Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Comfortable quiet and pleasant place to stay

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Peaceful location,good parking, property with character. Good breakfast with very pleasant waitress serving us.
Cons: Soft furnishing in the bedroom tired and worn. Bar area very small
Comfortable place to stop an hour from our final destination after a seven hour drive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Bit fusty.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Comfy bed, albeit only a single.
Cons: Bit of a freshen up .
Location: Can't comment as didnt stay long enough.
Not fair to judge hotel as a whole as only stayed one night, arriving half an hour before dining room closed and leaving early (pre-breakfast). However, comments on what I did experience are that; as a late midweek booking could only get a twin room instead of double. Room was ok but smelt very musty, not damp, just old and worn. Bed was however, very comfortable. Restaurant only had one other diner so lacked atmosphere, plenty of people eating snacks at the bar though. Food was fine and staff pleasant. Overall wasn't anything exceptional but fitted all that I needed for the duration of my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simon from City of London

Don't be fooled by pictures of the old front

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Truly delightful staff. Close to Ascot. Huge baths and plenty of hot water - that was an unexpected treat!
Cons: Find a bigger place to put the bar. Please!
Location: Close to Ascot. And M3 & M4.
All in all, a genuinely nice hotel which is really trying hard. Great old main building. Delightful staff. BUT: just too many (perfectly decent, clean and well appointed) rooms recently-ish built around the old Hall. So, the bar is woefully inadequate (sits 20 on a good night) and breakfast, though tasty, is an industrial conveyor belt experience - due simply to lack of space. It's perfect for a one-night post-Ascot stay but I wouldn't spend a special occasion here. As if to make the point - you have you walk outside to get to the Spa. Not good for the ladies.
3 out of 5
by phil from b aberdeen

All a bit dated and tired

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Dinner menu limited and 2 outif4 people sent back meals. Room service meal burnt. Breakfast good and most staff friendly. Had higher expectations and generally all a bit tired and dated. Not hot water for shower
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from Ryde IOW

Excellent stay over Christmas

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: Local to family, dog friendly, friendly helpful staff, comfortable and clean room
We enjoyed staying here over Christmas, it was very close to our family and they are dog friendly which was another reason we chose this hotel. We will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by NP from LONDON

Comfy beds and great customer service!

Posted Nov 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
stayed at this hotel in November 2013 for a week: location was easy to find and staff were very helpful. room was good with a mini fridge and free wifi access was readily available which was a plus. only downside was the gym and spa were in a separate building which doesnt help when its raining/ cold outside! breakfast was slightly dear, however it was very good. overall: very pleased with my stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Fgeorg from Surrey

Good and bad

Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff were welcoming and pleasant and the hotel itself have some charm and a good swimming pool . The bed was comfy, but the room was very small and cramped, basic looking with no character and in need for a up lift. I was not expecting that for a 4* hotel, We stayed in room 80 and a very noisy fan near us that you can hear all night. The Breakfast was excellent and couldn't be faulted. I will not stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Good weekend
4 out of 5
Recommended
by GRAHAM from WILTSHIRE

Lovely Setting

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Clean and comfortable room, lovely setting, friendly staff, and good size pool. Our only minor disappointment was the breakfast. Tip is to get to the restaurant early, and fill yourself on the continental buffet as the cooked breakfast portions were relatively small.