Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Iowa

good for he money

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: value
Cons: They need no smoking in the hotel
Location: Gear we were just 15 mins from Des Moines and very low crime area. Three places to dine were within walking distance. Pool was clear and staff nice.
The hotel was nice however if you don't smoke don' take their smoking rooms. The dinning area is small and has only 12 tables to eat. If you get your food and go pool side i's fine.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Gross

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Gross. I know it's a cheap hotel, but it's not that cheap. Check in took about 20 minutes (not exaggerating). The woman had no idea what she was doing and when I had to sign my name she rudely told me to sign it neater so she could read it (uhh that's my signature, if I signed it "neater" it would look different than anything else I've ever signed, and my printed name was at the top of the page??). The room was gross, cigarette burns on the comforter and sheets. Found a hair on the pillow when I got there, someone spilled something in a drawer that wasn't cleaned. The other comforter had a huge rip in it as well. Overall just a gross place to stay. If the rooms for $35 a night, I would still say its a good deal. But for $75 I would rather sleep in my car or spend $20 more for a decent room and employees that have used a computer before.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Right off I-80!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Pretty good breakfast, had biscuits and gravy and waffles among the hot food, along with cereal and juices.
Cons: We knew we had a smoking room (much to our dismay, but all that was left) but didn't expect cigarette burns in the bedspread!!
Location: Don't know, but don't think a lot nearby. State fair's going on in Des Moines right now.
It was so close to the Interstate, we missed it first time and it sits back behind other businesses, so a little hard to see. Nice enough for overnight stay and the staff was super nice!! and they are somewhat at a disadvantage since they're going thru transition from Super 8 to America's Best Western Inn & Suites, and seem to have very little information from the old Super 8 company.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NW Arizona

Clean, neat, and comfortable.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Above average across the board.
A comfortable night's stop over we would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Did not accommodate my room request through Expedia. Other than having to be carried upstairs, stay was okay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matt Oglesby from Napa

Hwy resting

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beats sleeping in the car.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by bw

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Monticello, WI

Nice Place to Stay

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Location: Close to John Wayne's birthplace, and the 7 covered bridges featured in the book and film THE BRIDGES OF MADISON COUNTY.
The Super 8 in Stuart is a comfortable place to stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you are planning on doing any sight seeing in central Iowa, near the John Wayne birthplace and the covered bridges of Madison County, and would are looking for a nice, affordable place to stay, we definitely recommend the Super 8.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel smells

Posted Apr 7, 2014
This was our 2nd time staying in this hotel and each time the lobby and the rooms which were non smoking smelled of smoke.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deeva from Middleton, WI.

Stuart, IA. Super 8

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: The location and that it's close to the highway.
Location: I was visiting with friends and family for the holiday.
My overall experience at Super 8 was pleasant. I had minimal problems with being checked in and my room was nice and smoke-free. There were only a few people who stayed overnight at the hotel, which was great because that cuts down on noise(s) in the hallways, or other rooms.