Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NZ

Wonderful 16 the century pub.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Historical pub. Lovely meals, quiet , comfortable room, great bath, overall an excellent stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recently refurbished rooms in an old inn

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The room size and facilities
Cons: The shower arrangement was not at all welcoming
Location: Lovely area of rural Dorset, close to Sherborne and Shaftesbury.
This is a lovely place to stay in rural Dorset. It is about 4 miles from the A30 . The room we had was very large and well-equipped. The only downside was the noise from traffic on the road which ran only a few metres from the inn . The food in the inn was very good and reasonably-priced. The breakfast was all that you could expect and more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wolverhampton

Nice hotel/pub

Posted Jul 16, 2014
The Crown was ideally located as a base for visiting different parts of Dorset. The pub itself is mentioned in Tess of the Durbervilles and part of the Hardy Trail. Staff were pleasant, food was nice, rooms were clean but no air con. Would recommend as a place to stay. Breakfast was varied and very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry from Cornwall

Would Recommend

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Full of character real ales Ideally situated for touring
Location: Its not far from Stourhead, Weymouth, Bournemouth and other local attractions I.E National trust
Clean comfortable accommodation welcoming staff, very nice meals reasonable prices
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful country inn, with fantastic accomodation

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay at the Crown. Staff were very helpful and courteous throughout the stay. We ate in the restaurant for our evening meal, which was first class, and we enjoyed a full english breakfast in the morning. Our room was the Lucietta room, which was a huge airy room , tastefully decorated with a king size bed and 3 sofas!! Yes , the pub is allocated on a main lane, but this didn't disturb us too much. Definitely recommend a visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alastair from Dunfermline Scotland

A really great "Querky" old country inn

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: The staff, and the food,and theoverall ambiance.
Cons: Being able to open a window in the room
Location: Sherborne Abbey, RNAS Yeovilton and its FAA Museum, along with it old saxon memorial church.
This place is a real gem. The staff make you feel really welcome, and cannot do enough for you. The whole place is spotlessly clean, the linen and towels fresh and crisp. We ate in the restaurant, one of our better decisions, the food was tasty, novel, and perfectly cooked and served. The bar itself is worth a good look around as it reeks of history, the drinks are well served and the cask ale to die for. Would we go back? Without a shadow of doubt, just give us the chance. Any criticism, perhaps one, the room we had was in the converted barn and because of that fact it had small windows which you were not able to open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by al from portsmouth

very comfortable

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: ambiance was very pleasing, the breakfast was very nice and tasty and plenty of it.
Cons: not much really we would have liked a window that opened for fresh air, we where supplied with a fan so has not to get to hot @ night.
Location: location was very quite there seemed to be many places to visit, but we where only there for one night @ a wedding, in another location
we where made to feel welcome, the room was very nice, but we where there inly one night and did not have enough to appreciate the whole place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Eliza from Carmarthen

Great Hotel

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff - good food and a lovely big room - beds could have been a little softer but generally a lovely place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chavirez from Poole

Excellent little hideaway

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, reasonable prices, good food
Cons: Tiling on the shelf over the bath. Mugs would have been nice rather than cups
Location: This is a very rural pub. There is a walk and several footpaths nearby. It is not far from Sherborne (castle) and Shaftesbury (Abbey and Gold Hill).
We chose this for an overnight stay as it was not too far away from home when our son wanted to have a trial run of coping alone. We were hopeful of a good stay as the reviews we had seen were good; we were not disappointed. The room was large and comfortable and although there was some traffic noise from the road it was not overly intrusive. The room was clean, the sheets fresh, the bed comfortable and there was plenty of tea & coffee (not the usual two tea bags). The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant and found the food tasty, reasonably priced and it came in very generous portions! Breakfast the next morning was equally substantial and kept us going for the rest of the day. The following day we went for a "pub walk" published by the brewery which takes in the village and surrounding area - not all of the instructions were clear and a little deduction was required to work out where we had gone wrong... All in all a very relaxing stay.