Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Not impressed - noisy and cold

Posted Dec 11, 2011
I had high expectations of this place - I'd past the village and liked it....and I expected a quality inn, but the room was in a courtyard behind the pub - the door opened to outside without a lobby or corridor. Considering it was winter, the heater wasn't turned on, and although the room was fine, and the bed comfortable, the small window at the back was the only light - and that is on a busy road next to the room, so it's noisy (a loose man-hole cover doesn't help). The pub is a bit down-beat, and although I enjoyed my pub grub and open fire, it's a bit disappointing. The shower was more of a lukewarm dribble - taking ages to warm up, and was in danger of coming apart from the wall. Worse was that when I went to return the key in the morning the pub was closed, and when I did eventually get a cleaner to the window - she just gestured that I should 'post' the key through the letter box - so preventing me giving any feedback. Although I had a discount, I think the amount I paid was too much.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Duke of Wellington - Disappointing

Posted Oct 13, 2011 on Hotels.com
The pictures and the reviews gave us high hopes for this stay but the reality was somewhat different. The room had very little natural light. The design, although a good idea had been executed poorly even to the point that the bathroom door had no chance of closing properly. The pub did serve food on the evening when we arrived but we were not told of the times. Consequently, when we finally got to the bar, having settled our newborn down, the kitchen staff had gone home - at least they knew where the nearest takeaway was. Breakfast was cooked to order for a specific time, which was 20 minutes later than we requested. However, there was no attempt to ascertain about breakfast on the second day so when we arrived the whole place was shut! Despite all this the staff were polite and friendly. Clearly the pub is a much better venue than the B&B part of the business. Recommendation - use the pub for a drink; use the Ramada Jarvis over the road for accommodation.
3 out of 5
by Paul from Folkestone,Kent

Not Impressed

Posted Sep 26, 2011
Wi-Fi signal so weak I could not connect for more than a few seconds so not much use at all. towels had seen better days and the heated towel rail in the bathroom was just sitting on top of the toilet. The wooden floor was uneven and loose.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2011 on Hotels.com
the duke of wellington the room was very small,the bathroom was down a stairs,with a very heavy door which was hard to open, there were television wires hanging down and the tv was so high on the wall it was difficuly to see, and also the trafic was very loud and kept us awake,most of the night,also when we did sleep there was arealy loud noise which we didnt have any idea what that was,and we couldnt find any one from the pub in the morning,to tell of our complaints but we couldnt find any one,dont sleep in room 9.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Solihull

The Duke of Wellington

Posted Jun 14, 2011 on Hotels.com
A popular pub in a pretty location. Motel style accommodation off the rear car-park offers a fair degree of comfort. Adequate breakfast. More than satisfactory for a 'pit-stop'.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2011 on Hotels.com