Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Location: The big nickel is in view of the hotel.
I spent only 6 hours at the hotel during my stay while attending some business in Sudbury. The staff were great during check-in and very friendly. The rates were great and when I go back I will likely reuse their services.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older motel but clean & helpful owners.

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Clean. Bed was older but firm enough.
Cons: Lots of highway noise starting at about 4:30 a.m.
Just needed a room to get some sleep and leave early. Fit my needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, BC

Convenient location

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The staff was really nice and accomodating and took that extra effort to allow us to stay in the same room for an extra nite without moving us.
Cons: Move the ashtrays to the upper level by the smoking rooms Or better Make the hotel NON Smoking.
Location: Located on the main highway just on the onskirts of Sudbury. Near the Big Nickel .
The Fireside Hotel has no fireside however the staff was very nice, room was clean and comfortable. Hotel is a motel style building just on the outskirts of Sudbury. 10 minute drive to shopping on main road. 5 minutes from Sudbury mine and Big Nickle tours. The only negative is that on the lower level there is ashtrays for the smokers outside the room doors when there is non smoking rooms. The ashtrays should only be on the upper level with the smoking rooms. We should not have to walk through smoke to get to our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Awesome stay

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Very clean . Easy booking and was able to check in late . I would stay here again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Timmins

cold

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: The price was right. The staff seemed friendly.
Cons: Heat in the bathroom and cleaner carpet.
Location: National grocery was close by as well as Tim Hortens and a pizza place. Gas station was close and hyway 17. Not too bad a location.
The bathroom floor was like ice There was several loud bangs that woke me up during the night. I did not know the source. The room had old electric heat that took a long time to heat the room. The room was clean, however, the carpet had a hard texture to it like it is sprayed with something over and over but never really cleaned.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Still in doubt

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Having a room near the steps was a mistakes. Other guests slammed their feet and were very loud. The room absolutely needs some renovations.. sink cracked, enamel in tub breaking off, previous bad paint job. I mean it did it's basic job, shelter for the night...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Carolinefrom Barrie

Will return!

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The personal is very polite, it's family owned...and very clean, affordable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

"In the ghetto"

Posted Nov 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pretty cheap. Old style tube TV. Noisy plumbing. Glade plug in was used in the room to mask odours. But the plug in itself was filthy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sudbury

Great motel, and the price is right!

Posted Nov 5, 2014
The room was very clean, and had a very comfortable bed. Really nice people who run the place as well. Overall a good experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sergio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels.com