Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cotswolds

Lovely 16th Century Hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: The Room. The Food. The Setting.
Cons: More brightly lit paths to satellite Rooms. Food deliveries!
Location: Well tucked away but close enough for Gatwick Airport.
Lovely room. Very nice Dinner, although pricey. Hotel made a near embarrassing error with Dinner bill by including Afternoon Tea on same bill that my guest was going to pay! Poorly lit paths to satellite Rooms. No Yoghurt at Breakfast due to late delivery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely old building.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Hand shower attachment was missing.
Chosen for its closeness to Gatwick airport, but not disturbed by plane noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by ChrisRfrom Winchester

Fantastic jewel in the Gatwick crown

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent service and a real find just right to stay before departing from Gatwick airport. Excellent breakfast
3 out of 5
by Julienfrom Noosa Heads QLD AUS

Disappointing experience.

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Building and evening meal
Cons: Most things other than food which was excellent.
Location: Gatwick airport is close. . .
Beautiful old building, strange room configuration. Arrived in rain on a Sunday pm. couldn't have tea as there was no room for residents! Room was dark and cold, had to turn on the heating. Huge bathroom with strange canopied bath! Brilliant evening meal. . . but weird dining room with sliding doors to the kitchen. Whole experience was just satisfactory but not really value for money. Disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet retreat!

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful gardens surronding this fine English manor
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Blueskyfrom Worcestershire

Wonderful alternative to local airport hotels

Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Booked in last minute paying a few pounds more than the usual, tired and rather unexciting airport hotels, and hoping for a peaceful change. Delighted I did - worth every penny. I was upgraded to the wonderful Bodiam room/suite and enjoyed a terrific tasting menu in the excellent restaurant. The is simply a wonderful alternative to staying at those dreary on-airport hotels....and makes going away a real pleasure. Staff were all wonderful and the gardens and grounds were beautiful and peaceful in the morning sunshine. Just a word of caution.....it's not easy to find and unfortunately my SatNav took me down a pot-holed track to get there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ibofrom London

Absolutely stunning place

Posted Jul 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel itself was a stunning old building, with very helpful and friendly staff, perfect for a romantic getaway, will defanately be staying there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Corplayerfrom Sydney

Charming, comfortable and high standard

Posted May 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed for one night and enjoyed our stay very much. It was a short taxi ride from Gatwick airport, but set in a super quiet country setting. The service was excellent, the rooms clean and the beds exceptionally comfortable, We ate in the dining room at night, overlooking the pond of ducks and manicured English gardens. The food was of exceptional quality matched with the service. We highly rate and recommend this gorgeous hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2013 on Hotels.com