Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not enough space for its guests

Posted Oct 17, 2014
No room in tea room or bar for lunch. Unable to get a reservation for dinner. Room walls extremely thin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with character.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Character and staff
Welcoming looking hotel with a nice atmosphere. Rooms quite basic. Some areas of hotel need updating but overall enjoyable stay. Staff very helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Falling apart. Staff couldn't be bothered

Posted Aug 19, 2014
For the first hour after arrival outside tables littered with bottles, glasses, half eaten chicken skewers. We were advised that this was de to a wedding. Do other guests really have to have their stay compromised, is it really too much to ask for basic cleanliness? Eventually after complaining the litter was cleared but to clean the tables was too much to ask, there was still ash present when we finally sat down. We attempted to order afternoon tea, upon asking the waiter for a menu, he wrote down on his notepad "menu"... I could go on but I think this should really sum this place up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom scotland

Comfortable quiet and pleasant place to stay

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Peaceful location,good parking, property with character. Good breakfast with very pleasant waitress serving us.
Cons: Soft furnishing in the bedroom tired and worn. Bar area very small
Comfortable place to stop an hour from our final destination after a seven hour drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Bit fusty.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Comfy bed, albeit only a single.
Cons: Bit of a freshen up .
Location: Can't comment as didnt stay long enough.
Not fair to judge hotel as a whole as only stayed one night, arriving half an hour before dining room closed and leaving early (pre-breakfast). However, comments on what I did experience are that; as a late midweek booking could only get a twin room instead of double. Room was ok but smelt very musty, not damp, just old and worn. Bed was however, very comfortable. Restaurant only had one other diner so lacked atmosphere, plenty of people eating snacks at the bar though. Food was fine and staff pleasant. Overall wasn't anything exceptional but fitted all that I needed for the duration of my stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Vinnyjonesfrom Stone

Not met expectations

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is a bit run down especially when leaving the lobby. Rooms are very basic and breakfast is extortionate. £19.50 for one sausage and two bits of bacon, took an hour to arrive and then it was cold. Could have driven to Wetherspoons for an awesome £6 massive fry up and got back in that time too. Not worth the money, room or breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by David Lewisfrom Cambridge

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant couple of days. Staff were very courteous and pleasant.We would particularly like to thank your restaurant manager. He was unfailingly helpful, courteous and professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simonfrom City of London

Don't be fooled by pictures of the old front

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Truly delightful staff. Close to Ascot. Huge baths and plenty of hot water - that was an unexpected treat!
Cons: Find a bigger place to put the bar. Please!
Location: Close to Ascot. And M3 & M4.
All in all, a genuinely nice hotel which is really trying hard. Great old main building. Delightful staff. BUT: just too many (perfectly decent, clean and well appointed) rooms recently-ish built around the old Hall. So, the bar is woefully inadequate (sits 20 on a good night) and breakfast, though tasty, is an industrial conveyor belt experience - due simply to lack of space. It's perfect for a one-night post-Ascot stay but I wouldn't spend a special occasion here. As if to make the point - you have you walk outside to get to the Spa. Not good for the ladies.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Service poor, food average and had to go to reception 3 times to ask for a bottle of water they had promised and no hot water on second day and not even an apology.