Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

It's a beautiful location.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: A/C. Having a staff member onsite would be nice. Also to have the access for the WiFi somewhere in the room.
Location: The Ferry for the island is close by.
Close to the Ferry's for the Island. Beautiful view of the Mighty Mac and the Island especially at night. Hotel staff needs to know the laws of Service Animals. We book through Expedia and it stated that there was a pool onsite when in fact the pool is two hotels away. They had a small beach but the water was to cold to swim. I would recommend that the owners spend the money for pest control. I killed a spider in the bathroom. Better A/C would be nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for a short stay.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
I wanted an inexpensive place to stay the night as I travelled to the island and drove through the next day. The room was small but clean and comfortable. It was a little far out of town but not bad if you like a medium walk. The staff were welcoming and very accommodating. I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cramped

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: check-out
Cons: Just about everything.
Location: Mackinac Island and Mackinack City is interesting.
Wi-Fi was spotty at best. Tv was almost unwatchable as everything (including people) had a blue or purple hue. Shower was maybe 30'x36' and the bathroom was so small that you couldn't get dressed or change in it. A/C made a disturbing noise at times. Sink and bathroom floor weren't cleaned. When I closed the blinds, one of the vertical strips fell off, never could close them completely. No 3-prong outlet where the desk is located so I couldn't plug the computer in there. No fruit at breakfast, just cereal, hard-boiled eggs, toast and bagels and a "biscuit and gravy" concoction that was pretty awful. Coffee was good and there was juice. Nice view from the beach and they provided a few pieces of firewood if you wanted to build a very small fire on the beach. Staff was friendly but the place is so old and so small that there isn't much that can be done at this point other than leveling it and starting over. Too much money for the room. Would I ever, ever return? No.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by travis from 60177

Very small rooms

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel room was very small. Like VERY small. If you dropped your soap in the shower you had to get out to pick it up, as it too was very small. Everything is very dated, but quaint. Hotel staff were nice, rooms and bathroom were very clean. I had no issues with cleanliness room smelled good and clean.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location... Good price... Decent rooms

Posted Oct 15, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Grace from St. Clair, Michigan

Pleasant, inexpensive motel

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Convenient Location, on the water
Cons: A bit more variety in the continental breakfast. Small in-room coffee makers would be nice.
Location: Plenty to do in Mackinaw City.
There are three motels side-by-side all owned by the same people, so we had to go two motels down to check in, which is not far. The facilities are clean, just older. Heater was older so the room would get quite warm, then cool off and then get hot again when the heat kicked in. Bathroom is not heated so leave the door open overnight to keep it warm. Continental breakfast was very simple, beverage with bagels or cold cereal. The motel does sit on the water and there is a view of the bridge and seating along the water for guests, as well as a bonfire pit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by kirk and sue from lansing michigan

older buy good buy

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
this is a bit dated and has no refrigarator but over all a good deal with a nice view of the bridge, the owners and the residents are very nice and well worth the stay, but would rather stay at sunrise beach motel , 2 doors down and same owners, worth the extra money
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Traveling to the U.P.

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was o.k. for the money. The pool needs work, needs to be resurfaced. We thought it was dirty but it is just worn out. Pool was not heated, but the hot tub was nice. The pool was not even open but the owner was nice enough to open it up for the kids to use but too cold for adults to enjoy. The beach is marshy and rocky. Breakfast was decent and avg. for most motels this time of year. Shower head in shower was so low if you were over 4 feet tall you could not comfortably shower. A+ to the friendliness of the owner and staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Shay from Macomb, MI

Nothing special, but good for the price.

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
I don't think I'd want to stay there for an extended amount of time, but it was just fine for the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rob

Nice motel right on the lake.

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Nice and friendly staff. Breakfast was ok. Room was nice, quiet and spacious.