Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Quiet - away from the congestion of town and the ferry depot - great for walking and bike riding - near a small golf course and the airport.
Location: Easy walk to The Woods a wonderful place to eat - owned by The Grand Hotel - amazing staff and yummy food.
Travel in time! Fall weather and leaf colors at every turn - and a horse drawn carriage ride!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing!!

Posted Oct 7, 2014
My husband and I stayed at the hotel with our 2 year old daughter. At check in the woman at the front desk was less than helpful. When we arrived to our room in the Summer House we were in a room on the ground level and the dead bolt lock on our door was broke off. Pieces of it were still attached to the door but it wouldn't lock or work. With a 2 year old that likes to open door and for safety reasons in general I was not comfortable with this. We called the front desk to see if we could switch rooms and they told us there were no vacancies. We found this interesting because at check in they family behind us didn't haw reservations and the front desk had told them this wasn't a problem since they had plenty of vacancies. I then went up to the front desk and asked if maintenance could look at the door and the they said that they would definitely have it fixed. We never heard from anyone and of course it wasn't fixed. Along with the lock being broke the hotel could use some updating and the room was not very clean. There were stains and spots on the wall and I stepped in gum on the living room floor. The next morning we had asked the front desk to call w taxi so we could go to town. They said we would have to wait almost 2 hours!! When we asked why they said there were people in front of us and the taxi company would only send two taxis at a time to the hotel. They wouldn't even call. My husband called and a taxi arrived in 20mins. Overall, very disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Madison Wi

Overall sense of creepy

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Beautiful Tudor mansion. Nice grounds. Outstanding view of Mackinac bridge.
Cons: Hire some professional staffers who are clean cut and know how to interact with people.
Location: Biking hiking and strolling are the major activities as it is pretty far from downtown and cab service is about 45 minutes wait time.
Spent honeymoon at this inn almost 30 years ago. It was out of the way and charming Back then it was run by college kids who gave it a nice informal feeling. Now its staff is, for lack of a better word, Creepy. From over pretentious waiters to just weird acting and looking staff. Felt uneasy the entire time we stayed. Rooms were old and "period" decorated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Good but could be better.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Very nice facility with a young staff that will be better at multi-tasking with experience. Great location on an island that 90 percent of tourist never venture far enough off the main street to realize what a great island this is.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Quiet Retreat

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Inn at Stonecliffe is a very nice and a quiet place to spend a few days on Mackinaw Island. The mansion is beautiful and overlooks the Mackinaw Bridge. The best way to get to the mansion is via the horse drawn taxi. You can also bike to the mansion. You can walk from the downtown area, however, this will take about 45 minutes to an hour. Make sure you make dinner reservations if you decide to eat at the mansion for Friday and Sat as the dinning room is smaller and they do fill up. The condo's are newer and nice for a family, however, the view is not as good as from the mansion. The only complaint I have is that the beds in the condo were very uncomfortable. With all of the renovations and expense that has recently been done to the lodging, it would have been great if they had spent a couple of dollars on the beds in the condo units. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bill

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was always good as well as the service.
Mostly pleasant, they had parties going on in the back yard which were loud and the noise was coming through our window on the 3rd level. One night the noise actually woke me up. If your looking for a quiet evening outdoors, this is not the place to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by pattyfrom Peck, MI

Nice stay, away from town

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Inn at Stonecliff is a very nice place. We stayed in the summer house, in a jacuzzi suite. The room itself is pretty nice. Decent sized fridge and hot tub. Also microwave and coffee maker. Outdoor Pool area is nice with music piped in. This was our first trip to the Island and we were surprised that the hotel does not offer to transport you to the inn from the ferry free of charge. It is about 2.5 miles away from downtown, so a bit of a walk or bike ride which includes areas that are uphill. We opted for the carriage ride since my husband has knee problems. Cost is $7 per person plus we gave a tip. So it was about $20 each way whenever we went to and from town. There is a nice restaurant on site, although too pricey (as is most things on the island). There was a wedding both nights we were there but it didn't bother us any as they stayed in the main hotel area (mansion) where there is a tent. Also they stopped the noise at 10pm. Breakfast is included and was decent but nothing special (I felt it should have been more for the price of the room) There is a view of the bridge at the end of the property which is a nice green woodsy lawn. Be sure to check out a sunset or sunrise from "sunset rock" as you can catch both the bridge and the sunset in one shot! Just a short walk through the woods. Overall a nice stay but next time we will stay in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Betsyfrom Texas

Lovely hotel in quiet location

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is quite off the beaten path on Mackinac Island. It is a quiet location with a lovely view to the west and the Mackinac Bridge. We stayed in a building adjacent to the main hotel. Accommodations were a small suite with living area/kitchen (microwave, fridge, some dishes and coffee maker, bathroom, and bedroom area. We had a small balcony overlooking the pool but we could also see the lake and the bridge. Excellent restaurant available as well as a bar with a pub-food menu. Large covered porch and lawn for outdoor seating. The hotel rents bikes by the hour or day. We took a shuttle to and from the ferry for $7/person each way. I would recommend this hotel if you don't want to be downtown amidst the hustle and bustle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Katefrom California

secluded and beautiful

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved that we were out of town a little bit. But I think it should be told that if you need to leave the hotel, it costs $7.00 per person each way. Getting into town by walking was no problem-about 2 miles, downhill. Coming back can get expensive. The drivers don't take plastic, so be sure to have correct currency. Our room was so LOVELY. And the staff was nice as could be. But the other guests were a pain-stomping around above our room each night and slamming doors until well after midnight. I would stay during the week and not on a wedding weekend when the guests are loud and obnoxious.