Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Falling apart. Staff couldn't be bothered

Posted Aug 19, 2014
For the first hour after arrival outside tables littered with bottles, glasses, half eaten chicken skewers. We were advised that this was de to a wedding. Do other guests really have to have their stay compromised, is it really too much to ask for basic cleanliness? Eventually after complaining the litter was cleared but to clean the tables was too much to ask, there was still ash present when we finally sat down. We attempted to order afternoon tea, upon asking the waiter for a menu, he wrote down on his notepad "menu"... I could go on but I think this should really sum this place up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Comfortable quiet and pleasant place to stay

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Peaceful location,good parking, property with character. Good breakfast with very pleasant waitress serving us.
Cons: Soft furnishing in the bedroom tired and worn. Bar area very small
Comfortable place to stop an hour from our final destination after a seven hour drive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Bit fusty.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Comfy bed, albeit only a single.
Cons: Bit of a freshen up .
Location: Can't comment as didnt stay long enough.
Not fair to judge hotel as a whole as only stayed one night, arriving half an hour before dining room closed and leaving early (pre-breakfast). However, comments on what I did experience are that; as a late midweek booking could only get a twin room instead of double. Room was ok but smelt very musty, not damp, just old and worn. Bed was however, very comfortable. Restaurant only had one other diner so lacked atmosphere, plenty of people eating snacks at the bar though. Food was fine and staff pleasant. Overall wasn't anything exceptional but fitted all that I needed for the duration of my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simon from City of London

Don't be fooled by pictures of the old front

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Truly delightful staff. Close to Ascot. Huge baths and plenty of hot water - that was an unexpected treat!
Cons: Find a bigger place to put the bar. Please!
Location: Close to Ascot. And M3 & M4.
All in all, a genuinely nice hotel which is really trying hard. Great old main building. Delightful staff. BUT: just too many (perfectly decent, clean and well appointed) rooms recently-ish built around the old Hall. So, the bar is woefully inadequate (sits 20 on a good night) and breakfast, though tasty, is an industrial conveyor belt experience - due simply to lack of space. It's perfect for a one-night post-Ascot stay but I wouldn't spend a special occasion here. As if to make the point - you have you walk outside to get to the Spa. Not good for the ladies.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Service poor, food average and had to go to reception 3 times to ask for a bottle of water they had promised and no hot water on second day and not even an apology.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by JoMo from London

Worst room service I've ever experienced.

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Inedible caesar salad - limp lettuce with some dollops of mayo which took over an hour of my first phoning room service to arrive. No good alternatives near enough to walk. Reasonably comfortable room and bed but looking tired. Not recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Wickedlb from chester

Service?

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel has no lift, it has a gorgeous dog leg ornate staircase in reception but unfortunately this is very difficult to negotiate with a large suitcase - my stay was for 3 nights therefore I had a large suitcase. No member of staff offered to take my bags to the room, and not only did I have to negotiate the dog leg staircase there were further stairs to the room. On the morning of check-out the staff watched on as I dragged my suitcase down the gorgeous dog leg ornate staircase. The TV in the room turned itself on at 4am, clearly the alarm feature must have been set by a previous guest. The staff looked completely amazed when I told them to look at the TV because it had turned on at 4am on two consecutive mornings. During the stay the weather was cold, wet and windy and the room was cold, I tried the air-con at 28degrees but it blew out cold air, I rang reception to ask for advice on working the air-con it took several minutes for them to answer, in fact I put the phone down and started to unpack my suitcase, that's how long it took. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and probably ideal as a wedding venue so I wouldn't want to do it an injustice, but it is 4* and for that I expect 4* service all the time, that is their job.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I never would of known a lovely hotel was situated in that location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Worcester

Elegant Hotel

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Frimley Hall Hotel is a very picturesque hotel, complete with lovely mature gardens, a relaxing environment and elegant buildings. The staff are efficient and friendly and the food good. It is a great place to stay either for a business trip or for a weekend of leisure. I would throroughly recommend it as a venue of choice