Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Ok hotel for 2 night business stay

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Hotel location is great, staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are fairly modern and large, bathrooms clean but walls/ceiling very thin and noise from upstairs/next door/pipework did disturb my sleep. Hotel corridors, restaurant and bar are tired and food was not very good, all slightly overcooked and bland. I didn't try the gym, spa etc. I would stay again for work due to location and cost but I would not recommend to friends for a weekend break etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pretty location but lacklustre

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Nice country location, good size room, good choice at breakfast - except for the 'Mother's Pride" type bread
Cons: Attitude of staff - they could welcome guests, smile, and provide a cheerful rather than grudging service
Location: Nice organic bistro a few hundred yards in village of Fornham All Saints
Had the feeling the place is run for the benefit of the staff and the customers are a bit of a nuisance. Staff fairly disinterested except for one older woman on breakfast service. On first morning of our stay fire alarm went off every 30 seconds and when we rang reception to ask what was happening and how long it would be going on the receptionist said she didn't know but probably not too long. After a few more minutes we spoke to the workmen installing a new smoke alarm system who said they would be testing all the alarms in the hotel and it would go on all day!!!!! Hotel is large, rooms fairly comfortable but whole place a bit scuffed and in need of a lick of paint or varnish
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Borehamwood UK

A Dated Hotel......

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Very very dated hotel which is in need of a major upgrade. The room was clean but less than average, the bed uncomfortable and in the corridor's there was pans as the roof was leaking. This would be somewhere I would choose as a last resort if I had to make the choice again. I ended up staying a single night even though I was in the area for 2.5 day's!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yorkshire

Suffolk Golf & Country Club, Bury St Edmunds

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Convenience - swimming pool - evening menu was ok - staff friendly
Cons: Makeover of fabric - replace carpets - fresh paint - replace corridor doors now worn - install showers instead of baths
Location: I was on business
Let's be positive to start with. The staff were welcoming in all areas of contact. The food and the delivery of food was good with smiling faces. The setting looks good, but this was November and the delights of the golf course could only be imagined on what was a dank misty two days. The negatives are fairly obvious. The hotel is of an age and the entire place has grown old and a bit shabby. The carpets could be replaced, the lift was grubby around the base of the doors. The seats in the bar area have been well used and the arms were not something to rest on without a sense of grubbiness. The doors along the corridors have been bashed by luggage over the years. While this is expected, it is also obvious that a coat of paint/varnish is long overdue. The plumbing where it has leaked shows with calcium stains. The roof along the corridors leaked (witness the strategically placed buckets). It really is time to get rid of the baths and install showers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Manfredfrom NRW

Einfach aber mit Wellnessbereich

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Einfaches Hotel mit gutem Service, netten Leuten und einem einfachen aber guten Wellnessbereich mit Schwimmbad, sauna und Dampfbad. Zimmer sind sauber aber einfach mit Kaffee making facilities. Umgebung ist ruhig auf einem Golfplatz gelegen
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Philfrom Liverpool

Worst stay of my life

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was there for work, the gym and pool facilities were great! The kind I would pay to use. The hotel was old and in poor condition the rooms outdated and the beds so uncomfortable. My room 201 must have been under the dance floor and next to a stair well, it was so noisy. I am sure 10 years ago this hotel was great but it is in need of desperate modernising! The staff in my opinion were not professional and not once was I asked my opinion or how my stay was. Anyway, like I say great for gym, pool and golf but everything else in my opinion is a no. I've stayed all around the country and world but this was really bad. No matter where you stay you just want a nice room, a friendly face and a comfortable bed... This has none.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by lorrainefrom watford

unimpressed

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only stayed one night and the staff friendly and helpful. Overall the hotel needs a good make over.Room clean and breakfast good.on way to room I was hoping the room was not going to be as bad as corridors.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

lovely grounds

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
was nice,hotel needs a bit of TLC
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Barryfrom Dartford

Fantastic Staff

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were all very friendly and made my stay particularly enjoyable. Everything in the room was clean and both the evening meal and breakfast were both delicious.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Filmguysfrom London

Tired hotel, rundown, needs a refurb

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms were tired, rundown and dated. Peeling paint in the bathrooms, cracked bath tub etc. Bed was so so. Food was average. Breakfast was quite nice.