Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not the best place.

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Good food
Cons: When making the reservation, it should be shown what room you are reserving.
Location: Good location for the town
Did not get the room we thought we reserved online. Looks like you reserve in the main part of the inn, but you end up in the 'motel' section which is very dated and not the best. Disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom hyannis, ma

Charming wonderful experience

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Accommodations, breakfast/bakery, staff, beautiful inn and grounds, Ebenezer's Tavern, great value.
Management and staff went over and above our expectations. We love historical inns and The Public House offered an experience like no other. The rooms were charming and bed very comfy. Staff attentive and very friendly. They truly live up to keeping with the inns exceptional hospitality. Have recommended The Public House to friends and plan on staying there again. A great value. Jeanne and Joe Hitchman
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Better than most in Sturbridge

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Last time I stayed in main house which is much nicer than " out buildings". Continental breakfast was meager and "served" in the bakery shop. Not able to use wifi. They said they have "trouble" with iPads connecting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ct.

Very good overall hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2014
It's a beautiful and historic hotel. The hotel staff was excellent and always willing to help me and my family. We ate dinner at the restaurant and were very pleased with the food and service. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and add to its charm. The hotel rooms were fair to good, nothing special but served the purpose.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Malvern, PA

quick stay

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Very well preserved
Cons: Heating in restaurant where breakfast was served
Location: We were on our way home from a Maine vacation and visiting friends in Wellesley
We checked into the Publick House late one evening and were pleasantly surprised how nice our room was and the beds were so clean and comfortable. It was a greeting all travelers expect. The breakfast (partial included) was very good and pleasantly served. However, the poor waitress was the only one on duty with a room full of customers. The room, however, was very cold. Not a good way to start the day. Overall, we would happily stay again. Thank you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom PA

rooms a little dated and some lights did not work

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: hotel grounds are charming
Cons: pool need better seating, only chairs around pool
Location: great antique show three times a year
Hotel grounds a wonderful, food and service are good
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom nj

Dated, in clean conditions

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Checked in and out of the hotel on a matter of minutes. Run down, dirty, smelly room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dawnfrom CT

Good enough

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just an overnight with the family. Other than the sink not draining and the noise from the party above not too bad
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Bob

quaint but lacking

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This historic site is quaint and charming yet the service was less than exemplary. The front desk staff seemed uninterested and uninformed. The tavern bartenders response when asked about their wine offerings was "ask me about beer." The wait staff was friendly and attentive and the food was as expected but certainly not over the top.