Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Welcoming Guest House - conveniently located.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: size, location, history, staff
We stayed at Lawn Guest House for the last 2 days of a 5 week holiday in the UK. Lawn Guest House was chosen primarily for its location - close to Gatwick Airport. The owner and his family were most welcoming & we were extremely happy with the facility. Our room was clean, comfortable and light. Loved the comfortable chairs and coffee table where we could sit and relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Newcastle upon Tyne

AMAZING SERVICE

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Free wifi Close to a supermarket, post office, phamacy and several restaurants. All information on local amenities was provided in a folder.
This place was simple and the price does not reflect the service. It should have cost more :) We were searching for accommodation close to Gatwick as we had a morning flight. We wanted free wifi, and noticed they included transfer to the airport in the price for staying at the Lawn. On arrival we were met by the most helpful and efficient man who showed us our room, pointed us to the wifi password, local restaurants and shops and left us with parting words on how to contact him if we needed anything. I can't recommend this place highly enough due to their friendly staff, handy location for amenities, and closeness to Gatwick.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CathR from Ruislip, UK

Convenient place for Gatwick airport

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Gatwick North terminal.
Cons: Would be good if someone was on site.
Location: The only reason to go to Horley is if you are flying from Gatwick.
The hotel was easy to find and was a short drive from the North terminal and the long term car parking. When I arrived there was nobody on site and was left talking into an intercom which seemed to be connected to a phone number. At first nobody replied but when I tried again I got through and was buzzed in. I had to lodge the heavy door open with an umbrella stand as I was worried the door would close before I had transferred all my luggage and then I would have to go through the phone business again. The keys for all the guests were laid out in the entrance hall. It felt a bit odd that nobody was around but the manager did arrive later. The room was fine, clean etc. I left very early in the morning, so did not try the breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lucy from toronto

overnight before catching plane

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: close to gatwick
Cons: better shuttle servicewalked thru village and lots of places to eat
clean, convenient, in a nice village close to Gatwick As I left early in the morning, the shuttle had not started yet so had to get a taxi, which turned out to be the car from the hotel, not a proper taxi, still charged me 7 pounds, guess a way of adding costs Place was neat, tidy, little musky, but good value
1 out of 5
by ladybird from London

Terrible shabby and dirty...

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Everything in the room was either broken, burnt or dirty. We intended to stay near Gatwick for 1 overnight stay to catch an early flight. We couldn't sleep all night, the heaters were off. All we were given was a sheet covered by a burnt fleece with holes in it. It was very shabby. The shower door came off by its hooks, it didn't feel clean nor taken care of. The car park was completely full and we almost couldn't park our car there. The receptionist was kind of friendly to leave the keys out by the main door as we arrived after 10pm, but the whole experience was a complete waste of money. I felt uncomfortable, didn't want to touch anything as it felt neglected/dirty and there was no warm welcome in the room. It gave me the impression that nobody really returns to the hotel as it's just a one off stay and they are making money off these types of travellers. More than disappointing to be honest. I wouldn't stay here if it were for free. To give you a balanced review, the only thing that was nice and worked well was the blow dryer from boots (this is not a joke)...
2 out of 5
by Patty from Blackheath, London

Good Clean needed

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Parking facility was good and reasonable
Cons: The room we stayed in, need to be refurbished. Lampshades torrn and dirty, clean carpet needed.
Location: Close to airport
Room 8 was not very clean, and the bathroom has mould, we would stay there again even though we like to support the smaller business when we can
3 out of 5
by punk from brighton

nice location but not really good one

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Cons: wireless connection is horrible.i prefer pay and really connect
Location: another hotels.its really quite place.
they didnt clean our room for 3 days and didnt remind us for that.and usually clean the rooms before afternoon. continential breakfast is nothing for breakfast.its not really bad but not good too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Shropshire

Reasonably priced close to Gatwick

Posted Dec 30, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

The Lawns

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
OK. Hotel looked a bit tired in parts. One of the bedside lamps did not work even with a new bulb and the shades to both lamps were well pastt heir best..
5 out of 5
Recommended
by alun from darlington

Room great

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Due to wrongly booking date the owner was good enough to move my date to the next day so the Hotels aspect of it was not affected. Many thanks