Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottumwa Iowa

hotel stay for week

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: It was quiet.
Cons: The daily house keeping.
Location: The Rusty Duck restaurant was fabulous. Was a bit pricey but worth it.
Check in was fine. Very rarely swept the carpet during the week stay. Never cleaned the coffee pot. Had trouble with the room keys. The motel charged me $45.00 more than my Expedia itinerary stated. When I called about it I was told that book keeping was only there from 11pm to 6:30am, so you have stay up late to take care of a billing problem. I thought that was ridiculous!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2015 by Kenna Reha, Hotel Management
I'm so sorry for your experience at our property. I wish we could have spoke during your stay about these issues. I would have corrected the problem immediately. I did however speak to my housekeeping staff about your experience. I apologize about your room key being deactivated. There are numerous reasons why they deactivate. I know it's definitely an inconvenience. I do hope that we did fix the pricing issue. We take each guest's credit card info to the highest security and limit only our Night Auditors to have access to debit or credit and credit card. I will look into another solution to that particular issue. Thank you for the review, we do appreciate the input.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom d

Posted Apr 19, 2015
It was a last minute reservation and hotel staff was pleasant and room was acceptable
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Kenna, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you took the time to give us a review. I hope you choose us next time your through our area. Safe travels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom stuart, ia

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Very nice place to stay. I will use another sight to book next time. I found this one difficult to use and when the date of our stay was incorrect, I had an even more difficult time correcting it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Better than expected. Questionable legalities

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: The room design was nice. Bright, new, bedding and large tubs in the bathroom. The breakfast, though limited, was also a nice touch.
Cons: The staff could be more friendly and accommodating.
Location: This is a small town. The perfect place for a good night's sleep. We stopped at the adjacent gas station before departure. It was excellent.
This hotel WAS remodeled in early 2015, so some of the 2014 reviews are irrelevant in their critiques of the amenities. The rooms were upgraded and it seems linens and towels were replaced as well. It looks modern and nice. My only concern is what they are doing with Expedia customers legally. When I checked in they asked me to sign a paper but it was folded so I could not see the legal print. When I began to unfold the paper the receptionist quickly grabbed it out of my hand and scolded me saying, "you cannot read that!!" She then printed another document, which looked like the receipt Expedia had provided. I read it and signed it. Still, I wonder what the first form said or what I would have consented to, had I signed it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Kenna Reha, Hotel Management
Thank you for all the nice things you said about our motel. We take pride in giving "better than expected" experiences. I do want to apologize about the confusion at the desk. We take the highest precaution regarding our guest's and Expedia's personal security. We receive reservations from Expedia via/fax. Those reservation contracts hold method of payment and information that secures your room. We do not receive your credit card or payment info. You already paid for the room to Expedia and they have to pay us. We have you sign a blank folio that gives us and Expedia a record of your stay. Expedia provides you with a receipt for your stay. The piece of paper that our clerk said you could not read held Expedia's method of payment to us. I apologize she did not explain that to you and I understand how it could have looked suspicious. She was protecting the card holder, just as we do with any guest's info and payment info. I hope you understand. Thank you for choosing Expedia and us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vondafrom Denver

Great place to stay!

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
The staff, room, bed and breakfast was awesome. Plus the price was right too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by Kenna Reha, Hotel Management
Reading your review definitely makes me smile. We appreciate all feed back, but I especially appreciate a review that lets me know how well the front desk staff and housekeeping staff are doing. I can honestly say that everyone here takes pride in their job. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay and I hope we get to see you again. Thank you:-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by leah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Karynfrom Stockholm Sweden

No complaints

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
A nice, clean hotel with a helpful staff. It served my purpose when I was just passing thru.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2015 by Kenna Reha, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice review. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service, clean rooms, at a budget price. I'm pleased you had a nice stay. I hope to see you again on your next trip through.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

ehh iv stayed at better for less money

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was ok, but the bedding had a weird smell to it, the breakfast was really bad. I'm a little annoyed with a request I had I asked the gal at the front desk to check something out for me she said she would and never returned my call. So a bit irritated with that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2015 by Kenna Reha, Hotel Management
I'm so sorry to hear about your experience at our motel. We pride ourselves to give each guest a great stay experience and I'm sorry we failed giving you that. We are in the process of getting all new bedding in every room. We provide fresh, clean bedding in every room but it's time to replace them. We stepped up our breakfast by providing a hot meal including waffles, biscuits and gravy, and scrambled eggs, rather than just a continental breakfast. I'm sorry you were disappointed in what we offer. We appreciate that you took the time to give us a review and we do learn from guests that have suggestions for improvements. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Terancefrom columbus, ne

expensive but fairly comfortable

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was quite fine. A little expensive for what it was but the bed was comfortable and it was right off the interstate. Took over a half hour for the front desk to get my reservation and that wasn't too fun holding a crying toddler for 45 minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2015 by Kenna Reha, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We appreciate to hear from people like you on what you liked and what could need improvement. I am really sorry to hear about your wait at the desk. I did look into it, and discovered the night you checked in was a night we were experiencing technical problems. We were able to get direct reservations into their rooms, but reservations made through a 3rd party like yours were delayed. Technology is a great thing, but when it goes down it doesn't allow us to give our guests the great customer service they deserve. Again, I apologize you had to wait such a long time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2015 by Kenna Reha, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We appreciate to hear from people like you on what you liked and what could need improvement. I am really sorry to hear about your wait at the desk. I did look into it, and discovered the night you checked in was a night we were experiencing technical problems. We were able to get direct reservations into their rooms, but reservations made through a 3rd party like yours were delayed. Technology is a great thing, but when it goes down it doesn't allow us to give our guests the great customer service they deserve. Again, I apologize you had to wait such a long time.