Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Johnfrom Canada

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Ambers Guest House is well located close to Gatwick and a 10 minute walk to the train station for trains into London. I was disappointed that I could not receive a shuttle from the airport upon my arrival so I had to walk along way to the taxi pickup and pay 5 pounds fare. The website should clearly stare that an email advising the hotel of arrival time and requesting their shuttle are required. The breakfast was excellent and staff were helpful for local facilities and transport. WIFI worked well. However the rooms were dusty and carpets not vacuumed. A small desk and chair in the room would have improved comfort greatly. It is an old building without noise insulation so any noise at all can be heard from adjoining rooms or rooms above, interrupting sleep when the hotel is occupied.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Buona soluzione economica

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Struttura pulita, ben mantenuta. Camera discretamente confortevole (letto piccolo). La navetta da e per l'aereoporto è a orari limitati, al di fuori dei quali occorre prenotare un taxi (costo 5 sterline). Colazione 3/5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Teija

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by carolfrom Cambridge

Awful

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Awful experience. Stayed because we had early flight from gatwick. Didn't get any sleep at all. Room was tiny and toilets had noisy macerators and walls paper thin. Room was dirty festoons of cobwebs above bed, carpet dirty. Bed linen smelt of chips. Power failed for about half an hour. No breakfast even though paid for it. No free lift to airport. Read the small print free transfer only for about 3 hours a day, no cooked breakfast before 7.30. Continental only by arrangement which we had done, you can see dining room but you can't get to it and staff we met were surly and uncooperative. Not sure how they get away with their listing. To top it all when we flew back in at 2 in the morning car was blocked in by a car and a van ..42 point turn in the dark and cold, took forever A miserable start and end to our holidays..thanks!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Family vacation stay

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Staffs are nice and helpful.
Cons: Nothing
We had stayed 2 nights at the guest house for family vacation. The house room is so tiny; it is not comfortable level small for both the room and bathroom. The guest house may suit a personal traveling or business, but it is not for a family vacation. I do not recommend for a family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ulf Sanned

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bra läge om man vill vara nära centrum, man kan promenera till alla begivenheter,svårt med parkering i hotellområdet.Bra bemötande,god frukost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by FilmCrewfrom London

Good location. Good place to stay

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice, comfortable. Good breakfast. Convenient for Gatwick!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by LPfrom London

Good place

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean comfortable rooms, good breakfast, easy reach of Gatwick
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Anafrom Mexico

Excelente servicio! El mejor que hemos tenido.

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nos parecio maraviolloso desde el momento en que reservamos. Un trato muy amable por parte de todos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jonfrom Canada

Awesome Ambers Guest House

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed in the Family suite, which was great value, rooms were very clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was full English style and cereal. Plenty of parking. Nice little pub with kids play area just a 3 minute walk down the road. Will be staying here again next time we arrive / leave from Gatwick.