Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent uk

nice hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2015
staff and hotel very good only bad points was could not get a drink after 12pm if i hadnt linked my room to a credit card which i found a bit silly i had cash in my pocket and had left my wallet at home by accident so i had to ask a friend to buy the drinks which was embarasing thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for the confusion whilst trying to attain a drink after 12pm. This will be reviewed immediately.Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the staff. I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from 日本

Posted Jul 3, 2015
フロントは歴史ある館だが、客室は増築された近代的な建物で、快適に過ごせた。 アクセスは最寄り駅から離れているので、車かタクシーを使う必要がある。
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maidenhead

Didn't meet expectations

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: The spa, although a bit dated, has a simple pool, good sauna, and slightly smelly steam room. The toiletries provided in-room are excellent
Cons: The room just isn't worth the premium you're paying, even more so when the AC doesn't work, and no coffee 'maker'.
Location: Camberley has good dining options. We chose the Thai Bright Kitchen, Frimley Road, although 1.5miles away, worth a visit. Decent well priced food.
We arrived for our relaxing stay at the start of their evening wedding fair. The car park was full, and didn't start us off on the best footing. No note of the fair was made when we booked. Our room AC was not functioning, which for a Hotel of this standard was unacceptable. A room fan was provided, but it still made for an uncoomfortable night. We were in room 40. Next door (41) was allocated between 5-9pm for showing groups of prospective guests around, so we constantly had other groups in the corridor outside our room with the door opening and closing often- other rooms were available to the hotel. With the hotel being so busy with non-residents, and substantial noise, we were forced to go out for dinner, so cannot comment on the food. Another point of note is that Expedia describe a coffee/tea maker in-room. Disappointed to find this is a kettle and sachets of coffee, just like The Travelodge down the road. The room is nothing special and for 60 pounds cheaper you'll get a similar room elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2015 by Stephen Allison, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion and for the shortfall in standards. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of extending you a warm welcome back in the near future. Regards, Stephen Allison, General Manager.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Weekend away

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Great location, very pretty, fantastic history to the hotel. Staff very friendly and seemed to want to please.
Cons: Quality of customer service, should be top class in such a hotel and setting. Not using a room the size of a hotel linen cupboard as a guest bedroom
Location: Driving around Sunninghill, Sunningdale, Ascot, Bagshot, on a sunny day very pretty.
Very pretty hotel and location. Check in was efficient and friendly. Room was so tiny, in the corner of a corridor with no name, No 215, with just 1mtr around the bed in which to move around the room, very very poky, dark, tired, a depressing room, it looked like the size of a hotel linen store cupboard in a previous life and had been converted into it a guest bedroom? Sat in the lounge waiting to be served after check in, lounge was messy, tables full of used afternoon teas, no staff came for 30mins even bough I had asked for an order to be taken, so went out in the sunshine into the garden. Took a further 45 mins to order a sandwich and flat white coffee ( both very nice ) then a further 20mins for them to arrive. Couldn't eat in the restaurant for dinner even though we were staying because it was full, drove around for 20mins to find somewhere nice to eat, but almost had to settle for Pizza Express before on last attempt found a nice little restaurant 20 mins from hotel. The waiter running the bar in the evening on our return did not know what a flat white coffee was so I couldn't have one, had a glass of water instead! Took 20mins before someone took our Sunday breakfast order, took a further 30 mins to arrive and wasn't exactly what I had ordered which seemed to be a common problem, a bit chaotic. Lovely hotel, needs some attention to detail on service, could be amazing by incorporating a really good training programme for staff to deliver superb service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls in service experienced on this occasion. Be assured that this is certainly not reflective of the normal standards of service associated with Frimley Hall. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of extending you a warm welcome back in the near future. Regards, Stephen Allison, General Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2015
An enjoyable stay in pleasant surroundings. The room was very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of extending you a warm welcome back in the near future. Regards, Stephen Allison, General Manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by PAUL from Manchester

Wedding 25th April 2015

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
Bar in main wedding room under staffed. Went to residents bar ( we were staying as residents for 3 nights ) and was told we had to use the bar in the wedding room. Double Vodka and 200ml bottle of coke - £11.20. 12% Service Charge if they brought your drinks to your table. Outrageous. Apart from that a wonderful weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Whilst I was pleased to note you had a wonderful weekend, I was sorry to read your comments regarding the bar service and pricing. I have asked my Operations Manager to review the staffing scenario to ensure that this type of situation is not repeated. In terms of pricing, we continually check the local 4 star hotel competitor set to ensure that our prices are competitive. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of extending you a warm welcome back in the near future. Regards, Stephen Allison, General Manager.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Dissapointing overall

Posted Apr 16, 2015
I searched for hotels near Bracknell with double rooms only as I did not want a twin. I found the Macdonald Frimley hotel and booked it as there were double rooms available. The rate I paid was £141.00. On arrival I checked in and was given my room key. On the accompanying card it mentioned a rate of £109.50. When I asked the receptionist why the rate was showing as £109.50 on the card I was told I had been given a twin room as there were no executive doubles available. If I hadn't asked I would have not have been told about the rate difference. As I was extremely tired after a long drive from Manchester I decided to stay in the twin room. I asked that I be provided with a complimentary breakfast as I had paid a higher rate than the cost of the room provided. I was told this would be OK and that a note about this would be left for the morning staff. Should I have had to ask? Surely this should have been offered to me for the inconvenience alone. After going to the room I tried to get to sleep. However, the air conditioning unit - which was switched off - came on 3 times during the night and was so loud it woke me up. Each time I checked that the unit was off, the red "off" LED was showing, the display showed "off" but it kept coming on. Then at 4am the TV switched itself on, again waking me up - the remote control was on the opposite side of the room. Upon checkout there was no note for the morning staff about the free breakfast so I had to explain again what had happened.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere aplogies for the shortfalls in quality and standards experienced on this occasion and be assured that this is not reflective of the normal standards associated with Frimley Hall. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of extending you a warm welcome back in the near future. Regards, Stephen Allison, General Manager.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2015
I wouldn't stay here again, the breakfast was poor and the service not great either. Especially frustrating was that call point on the barrier for the car park is broken and I sat there for five minutes trying to get through to someone to get out. There was no sign saying it was broken and when I went in to the hotel to get let out they didn't seem particularly bothered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you found breakfast overall was poor and indeed the issues experienced with the exit gate. Please accept my sincere apologies. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of extending you a warm welcome back in the near future. Regards, Stephen Allison, General Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

pleasant and comfortable hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2015
helpful and friendly staff - would stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and kind comments. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great family retreat

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
Family weekend break to celebrate a birthday. Staff were excellent and very friendly helpful at all times. Not cheap with breakfast extra but food very good. A great place for a weekend break!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review and kind comments. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your Birthday Celebrations. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to extend you a warm welcome back in the future.