Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michelle from Kent

Great location

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: location
Location: shops, restaurants, antiques within walking distance. Box Hill for walkers/cyclists no more than a few miles away.
The hotel is right on the high street in Dorking so not far to walk to shops, cafes etc. The staff were very friendly and the rooms ok - although we were in an annex at the back of the hotel so not in the the older parts where there is more character.
Comment from
Jan 4, 2014
Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at The White Horse in Dorking Kind Regards Ed Cooper Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Caroline from Molesey

fun night away

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The hotel is full of character and is decorated in keeping with its age. There is an open fire and its very cosy.
Cons: Due to its age there are some 'wear and tear' items but if you are not fussy these seem to fit the character of the hotel.
Location: The hotel is located on the main high street and has plenty of car parking. There are lots of antique shops and Box HIll a short drive a way.
A group of 7 ladies wanting a night away but close to home, we selected the White Horse in Dorking for somewhere comfortable, affordable and secure. The hotel was quaint, full of character and extremely cosy. Two rooms were in the older part of the buidling full of staircases and creaking floors and one of the rooms was in the new part a lot less character but quieter. We had drinks at the bar before a gorgeous value for money meal at the South Street wine bar and then back to the hotel around midnight. Staff were still present and friendly despite the hour. We all slept well though the rooms in the old building were very hot. Checked out in the morning without breakfast for a quick shop in Dorking and then back to the kids!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pyrford surrey

Bathroom needs updating

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Staff friendly,very helpful.quite expensive for a bad shower and hearing the tank and someone in the bath next door. Expensive without breakfast included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Penny from Solihull

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visiting friends in Dorking

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Very friendly staff
Cons: Décor of room (in main house) a bit tired and dated.
Location: Excellent location in the middle of the High Street
Radiator in bedroom not working so was cold at night and the internet wasn't working throughout the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fussydoll from Manchester

Nice hotel, convenient location

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: Excellent breakfast and reasonable if booked the night before. Staff were really helpful and courteous. Bed comfortable ( and I'm fussy!).
Cons: Condition of main building was much in need of an overhaul.
Location: Right in the centre of Dorking, great location walking distance from stations.
Stayed overnight whilst visiting family, staff were very helpful, hotel a bit shabby and tired, could be amazing.
2 out of 5
by John from Sydney

Chinese water torture

Posted May 15, 2013
Pros: Parking, staff, cleanliness
Cons: Water noise and wifi cost
Location: Centre of town
Room clean and fine. Hotel overall good. Staff in restaurant very friendly. But hotel charges £15 a day for wifi - exorbitant. Also the sound of water dripping incessantly robbed us of sleep, like Chinese water torture. Only a few channels on TV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jim from london

Location and car parking good.

Posted May 7, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: small room
Location: on main street
Excellent location in centre of town. Plenty of on site car parking. IndividuaIistic rooms in the old part of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Quaint coaching inn

Posted Apr 6, 2013
Pros: The olde worlde feel
Cons: Bathroom tired
Location: Good central location for Dorking and especially Dorking halls
Very pleasant overnight stay suited our need for a base close to Dorking halls. My Daughter was attending a gig there and it was short walk which meant I could sample the bar while she saw Enter Shikari in all their glory! Very warm welcome and good customer service will come again if in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adam from Doncaster

A comfortable hotel in a great location

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel interior is a little dated and some of the older rooms suffer from a slight lack of maintenance but overall the service is very good and the rooms are comfortable. It is perfectly located in the centre of Dorking and with secure parking you couldn't wish for a better base of operations while you see the local sites.