Ratings based on 461 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2015
Good but not more then that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Satisfactory, would probably not return. I expected better, quite a disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in its prime.

Posted May 16, 2015
Hotel is older and obviously struggling with the big chain hotels going up around but they are doing a good job of updates and rents. Excellent In house restaurant (Laura's).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Free Wi-Fi Pool experience
Cons: Hotel Lobby requires major upgrades... Hotel could be more environmentally friendly...
Location: Good location
Good experience, however, general curb appeal of hotel could be improved...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Internet is fast...

Posted Apr 24, 2015
If I could sum up my experience in 1 word... Dated
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Easy access

Posted Apr 3, 2015
The hotel was easy to get to. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was excellent, night club right in the hotel just down the hall way from our room was awesome.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sault ste marie, ontario

Bad bad bad

Posted Mar 29, 2015
First room was flooded, pool was dirty, no toilet paper or towels, room was unfinished!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, ON

Ambassador Motor Hotel in Sudbury

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: It was a spacious room, with easy access from our parking spot, using the outer door. The King size bed was comfortable and it was only for one night
Cons: The bathroom was in definite need of updating. There were cracked tiles on the floor and I haven't seen taps like that in a long time!
Location: We were only staying there to visit our daughter, who goes to Laurentian University. We needed one night in a hotel, and didn't want to spend a lot.
This motor hotel was obviously a former motel converted to a hotel. We had both a door to the outside where we parked and an inner door to the hallway. I had some trouble when I called the day before to ensure we had a room on the main level, as this hotel has two stories, but no elevator and I have mobility challenges. I was told it would be $20 extra to guarantee this room and I could pay then or wait until check in, but if I didn't pay, it would not be guaranteed. This extra charge would basically negate any deal from Expedia and I might as well have booked at a more expensive, newer hotel. Fortunately, I chose to wait. When we checked in, we were put on the ground level with no extra charge. I am not sure why I was misinformed, but glad I chose not to pay the extra $20 in advance. Although the room did not smell of smoke, the inner hallway definitely did. It was a little on the expensive side for what you got.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ontario canada

By no means a dive - just not what we expected....

Posted Mar 19, 2015
This hotel needs a major upheaval on the outside. When we arrived - all I could think was "what have we gotten ourselves into?" - thankfully the inside - while still outdated was clean and tidy. We were given keys to our room after a long journey only to discover it was dirty. We went back down and had our room switched - next one was ready and small but clean. The ceiling tiles had smoke and water stains on them (non smoking room) and the bathroom smelled like smoke as well. They shower had no pressure whatsoever - literally just a steady trickle came out. The pool was locked and had a max guest count of 15 people at all times. Kids loved it - adults not so much. I will say the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming each and every time we encountered them - so kudos to them for that. It was not a disaster by any means but certainly not "one of the best hotels in Sudbury" either. I would stay elsewhere next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Close to malls and not far from attractions.rooms dated but comfortable.king bed great.breakfast basic continental.visiting with 6 yr.old granson.only complaint was pool was cold, as we picked this hotel for that purpose .