Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by HLD from Pensylvania

An enjoyable visit

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: There is a quaint colonial atmosphere
Cons: A few paths around the grounds
Location: This hotel is conveniently located minutes of I 84 and I 90. Sturbridge Village is just a few miles away.
We had a very enjoyable stay at the Publick House. This was our second time at the hotel and both visits were a pleasure. The staff and atmosphere were delightful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lake from New York

Comfortable room, great new mattress!

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: The staff, the ease of finding it, the clean, comfortable quarters, and the pillow top mattress.
Location: If you are going to Brimfield antique show, about seven miles away, I'd advise making reservations far in advance. The town swells by 30,000!
We stayed there while attending the Antigues show in Brimfield, and the staff was so nice. The food in the restaurant was good, and our waitress was the best, friendly and welcoming. The view from our room looked out on peaceful woods, very relaxing after a day of lots of people and activity. The mattresses were new and so comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by larry from new york

golf vacation with friend

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: quite historic and would take my wife on a trip to the area and stay in the main lodge.
Cons: no real complaints
Location: as I said before an historic hotel with many historic venues within a short walk or drive.
hotel is close to many golf courses in the area. we thought we were going to be staying in the main lodge, but because we required two beds we had to stay in one of the outlying units. the room was nice, but would have liked to get to coffee without having to go to the main lodge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ro from New Milford, NJ

Nice hotel close to Brimfield Antique Fair

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness. Comfort.
Cons: Would prefer a room with a coffee maker and the continental breakfast was very sparse, especially on Sunday.
Room was extremely clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stopped for the night.

Posted Apr 27, 2014
We have stayed here before and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. No differnce this time. Provided a very small but tasty breakfast, fresh baked pastries and coffee, very nice. Roomwas nice size, only draw back was there was only a heavier bedspread and not light weight blanket. This timeI was either too hot or cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

good value

Posted Apr 19, 2014
We found The Publick House as an clean, comfortable stopover on a college tour through New England. It's not the most modern place, but as a value stay it can't be beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joanna from Boston

A great place to stay!

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Restaurant on premises.
Location: Very close to town and all amenities.
Excellent location. Rooms are large with balcony. Very comfortable and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, restuarant appealing

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Ambiance
Cons: Directions from main office to lodging
Location: Easy access to highway and close to colleges.
Really enjoyed the stay and breakfast was good. Was given a little history lesson as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by love the beach from cape cod

Beautiful setting for christmas

Posted Dec 26, 2013
We stayed in the Inn and it was decorated so beautiful for Christmas. Our room was comfortable and clean and looked out at the common which was beautifully lit for Christmas. The Inn is very old so if your into modern accomadstions it may not be for everyone but they have put a lot of effort in to updating it and are doing a great. Look forward to returning next Christmas eve. Only negative was when I booked with expedia I was assured I'd be in the Inn however when I arrived they tried to put me in the motor lodge they remedied the probelm quickly and gave us a lovely room (thank you Michelle) Will talk to Expedia to see why this happened.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

nice inn but you dont stay there

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The actual publick house inn is lovely. You actually stay in completely modern motel buildings in the back. Nice enough but not the atmosphere i was looking for.