Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Close to airport, public transport that takes it to and from airport. The restaurant and bard are okay for drinks, but the dinner menu is very limited
Big old house, small room, old smelly carpet, old and very uncomfortable mattress. Expect to carry your own baggage upstairs. Also, mind that the bus service is not run by the hotel, as it may appear, but it is public transportation, so expect to have cash on you to pay for tickets. Expect noise in the hallways at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Remote,wonderful old hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2014
The Russ Hill Hotel was truly a wonderful, multicultural experience. Travelers from all over the world in this large, off the beaten track hotel. Great meal, quiet room...overall, a unique experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2014
no problems, clean tidy room, slightly tired decor, but great food and staff, parking a bit of an issue but young lad in car park very helpful in organising it,all staff very nice but he went the extra mile to help well done to him
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely old manor type with wood panels everywhere.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The look, the staff and the food.
Cons: Bar not open at lunchtime so no food either.
Location: Gatwick Airport shuttle so very handy
Great ambiance, food good, staff wonderful. Enjoyed my two stays and would certainly go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire

Great hotel for a flying visit to the area

Posted Aug 9, 2014
We stayed here whilst attending a wedding nearby, we booked really last minute (at 5pm to stay that night) and got a great rate. Yes, the hotel may be older and not a boutique hotel but friendly staff and clean rooms were great. Ample parking too. All I would say is be prepared for people coming and going at all hours due to being close to Gatwick, and some of them are inconsiderate letting doors slam at all hours. Would definitely stay again if we were needing a hotel in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

needs a revamp not very comfortable and dated

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Very dated and basic not really worth the prices, standards less than that at some of the motorway hotels, poor internet connection that can only be accessed in the lobby/reception. Caters very much for the airport and people moving around can be heard all night. The rooms are dated and the windows are a poor barrier to the noise of the planes. I wouldn't recommend for a family.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com