Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michelle from Kent

Great location

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: location
Location: shops, restaurants, antiques within walking distance. Box Hill for walkers/cyclists no more than a few miles away.
The hotel is right on the high street in Dorking so not far to walk to shops, cafes etc. The staff were very friendly and the rooms ok - although we were in an annex at the back of the hotel so not in the the older parts where there is more character.
Comment from
Jan 4, 2014
Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at The White Horse in Dorking Kind Regards Ed Cooper Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Caroline from Molesey

fun night away

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The hotel is full of character and is decorated in keeping with its age. There is an open fire and its very cosy.
Cons: Due to its age there are some 'wear and tear' items but if you are not fussy these seem to fit the character of the hotel.
Location: The hotel is located on the main high street and has plenty of car parking. There are lots of antique shops and Box HIll a short drive a way.
A group of 7 ladies wanting a night away but close to home, we selected the White Horse in Dorking for somewhere comfortable, affordable and secure. The hotel was quaint, full of character and extremely cosy. Two rooms were in the older part of the buidling full of staircases and creaking floors and one of the rooms was in the new part a lot less character but quieter. We had drinks at the bar before a gorgeous value for money meal at the South Street wine bar and then back to the hotel around midnight. Staff were still present and friendly despite the hour. We all slept well though the rooms in the old building were very hot. Checked out in the morning without breakfast for a quick shop in Dorking and then back to the kids!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pyrford surrey

Bathroom needs updating

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Staff friendly,very helpful.quite expensive for a bad shower and hearing the tank and someone in the bath next door. Expensive without breakfast included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Penny from Solihull

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The superior room picture (4 poster bed) wasn't what we had. That was a disappointment. Maybe the alternative superior rooms should be shown on the website, and the fact that the hotel only has three four poster beds be made known.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very good car park for such a central location, loads of room. Glad to see the check out is at midday,not like a lot of hotels now a days at 11.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visiting friends in Dorking

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Very friendly staff
Cons: D├ęcor of room (in main house) a bit tired and dated.
Location: Excellent location in the middle of the High Street
Radiator in bedroom not working so was cold at night and the internet wasn't working throughout the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Decent and convenient

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
No issues, not cheap but my room was comfortable and well-equipped with fridge, iron etc. A clock radio would have been nice.