Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

central hotel in Dorking

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Central town location
Cons: Makeover - see above
Location: Lovely countryside and plenty of walks. Unfortunately Dorking is a pretty mediocre town - traffic is an issue.
Needs a makeover, rather tired as were the staff. Room was a superior but very small and would not rate it as such. Staff were short at breakfast and several people complained. Come on Mercure you need to live up to your mission statement (or perhaps sell this one to get it off your portfolio).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Leslie from Torquay

My opinion

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
Room rather tired with cracked sink. Location excellent, breakfast excellent.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Adrian from Dorking

Needs a refresh

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Nice room overlooking high street. Sadly it was noisy both from outside and inside (near to ladies powder room). Cleanliness issues in bathroom and towels had seen better days. Bed linen and bed comfort good. Breakfast offered good choice of fruit, cereals, pastries and buffet style cooked foods. Restaurant staff helpful. Overall didn't offer value for the price paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Courtney from Crewe

Exactly what was needed

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel. Excellent service and right in the centre of Dorking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jo from Moreton

Positive

Posted Jan 31, 2015 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay . Very clean & friendly good value four money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Good hotel, good price.

Posted Jan 27, 2015
I needed a bed for the night as working away. Second time I've stayed here, its good clean basic accomodation, nice and quite and the bed was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice character hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Character and location.
Cons: Slightly more efficient heating system but appreciate this is an old building.
Location: Great location to explore Dorking and the nearby Surrey Hills.
Very pleasant atmosphere and whilst not as up top date as other hotels we've stayed in it makes up for this with it's character and charm. Very good value, excellent location and parking. Excellent breakfast and staff very polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gill from Dorset

Central and historic

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels
A Saturday night stay to visit family and friends. Excellent central location, interesting and historic building, friendly staff and a good atmosphere. Very quiet in the bar on Saturday night (but it was early January!) Good breakfast in an equally quiet restaurant the following morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Ideal for a short break

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Just about everything. Suggestions for improvement are 'nit picking'.
Cons: Better quality toilet paper Wider range of draft beers Unusual spelling of Rice Krispies
Location: We went to see the pantomime at Dorking Halls. Otherwise we know little about the area, but would like to explore.
Very satisfied with the hotel for a one night stay. We would certainly book again if we have reason to be in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rena from Somerset

Romantic coaching inn

Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels
An adorable coaching inn in a lovely town. Due to its age the floors creaked which was very noisey at times. Apart from that we loved our stay in this very atmospheric hotel. The staff were lovely, very helpful and recommend the restaurant which had a good selection of food at reasonable prices.