Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from states

Classic, comfy hotel in Suffolk

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: The funky decor, and generous room sizes.
Bury St Edmunds is enjoying a renaissance, and the Angel Hotel is a splendid place to experience. Wonderful staff, food, and atmosphere, in the middle of everything across the street from the magnificent Cathedral of St. James and St. Edmund, and the ruins of the medieval Benedictine monastery, transformed into spectacular English gardens.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Perfect town location

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Well kept hotel with friendly non obtrusive staff. Ideal location in town with parking. We stayed for one night to celebrate my wife's birthday and my only gripe would be the interesting looking Wingspan bar was closed, and we could not get a cocktail in the lounge. Breakfast was delicious and reasonable on price considering you could order as much as you like from the menu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

typisches englisches hotel, bezaubernd

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: die Atmosphäre, das sehr gute Essen abends und morgens
Location: zentral in Bury St Edmunds
außerordentlich freundlich und bemüht. wundervolle Lobby, in der man sich sehr gerne zum Tea oder abends aufhält. Das Zimmer war sehr sauber, die Dusche hätte ein wenig komfortabler Senioren. Im Ganzen hervoragend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bury St Edmunds

Another wonderful stay!

Posted Mar 8, 2015
We are never let down when we stay at the Angel..... from the moment you arrive, staff can never do enough ! You would find it very hard to get a better standard of service within Bury St. Edmunds or surrounding area. Mr and Mrs Bruce March 2015
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jean from Luton

Not a pleasing stay

Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel location good. Room poor very dark and depressing. No where to sit for hair and makeup. View over car park. Staff did not seem to be helpful where ever we wanted to sit and relax we were always asked to move to accommodate larger parties. Ended up going to dismal room for coffee after day put. Would not return .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Highly recommend a stay in this wonderful hotel with it's excellent restraint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kevin from Fareham

Excellent hotel and staff.

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent stay. Hotel staff could not have been more helpful. My wife has a garlic intolerance and they went to the trouble of printing a dinner menu for her which only included the dishes she could choose from.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel in Centre of Bury St Edmunds

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Hotel well situated. Medium size. Very expensive for a standard room, no view, shower in bath. Breakfast was not included, which was a shock considering the price, £128 i night. Quirky bar which opened at 6pm. Service in the bar was very slow. Overall very nice hotel but was overpriced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely old building, relying very much on this

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: planned maintenance within the rooms, not selling inappropriate rooms (unless heavily discounted on the understanding it was inferior)
Location: A vast array, especially in more favourable weather.
A truly lovely old building, well situated and with an enormous amount of character. Unfortunately, the owners are very evidently sitting back and relying on this. The room (no.123) would be better suited as somewhere to keep left luggage. It was dark, tired and small, with the sectioned off area of the original room, which has been adapted as the shower room, so small, that it has a sliding door, which is secured with a hook and eye similar to a garden gate. It reminded me of space saving option that tiny accommodation such as a caravan would rely on. There was evidence of cracked plaster and required redecoration throughout the room, which even if cleaned on an hourly basis, would do little to detract from the overall grubbiness. I am not a 'complainer' by nature and if it wasn't being contacted, with the exception of mentioning it in passing at checkout, would have just let it go as a bad experience, never to return and advise others of such in passing. Overall, for something we were looking forward to, it was extremely disappointing.