Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sam from london

Lovely the best ever I've been in a long time

Posted Apr 19, 2014
The missus was well impressed I was happy with everything very luxurious if recommend to anyone I'd meet or know
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dawn from Surrey

Wonderful apart from the bed

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Beautiful surroundings and interesting history. Great buffet breakfast.
Cons: Replace the bed.
Location: Park at Silent Pool and walk uphill to the North Down's Way
Great in every way except for a really uncomfortably soft and bouncy bed. As the majority of your hotel stay will be sleeping this is unfortunate. I have to report a terrible nights sleep :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by leanne from Kent

Great night away

Posted Jan 2, 2014
New Years Eve stay was very pleasant. Staff were very helpful and Friday. The room could have done with a bit of a clean as there were brown stains on the wallpaper also the mattress was a little lumpy and may soon need to be changed. Over all though very nice stay and would recommend. We will be going back this year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by leanne from Kent

Great night away

Posted Jan 2, 2014
New Years Eve stay was very pleasant. Staff were very helpful and Friday. The room could have done with a bit of a clean as there were brown stains on the wallpaper also the mattress was a little lumpy and may soon need to be changed. Over all though very nice stay and would recommend. We will be going back this year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by michhick from London

Lovely setting

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comfortable room. Pleasant staff and good swimming pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Over night stay

Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Over all a good hotel with friendly staff. Drinks are over priced otherwise spot on.
3 out of 5
by Heather from London

Nice grounds but VERY disappointing rooms

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: the grounds
Cons: cleaner on the whole bathrooms and update the room. firmer mattresses wider beds
Location: Surrey. lots of walks in the countryside
At first glance as we drove towards the hotel and the grounds looked really impressive. we got into our bedroom and first thing turned the heating on and it didn't work also bed felt very very soft so i called to reception they said all their beds were the same. they would send someone up to look at the radiator. a few minutes later a guy came up but didn't understand why radiator was not working, if it doesn't get hot in 5-10 minutes, call reception again. it didn't get hot and i called reception again. meanwhile we are sitting in this cold room with our luggage not able to do anything really. IT TOOK HALF AN HOUR UNTIL SOMEONE CAME UPSTAIRS WITH ANOTHER SET OF KEYS FOR A DIFFERENT ROOM! This room we were advised had a firmer mattress! (Oh, at first you said all were the same???!!!) I called it a glorified travel lodge room. there was really nothing to it. the bathroom old. no hooks to hang anything and all pretty basic. We did not feel pampered!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Nice hotel in quiet surroundings

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Pros: The building, the grounds, the peace and quiet. Even with two weddings over the two nights we were there it was still a quiet place to stay.
Cons: Areas outside of the room are not particularly inviting. There is comfortable seating but the loop of hotel photos on the tv is monotonous.
Location: There are lots of places of interest to visit nearby.....National Trust properties and beauty spots.
The hotel is suitable for a quiet few days away and exploring the surrounding villages and countryside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by NickS from London

Good value

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely grounds and some really nice rooms around reception. Rooms don't quite fir the luxury of the entrance, dated and could do with some fixing. For the price however this was fine. Great location for exploring the areas around. Staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com