Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Angel Hotel - Bury St. Edmunds

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Fantastic lounge areas and bar.
Cons: Needs painting and new carpets in general corridors and in bedrooms. Would have expected slightly higher quality fixtures and fittings
Location: Fantastic location.
Excellent customer service at check-in, general areas of hotel are of excellent standard. Slightly disappointed walking to my room and in my room - both areas walls look tatty, carpet looks tired. No bathrobes in hotel room. TV in bedroom was miniscule. Bedroom was clean and well decorated, saving grace of the stay was the bed... best night sleep in ages.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkshire .U.K

Overpriced , nothing special.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Booked a superior double room, the room was not big enough to swing a cat. Dirty carpets and bathroom. Charged for complimentary paper, annoying after having paid so much for the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Nice hotel with comfortable lounge and room Food was over complex and failed to impress
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jonathan from Thetford, Norfolk, UK

Good Night's sleep

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: The bed.
Cons: The auto-on feature of the TV
Location: I was not impressed my car was in a public car park.
The bed was very very comfortable, and so was the chair in my room. The dials in the shower were a little bit confusing and I didn't like the fact the TV automatically came on at 7am. I got out of bed, unplugged it and went back to bed. I was a little disappointed there wasn't any diabetic option for the sugar in my room. But all in all, I would definately recommend this hotel as I think the price paid was really good and I had a really comfortable night's sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Very pleased

Posted Jun 2, 2013
Pros: Bright, airy restaurant
Location: Excellent, central location
We arrived late in the evening, which was no problem for the hotel, but unfortunately they hadn't put a third bed into our room, which is what we had booked. In spite of the lateness of the hour, they rectified this quickly and without fuss. All the staff we spoke to were friendly and polite. We had breakfast there, which was very nice, but we didn't dine there in the evening. The room was not especially large for three people, but I would be happy to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ja from Chicago, IL, USA

great hotel great location

Posted Dec 30, 2012
Pros: atmosphere
Cons: none
Location: excellent location
Wonderful place to stay and could not have a better location. Staff is awesome.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from suffolk

Never stay at this hotel again

Posted Sep 9, 2009 on Hotels.com
paid for this hotel through Hotels.com then they charged me again for the room and then i had to go collect my reciept from my local sorting office and pay £1.30 for the letter that they had forget to put postage on. When I wrote a letter of complaint they just apologized for the mistake. Appauling service and attitude
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

historic hotel, but you pay for the location

Posted Jun 15, 2009 on Hotels.com
You are right across the street from the Cathedral and the ruins of the Abbey, so no better location to see these sites. Parking is free, but very limited, so if you are coming at a busy time, expect to leave your keys with them so that they can shuffle cars. We stayed in the modern wing- very chic but fairly small. Without experience, we can not comment on the more traditional rooms in the historic section of the hotel. Breakfast and bar service was very good. You pay ahigh price for the room compared to some B&b's near the Angel, but the Angel charges for the fact that Dickens mentioned it in a book.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Charming hotel in charming town

Posted Sep 4, 2008
Comfortable room and outstanding restaurant. Minor dissatisfactions: the hotel was seriously overheated (in August!) in the communal areas, also in the bedroom when we arrived, but the AC worked well; overnight noise, perhaps from the HVAC system, meant it was impossible to keep the window open, so again we had to rely on the AC in room; car parking arrangements are chaotic, but the staff worked really hard to minimise the effect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

My new favourite hotel

Posted May 26, 2008 on Hotels.com
The hotel room was great - clean, a huge bed with lots of pillows and good facilities. The hotel restaurant was fantastic - the staff were friendly and the food was some of the best we've had in a long time. Bury St Edmunds is a great place to explore when you need to walk off your breakfast - which again consisted of top quality ingredients cooked and served to a high standard.