Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The horses!
Cons: Not much!
Location: Near Boston
It's a terrific place. I really enjoyed the excellent breakfast and the beautiful backyard. Thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fantastic!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Everything. Difficult to fault.
Sadly, we only had one night at The Inn. A beautiful room, in a wonderful house. Jean and Rick were wonderful hosts and made us feel very much at home. There is a great restaurant five minutes walk down the road, but leave some room for breakfast in the morning! We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast out on the balcony before sadly departing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seabrook Beach NH

Convenient to all activities we were interested in

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Very enjoyable weekend. Very comfortable and quiet. Excellent breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by KDMCG from Somerset nj

Easter Weekend

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very gracious hosts. Beautiful setting. Pleasant experience overall with some reservations. First night in cottage: not ready for guest use. May have been first use of the season: windows Needed thorough cleaning. Slider curtain in disarray. Upstairs br not accessible for anyone who has Difficulty walking or climbing narrow stairs. Bathroom sub standard: steep sloping ceiling, Shower awkward to access and short hot water supply. No cover over bare vanity bulbs. 2nd nite in main house. Room way too cluttered. Needs updating. Owners friendly and anxious to please. Breakfasts were well Prepared and presented. Could not access internet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OUR STAY

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: B & B very nice and relaxing
Cons: Lights by the front entrance.
Location: very nice. only less than 5 miles from the T going into Boston
It was very nice, at first we werent to excited because we were put in the cottage and the accomdations werent what we expected. We told Joan about it,and she was very gracious to move us to the room in the main house that we were told we were going to have. Private bath room and whirlpool tub. Than was very nice. The grounds are very nice and the staff made great breakfastes. They need to put lights out by the front entrance, very hard to see at night when your coming home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Hibbard from Dallas, TX

Perfect B&B. Must Experience!

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Inn on the Horse Farm was the perfect B&B experience. The location is great to get to many tourist sites and downtown Boston. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The home is 130 years old and situated on some of the most beautiful grounds. The history and quaintness of the town just added to the overall experience. If you are looking for a place to relax and still be able to the tourist things, you must stay here. We highly recommend asking for a room with a private patio, so that you are able to open your doors and listen to the beautiful church bells ringing on the hour. This was a wonderful escape from the hustle and bustle of city life. The inn keepers were very warm and friendly, but kept to themselves in order to allow privacy. The room could have been a little cleaner, but it wasn't too bad. We will be returning whenever we can!!
3 out of 5
by Phillip from Hendersonville NC

Great location and staff, ... but lacking

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: location and innkeeper
Cons: rooms
Location: very near historic areas; also a quiet place in the middle of populated area
This is a wonderful house in a very nice location. The innkeeper is pleasant and prepares an excellent breakfast. The grounds need more attention and the room was just too "busy" with accessories everywhere. There were little items missing; no towel rack near shower or lavatory; steps to large hot tub/bath not safe for older adults. Our room was the largest and possibly best room in the house - still not quite worth the price paid.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Julia from Smalley

I would not recommend

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was not very pleased with my stay, I have stayed in several B&B for pleasure so when this was the only accommodations I could find while traveling on business that had availability I was not concerned. I found the out-of-the-way location to be a disappointment. I did not have cellular or internet connection from my room (although they said they provided WiFi - I noticed even Joan struggled to keep her connection from down stairs). The location was such that I was not able to walk anywhere for dinner my only option was delivery from Gino's Pizzeria which was awful. The room condition was in poor condition and in need of a make-over. There were nicknacks EVERYWHERE, not a spare surface space anywhere. Unfortunately they were in dire need of dusting or removal from the build up of dust. The water facets had built up hard water deposits and did not work well. I was so glad I only had to stay one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Celia from Santa Monica, CA

Shabby Chic at The Horse Farm

Posted Jun 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Inn on the Horse Farm - a ramshackle old main house with an addition of an independent cottage - is a delightful place to unwind, even on a business trip. The Innkeepers were happy to serve a delicious breakfast (usually featuring FRESH eggs) at the ungodly hour of 7:00 am (perhaps that isn't an ungodly hour to farmers, but then, I'm not a farmer.) I noted other reviews that mention the tub in the cottage was uneven and the farmhouse needed updating. To really enjoy yourself at The Horse Farm, with the rooster, the horses, the ducks, you have to give yourself over to the experience. It is an OLD house and has the aches and pains of old houses. If, like me, you find that charming, delightful and adding to your adventure of being "somewhere else" - this is the place for you.