Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julie

Beautifully situated with welcoming staff.

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Beautiful grounds with a lovely deck to sit on and enjoy the amazing view. Friendly helpful staff. We found the room clean and comfortable. The hotel is a little way out of town but they had bikes there to hire and the horse taxi was available to take you to and from the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colleen from Madison, WI

Lovely retreat on wooded shore of Mackinac Island

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Once a private refuge, The Inn at Stonecliffe is now a lovely old country manor available for public lodging. We chose Stonecliffe for its quiet wooded setting and were not disappointed. The Inn is just 1.5 miles from Fort Mackinac State Park and Mackinac Harbor. A horse-drawn shuttle service runs each 2 hours. Or, you can hire a horse-drawn taxi, rent a bicycle, or walk the wooded trails between the Inn and the Park. Stonecliffe is nearly 100 years old, but well cared for and in good repair. Its furnishings reflect a long-ago time, enhancing the feeling of temporary escape from modern life to a refuge in the woods (with internet access if you need it). Dining in a room warmed by a fire and overlooking the Mackinac Bridge, highlighted by the setting sun, was made all the more pleasurable by the excellent cuisine and wines. We noted only two problems. The bicycle we rented was in poor repair, and the bed lacked comfort (stiff, hard mattress and noticeable springs). Hopefully, management will address these issues for future guests. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience.

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: The Inn at Stonecliffe was very clean and well cared for. The grounds and view were beautiful.
Location: The Inn is not close to town, but you can bicycle or take a taxi to see the town and historic sites.
The Inn at Stonecliffe was beautiful. The room was spacious with a very nice bath. The service and the food was very good. The grounds were lovely. The view from the open porch was beautiful. The only down side to our stay was the distance from downtown. One had to call a taxi or bicycle to and from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

charming

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: The view and the decks.
Cons: The desk clerks seemed to hate their jobs and refused to smile except for the one gentleman who was the best on the late shift.
Location: It was away from the tourists in town and the 2 mile trip was so quiet and relaxing whether you walk, biked, or took the taxi it was worth it.
Thursday night was quiet. Friday it was a bit busy since I was located at the top of the stairs and there was no elevator, but it was not anything out of the usual light foot traffic for breakfast. The view was nice and the room was lovely.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by tara from chicag

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: none
Cons: bed
Location: too far from center of town
not clean Staff rude Food not cook properly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnny from Detroit

Paying for the Location, Still not bad

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved our stay on Mackinac Island, but you're definitely not paying for a five star hotel here. You're paying to stay on the island. Our beds were hard and sunk to the middle, the water temperature didn't quite reach hot, and the towels were pretty scratchy. Still, a great choice that we'd make again. The hotel staff were so friendly, the view was incredible, and we actually enjoyed the two mile hike to Stonecliffe, rather than taking a horse taxi. If you want to stay on the island, and want to stay a little off the well-beaten path, the Inn at Stonecliffe is a great choice. If you're looking for $200 worth of strictly hotel for $200, don't bother looking on Mackinac.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hidden Gem on Mackinac Island

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
We returned to Mackinac Island after an absence of about 25 years. We opted not to stay "in town" near the ferries and chose to stay at the Inn as a way to force us to explore the other parts of the island. We did not know that there was an association with the Grand Hotel, but surely experienced that on site, not only because of the beauty of the property but the quality of service. We had dinner at The Woods restaurant which was an incredible experience, not only because the food and service was superb, but the ambiance of the restaurant is incredible. We walked between town and the Inn and also biked the island from the Inn. It was a magical visit and we very much look forward to returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Pat from Muskegon, MI

Beautiful Location

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Awesome! Beautiful hotel and location. Very peaceful and quiet. Very clean and the staff was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from WI

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Pros: Location, spacious room.
Cons: Add air conditioning.
Quiet and peaceful (about 1 1/2 miles from downtown) with wonderful views. We stayed in the 'Straights' room and it was very spacious - better than I was expecting. Breakfast was good. Only concern for those going in the summer is there is no air conditioning, we stayed in September so not a problem but would probably be miserable if it was hot outside.