Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Chilling weekend

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Location: Visit Shaftesbury ( the home of the 'Hovis' advert)
Great food / Friendly staff / Comfortable room, if your looking for a chilling weekend away in an area that to be honest does not have a lot in the immediate area but dont let this put you off.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bath

Great breakfast.

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: It looks lovely
Cons: The wet room needs a great deal of attention! More light above the mirror (make-up application) Lessen noises / voices - internal window glazing?
Location: Quiet village in the outskirts of Sturminster Newton
Lovely staff and great breakfast - but that's about it. Lovely looking pub in quiet village we thought ..but how wrong we were! Our room was against the main road so we heard every car, tractor, motorbike etc hence limited sleep! It advertised that it was accessible, en suite - it didn't say it was a wet room. No bath, shower area looked so filthy I didn't dare step anywhere near it. Shower head held with black tape, a carrier bag wrapped around the pole, mold on curtain and walls. Toilet seat moved - my partner even joked that he nearly fell off! When we first arrived and I noticed the traffic noise and the wet room, I asked for a change of room and was told that I would have to pay a tenner for an upgrade! In all the years I've booked with Expedia, I have never given a negative feedback but this room was more than disappointing. I see they received a guest rating of 4.5 out of 5 but I really wouldn't even give them a 2 for the room, but certainly a 4 for the breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Preston

Good hotel with welcoming staff.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: A nice welcome after a long journey
Nice hotel, the staff are very welcoming and the food in the restaurant was very good. Very good service in the restaurant too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Country pub

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Nice , great food , really busy road tho with heavy farmyard traffic
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom herts

Two day break

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Breakfast and other food good.
Cons: To clean up bathroom area
Shower head fixing was broken and held together with black tape and a plastic bag. Shower curtain was mouldy. Really nice breakfast and location was good for exploring the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom York

Pleasant,historic inn

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The food was marvelous as was the badger beer.
Cons: The menu could be a little more expansive.
Location: About 30 miles from the sea in a small attractive village.Lots of gardens to visit and Corfe Castle is a must.
My wife and I spent 5 nights at the inn in September,2014.The room was fine but our room was next to the road and the passing traffic was very noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brighton

A rare find!

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Lovely old inn, full of history, didn't,t know about the Thomas Hardy connection but that was an extra bonus, all you could want in the room, including fridge. Great food, garden, easy parking, only downside, traffic awoke us in morning as right on the road but that's the nature of an inn! Would definately stay again, especially as so reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sporting

Wonderful, Great, Perfect.

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
A wonderful hotel within a great village. The owners couldn't do more to help, we had to sadly leave early before breakfast, yet they were more than accommodating. Our room was great and spacious with a lovely bathroom. The food was fantastic me and my partner shared a meal, and it filled the both of us. Unfortunately we were wanting to stay for an additional night but there was no rooms available. Yet they were more than happy to recommend other places
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Croydon

A rustic slice of heaven

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Despite getting there later than we anticipated, the staff knew exactly who the booking was for. The staff we met that night and the following morning were the friendliest people I have met. The room was fantastic - a fridge and many fresh towels were a pleasant surprise. The locks on the doors were a bit confusing at first, but a very nice touch. In the morning, I'm not sure if we were the only people staying that night, but there was a table laid for us at breakfast with a variety of cooked breakfasts on offer. Even the toast was something I wanted more of! Our room was adjacent to the main road through the village however, and many loud vehicles did roar by in the early hours of the morning. Also, steam from the shower does collect in the room very quickly and doesn't go until the windows are open. Apart from that, I would definitely return there for another romantic night away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dauphinfrom Bristol

Great location for our needs.

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great!