t happen again. We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, as it is from the guest’s feedback that we learn where we have room for improvement. We look forward to serving you again soon! Kindest Regards, Brandon Sheldon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: The hotel offers a nice breakfast buffet which we ate outside on the patio as well as a pleasant dinner which we also enjoyed on the outdoor patio.
We booked our stay through Expedia and were told we would have a water front view. We did have a nice room overlooking housetops with the straits in the background, so I guess it would be more to Expedia's discredit to offer something they could not provide.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Greetings! Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Mission Point Resort during your recent stay on Mackinac Island! We are affiliated with Expedia and we will mention the discrepancies you noted in your review to ensure that they are fixed. We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we look forward to your next visit with us! Kindest Regards, Brandon Sheldon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grosse Ile, MI

Great experience!

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Overall everything was great! The hotel was very booked so we ended up with a toom with two double beds for my husband and I instead of queen/king but it worked out. wish there were a refrigerator in the room, we brought a cooler which we highly recommend if you plan on buying any drinks for in the room. (A great convenient store located on the Mission Point campus with a good wine/beer selection) All employees were very nice and friendly on and off duty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by Brandon Sheldon, Hotel Management
Dear Heather! We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Mission Point! We just wanted to apologize for the unexpected difference in room types that you experienced! Rest assured that we are looking into making some changes to the resort so that it is better for your future visits! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and we look forward raising the bar for your next stay with us! Kindest Regards, Brandon Sheldon