Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pat from Stanstead

Lovely setting but building and content very tired

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Setting and friendly back room staff.
Cons: Fabric of building and furniture inc. beds
Location: We were visiting family so did not get to sightsee, or explore the hotel grounds.
Staff very helpful, room very dated but clean. Bed uncomfortable everything has seen better days. Needed more squashy inviting sofas in drawing room. Breakfast was adequate, staff lovely. Even so, for the price we paid, it was good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

my stay

Posted Jun 11, 2014
I was booked into room 308 it was a nice room, the bathroom was lovely but the corner shower cubicle the door doesn't close properly. You don't have much room to wash yourself. If you a large person so you have to step out of the shower to soap yourself before you can go back into the shower to rinse off. The staff were very helpful and the setting is just beautiful i would recommend the place to my friends. I had a lovely stay and the staff made my 50th birthday a very special one. Thank you Miss Olga Ratschkewycz
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by PETER from Devon

Interesting building and grounds

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: faded grandeur
Cons: first impression could be improved by freshening up the driveway/car parking areas
Location: amid the worcs/warwicks countryside yet close to motorways
We like interesting stop overs and are not too concerned if decor etc is dated provided it is clean. Food was good and we would return for another stop over
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stunning Setting

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Character and some rooms are stunning
Cons: Breakfast
Staff pleasant, found the bed to soft and not enough pillows (pillows very flat) also the room to stuffy not able to open windows due to them being in a bad state (very old metal windows and rusty). Breakfast was included didn't eat much as most of it didn't seem cooked properly, bacon cold in fairness to the staff they went and got me some more but the way they keep food hot really doesn't work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Verbal from Isle of man

Fantastic

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Staff were fantastic, made stay v welcoming ..
Cons: Bit tattey, but Whooo Its a Castle .. Fantastic, staff felt the same
Location: Grounds well worth a wonder .. If going To see Hailwood "Mike The Bike",s Grave then id stay here .. Loverly
Turned up on big Motorbikes, strolled in lids in hand, greeted with smiles and respect ... Loved it v cool place to stay..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very welcoming, nice decor, relaxing atmosphere.

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: cant put a fault on it.
Location: i relaxed in my room, meeting the next day in Redditch, 15 mins away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Ludlow

Lovely hotel in a lovely setting.

Posted Dec 22, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Perhaps a lick of paint here and there in the bedroom would help.
Very welcoming and friendly staff,but its near Birmingham so what more would you expect.Always the friendliest of people the Brummies. Hotel setting superb,quiet,peaceful,but within a few minutes of everything you might need. I arrived on a cold winter evening,and the fire in the reception looked lovely.
3 out of 5
by Ian from Derby

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by H from west midlands

Lovely grounds but a bit dated

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Lovely grounds and staff were friendly but the room was very dated and in need of an update. The paint on the window ledge in the bathroom was all chipped, there was no shower gel in the dispenser, luckily we had taken some with us. The staff were very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by gemma from manchester

Surprisingly nice! great value

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Location: We went to the stratford food festival which was great, had dinner in warwick one night and went to Worcester woods county park.
I booked two nights to stay here with my husband and 18months old son and was a bit nervous having read mixed reviews. We were pleasantly surprised! We had the family room which had loads of space, we put our little boy in a travel cot in the lounge and we slept in the HUGE bed in the main bedroom. The rooms were separated by an arch but the rooms are spaced out well enough that we didn't keep him awake watching TV. The whole hotel could do with a revamp but it didn't spoil our stay. The hotel was clean and the staff were brilliant, they couldn't do enough for us and were brilliant with our little boy. They were happy to provide milk when we forgot to buy some and get high chairs and other bits and pieces for him at breakfast. We got a lovely welcome each time we arrived. The room where you eat breakfast is gorgeous and really does feel like you're in a castle! the food was nice but the whole set up could have been a bit more organised. The only other criticism is that it was quite noisy on the Saturday night as there was a wedding and kids were out kicking a ball against the wall of our room until quite late, not the end of the world and they were having fun so we would never have complained but it did make a good night's sleep tricky! We will definitely be back as we love this part of the country, it was £70 a night B&B booked with expedia and there's nothing else we could have got for this price.