Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and grounds

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Reception staff friendly, bar staff were a bit slow and clueless. Our room had a noisy fan in the heating duct which kept us awake all night. The swimming pool is great but the stairs leading to it are spiral, tiled and steep so not that great !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom hertfordshire

Wonderful surroundings

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Character. Staff were really polite and helpful
Location: Location was breathtaking
The hotel and suppoundings were gorgeous. Staff were very polite and helpful. Room was lovely warm and welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxfordshire

Nice hotel from the outside.

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: The hotel features.
Cons: The temperature and the staff training.
Location: Fantastic location for exploring Stratford Upon Avon and the surrounding countryside.
A lovely hotel with grand stately home features. Very cold in the room, corridors and the spa which was a little disappointing. Some of the staff need some extra training in service and how not to talk about guests in front of other guests. Turn up the heating and re-train the staff and you would have a wonderful hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jonathanfrom Buckingamahire

December getaway

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed there for one night in December. Room was very nice and the bathroom was very good. Staff we're very friendly and helpful. Staff were maybe a little too enthusiastic at times, not that that's a real complaint I suppose. Overall a very nice stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dublin, Ireland

Quite simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in!

Posted Dec 17, 2014
As a weary and jaded business traveller I have stayed in many, many hotels all over the world and this was simply by far the best!!! From being served a pint of Guinness by the night manager during check in, as he could tell I needed it, to the fabulous quality food and very comfortable room. Say nothing of the history, decor, architecture and grounds that make for a totally wonderful stay! If you are costing the area, make sure you stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rebeccafrom Worcester

Top Banana

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Utterly outstanding in every, every way. Friends 50th celebrations & the staff were accommodating. Food superb & all in all so very worth it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laurenfrom NYC

Stunning location and great service

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed the service and beautiful surroundings of this hotel. The building and grounds are stunning and the hotel is convenient to the Cotswolds and Stratford-Upon-Avon. A very beautiful place to stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milton Keynes

Fantastic hotel in a gorgeous location

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Fancied a break away from the daily grind, so we opted for a night of luxury at Ettington Park. The hotel was fantastic, set in gorgeously landscaped grounds. The staff were all very polite and helpful, greeting us whenever we went in or out, and offering to assist wherever they could. The room we stayed in was the Executive Double, which was very nicely done, had a great view of the church on the grounds and was very comfortable. My only concern was the lack of attention towards cleaning - there were a large number of cobwebs in the room, some large enough to be clearly visible to the naked eye. The pool was wonderful, a good temperature and large enough to do a few decent lengths. It was also completely empty during our stay, which was a nice bonus! Unfortunately the spa pool was out of order, which was very disappointing as we wanted to make full use of the swimming facilities during our stay. Nobody informed us before or upon arrival that it was out of order, which was again a bit disappointing. Overall though, a lovely hotel, well worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Edson, Alberta, Canada

Definitely going back!!

Posted Nov 22, 2014
My fiance and I stayed for one night in mid October in the Shirley Suite. Thank you so much to the Shirley family for sharing this treasure. To be staying in a 938 yr old castle surrounded by stunningly beautiful grounds, owned by the same family in all that time, is just amazing. The staff is to be commended. They treated us royally, quick to address any request. The porter gave us an animated and passionate personal tour of the public areas of the hotel and grounds, and even included access to the family chapel. Talk about a history lesson. The hotel's location was just fine to take in an evening play in nearby Stratford-Upon-Avon. (Note to self - leave much early for better parking in S-U-A.) Our only complaint would be the room service late night menu sandwiches did not live up the pizzazz of the rest of the whole visit & food. Even the morning breakfast was quite delightful. We have given rave reviews of our stay to all our family and friends, and will indeed return. THANK YOU!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Every thing was right from signing in to checking out made to feel welcome at all time
Cons: Nothing l can think off
Location: Location was very pretty and allkept in the same manner that suited the hotel
Stayed overnight atettington hall hotel staff very obliging enjoyed our stay we had a wedding at the hotel it was really organised everyone was made very welcome nothing was too hard accomodation was excellent rooms were very clean and comfortable would definately stay again if we were in the area as we live in north walese