Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David + Yvette from Australia

Beautiful Santi Mandala

Posted Jun 14, 2013
Our stay at Santi Mandala was very relaxing. Staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The grounds and overall maintenance was outstanding and the food was served in generous helpings and was authentic and flavoursome. This all contributed to a most memorable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by putu, Hotel Management
Dear David and Yvette, warmest greetings from Santi Mandala Villa & Spa Thank you for your review. Sincerely, Putu (Mr)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stace from Riverland, south Australia.

Oustanding!

Posted May 22, 2013
Pros: The people, the massage options, free yoga, the resort itself, everything really.
Cons: That their was no wifi in the rooms.
Location: Its a out of Ubud, which can be a bit of a pain, its worth the inconvenience.
This was our second stay at Santi Mandala and to be honest I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The staff were outstanding and so friendly, they couldn't do enough for me. They even went out of their way when I was sick!! Their hotel is quiet and relaxing, great for kids, very safe and loads of fun. I would recommend this resort to anyone. Next time we will be staying their again. The first trip was split up into three different areas in Bali but our recent trip was only their resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by putu, Hotel Management
Dearest Stace, warm greetings from Santi Mandala Villa & Spa Thank you for your review. Sincerely, Putu (Mr)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rach from Perth WA, Australia

Santi Mandala Villa & Spa - Family Garden Villa

Posted May 3, 2013
Pros: The cleanliness of the room and the beautifully manicured gardens (kids loved the geese)
Cons: The stream had quite a lot of rubbish flowing down it (probably not the hotels fault)
Location: A bit out of the way and you can't just hail a cab
The kids loved this hotel. A little out of the way for some as you can't really walk anywhere of interest. You have to plan a day in advance to take advantage of the shuttle to Ubud. Once you have hired a driver it's fine. The room was a good choice for a family with two young children and the staff were very friendly. Every day when the beds were made the kids had a giggle because their stuffed toys were arranged differently. The pool was a welcome sight at the end of each day. The ponds and gardens were beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by putu, Hotel Management
Dearest Rach, warm greetings from Santi Mandala Villa & Spa Thank you for your review. Sincerely, Putu (Mr)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb!!!

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Excellent place for couples and families must visit and the hotel staff were very hospitable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by putu, Hotel Management
Dearest valued customer, warm greetings from Santi Mandala Villa & Spa Thank you for your review. Sincerely, Putu (Mr)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by catharina from monaco

I came there for quietness it was wonderful

Posted Mar 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
As I mentioned to you already the place was wonderful I hope to go back next year and I am telling all my friends how I enjoyed staying at Santi Mandala.It was a cure for me,
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2013 by Ken, Hotel Management
Dearest Catharina, warm greetings from Santi Mandala Villa & Spa Thank you for your review. Sincerely, Ken (Mr)
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jun

It's ok

Posted Jan 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great service and great place but the food was so bad we decided not to eat the free buffet breakfast after the first night. These people cut some serious corners web it comes to produce and cooking. The breakfast juice was like syrup and the milk it UHT, the fruit all not ripe and everything was glazed in butter or oil. Very greasy food!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2013 by Ken, Hotel Management
Dearest Jun, warmest greetings from Santi Mandala Villa & Spa Thank you for your review. Sincerely, Ken (Mr)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by T&J54

Satisfying Spa

Posted Dec 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
Quick 3 nights in Bali as part of program to attend a friends wedding. Meet all expectation of a relaxing countryside retreat. Lots of green and room balcony open up to a welcoming village scene bath in the morning sun. Breakfast is simple but adequate and followed by 3 mornings of consecutive massage and spa which were well done & rejuvenating. Room slightly in need of more attention & scrubbing but not dirty. Good value and just right for the standard of service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MIke from Perth, AU

Second Time There - Menu and Food Greatly Improved

Posted Nov 29, 2012
Pros: The whole staff knew my name!
Location: Outside of Ubud. Very lush, very quiet!
This was our second stay at the resort, as we returned due to the excellent stay we had last year. The difference from our last stay to this stay was positive. Our only gripe last year was the quality of the food in the restaurant - which we found to be too salty and the menu selection was too little. This year, the quality of the food has greatly improved and the menu selection had greatly expanded. As before, the staff was friendly, the resort beautiful, and most important for us, everything was peaceful. This is where you want to go if you desire a quiet, peaceful, tranquil holiday. Certainly not for the person looking for a party scene. With the small amount of villas at the resort, the staff all call you by your name as there are never too many guests - the the service was outstanding. Certainly one of my favorites - and would recommend to anyone interested in a quiet, relaxing and beautiful place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Magical Place

Posted Sep 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed at Santi Mandala four days and i have to say it is a Magical place to be. Starting from the service quality, friendlines, hospitality, cleaniness to the beautiful hotel layout. The hotel is 20 min away from Ubud center, but that wasnt a problem since the hotel offers a schuttle every couplemof hours. We stayed at one of their romantic pool villas and the place was fantastic. Furniture almost brand new, the place was very well built and everything is available in the room. We would stay an entire day inside the Villa and enjoy our time to the max. Its the perfect honemoon place! :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

AMAZING if you're looking for a getaway

Posted Apr 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Santi Mandala is a beautiful riverside oasis in the middle of nowhere. There is little that is interesting anywhere close to the resort, and Ubud is a good 30-minute drive away. That being said, if you are looking for a romantic or relaxing getaway, there are few better places to recharge your batteries. The Santi Mandala is built overlooking and straddling a jungle river. The resort feels like something out of an Indiana Jones movie, with two small shrines/temples embedded within the premises -- the people who built the place went far to replicate Balinese "substance" even more than simply "style". The walk towards the spa, down into the river canyon offers views of cliffs and a waterfall that was simply spectacular. The staff is friendly and competent -- it was hands down the best service we had in Bali -- and have a very traditional, friendly and relaxed vibe to them. The restaurant serves tasty, solid fare -- which is a good thing considering how remote the resort actually is. The "room" we stayed in had three parts: (1) a outdoors courtyard where the (modern and clean) bathroom facilities were located; (2) a "cottage" that was built over a fish + lily pond on stilts; and (3) a balcony overlooking the pond and the entire river complex. Some people might be freaked out by the whole "outdoor bathroom" thing, but it works pretty well. Being in a fully-enclosed courtyard, you have as much privacy as you want, and the entire facility is EXTREMELY clean. Make sure you take walks up and down the river beyond resort boundaries, and you'll feel like one of the anthropologists who frequented Bali during the 1930s. The locals are extremely friendly -- indeed, a bunch of the hotel staff seemed to hail from adjacent villages. They were fishing and playing in the river. Scenes of traditional Bali that you would never see in a place like Kuta. I'd strongly recommend Santi Mandala if you're looking for a place to relax, either alone or with a significant other. It is NOT a good place if you're looking for evening entertainment or for a good place to bring kids. But if you're looking to recharge your batteries, I can think of few better places.