Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Not bad for the price

Posted Oct 7, 2014
The room was outdated but clean. The bed was firm. The breakfast was pretty good and the staff was friendly. We did not get a room in the newer part of the hotel. I'm sure those rooms were nicer. All in all though the room wasn't bad for the price we paid and the additional hotel discounts on ferry and water park tickets we received. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodland Park, CO

Great little beach next to the water

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: It was very close to the water and the rooms were nice.
We LOVED staying here! My husband and I went here for our anniversary and had a great time. We ended up driving into town a day early and the manager was able to get us a room right away - he then upgraded us from a basic room to a suite with a lake view. The staff was so friendly and we had a lovely time here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BIRCH RUN, Mi

Very nice, close to the beach.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
I am very satisfied with everything, the beds were very comfortable. The TVS could be updated as it was very small.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mi

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: near water
Cons: Read above
Location: UP bridge, Mackinaw Island
room needing repainting. Screen door to patio did not work at all. It had warmed up and open door brought in flies. Stayed 2 nights and room needed vacuuming. Manager worked on screen but I took bar of soap and ran along track to get it to move. M anager did give us a room on main floor as we are seniors and there was no elevator. Girl at desk would not do that and place looked empty when we signed in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Expect it to be like a garage

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Once I figured out that the tub faucet was in backwards, I did get hot water. Yes the bed was comfortable.
Cons: Clean the mold, knock down the 1950's court style garage-y rooms. Fire the arrogant manager.
Location: STAY AT THE ECONOLODGE LOG CABIN PLACE. REALLY NICE AND NEW.
The lovely modern building on the beach that is advertised does exist and that is where the room pictures come from. But expect that you may get a much older, moldier room that sits in the parking lot and feels like a garage. There is mold in the bathroom, in the grout and around the windows. This place gets bus groups, so you can roll over from your bed and wave to them right outside your window.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2014
For the price the stay was ok. The personal were very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The staff was friendly and even waived the pet fee. But the room...., if we had not been so tired we would have left to find another hotel. But we chose to stay. Wallpaper was falling down in room and bathroom. Bathroom also had mold in ceiling. Empty tissue box, but the kicker was a dirty towel hanging behind bathroom door. The outside of the building really needs updating and cleaning. Thought being a Quality Inn things would have been better. After that night we decided to cut our trip short, go home and wash everything we had with us as we were leery about the dog scratching so much. (had not done up to this point)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lansing, Mi.

Bait and Switch

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Choice of building
Location: Near ferry to Mackinaw Island as well as downtown gift shops.
Online you se a new 4 story structure. The expedia price gets you a small room in a 1960 structure. No one tells you this.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2014
This was THE smallest hotel room I have ever been in! One queen bed, a bathroom and not much else. Not the cleanest. Pool went to about 9 feet deep, which was too deep.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com