Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Good but could be better.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Very nice facility with a young staff that will be better at multi-tasking with experience. Great location on an island that 90 percent of tourist never venture far enough off the main street to realize what a great island this is.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was always good as well as the service.
Mostly pleasant, they had parties going on in the back yard which were loud and the noise was coming through our window on the 3rd level. One night the noise actually woke me up. If your looking for a quiet evening outdoors, this is not the place to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Great hotel. Room was fabulous. A little farther out of town than we realized so horse taxi's or hotel shuttle was a must without a bike.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
A beautiful manor house in a magnificent setting. My husband and I visit at least twice a year and highly recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from windsor ontario

Nice old mansion

Posted Jul 3, 2014
The staff particularly ├žody, made our stay pleasant. The mansion is very nice but be prepared to travel a half hour by horse taxi to go into the town area. If you have bikes that works too but not so much in a dress and heels. There is no air conditioning. We were fine in late june with the window open. The view is truly fabulous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Upper Peninsula, MI

Serene retreat

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Serenity & beauty of property. Well kept grounds and charming rooms.
Cons: coffee maker in room, more fish choices on menu (whitefish was only option & was very dry)
Location: Relax, enjoy the well groomed grounds, a walk around the property, a bike ride, quiet time with a book (or your knitting); also golf, bowl nearby.
We were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary & have always enjoyed Mackinac Island, staying at various hotels (Grand, Harbor View, Island House, etc.) all of which were lovely. This was our first stay at Stonecliffe and it was nearly perfect. Our bike ride up the hill was challenging but good for us, and the last mile through the woods was heavenly. Enjoyed our view of the bridge & the landscape. Beautiful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Overpriced for what you get

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: The grounds were very good.
Cons: Restaurant services were poor. Ability of the staff to recognize and seize opportunities to provide a memorable experience for the guests.
Location: The hotel is about two miles from downtown. Other than swimming in the pool,or drinking at the bar, there is not much to do on site.
My family and I stayed here recently. The grounds were excellent. The room was very clean but definitely needed to be updated. We found out at 8:30 PM that the hotel restaurant closes at 8:30 PM (there was no information packet in the room or given at check in). We told the staff that we only wanted coffee and dessert as we were celebrating a birthday. We were able to get coffee, but no dessert. How hard is it to cut a piece of pie or cake? This was very disappointing and not the level of service one would expect, especially when considering the hotel expense. The hotel is also approximately 2 miles from downtown, so if you go, plan on spending additional money to get back and forth to town.
2 out of 5
by Sharon from from St. Louis, MO

Our stay at the Inn of Stonecliff

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was good
Cons: Everything!!
Location: Long walk into town.
We were very disappointed with our stay. For the money we paid we could have stayed somewhere else and received much better service. We stay there the middle of June and the pool wasn't even filled, we had to ask for extra pillows, there were people next door to us that let there kids scream at 12 o'clock at night and I had to go over and tell them be quiet. Just overall disappointed in the Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great but I had the fish tacos off the bar menu and they were a joke. Barely any fish on tiny little tacos for $14. The background music was rock music. I think it would add to the charm of the place to have peaceful background music instead.
2 out of 5
by Susan

Beautiful place but isolated and noisy

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Beautiful building, newly renovated rooms, beautiful view of water and bridge (from Mansion rooms).
Cons: Better transportation arrangements . Staff could be better trained to welcome guests and ensure that they are properly informed about the property.
Location: Mackinac Island is beautiful and full of interesting trains for biking, hiking with a cute downtown area with some very good restaurants/cafes.
Surprised to learn when I arrived on Island that hotel is 30 min walk from town - only other access is horse-taxi ($7.00 each way, with a 30-40 minute wait each time). Also, hotel had booked a large outdoor wedding, which monopolized the grounds and saturated the airspace with the reception dance music - until 10 pm - could be heard so loudly in my room that I could not concentrate nor hear my own music, TV, etc. NOT the bucolic retreat advertised. This is very common in the summer months - so consumer beware.