Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from crawley

Absolutely fantastic.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Had an amazing three days away. Hotel was stunning and the gardens were equally beautiful. Swimming pool was lovely as was the food. Only downside was their were no spa treatments as they temporarily didn't have a beauty lady. Other than that it was absolutely supurb
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset

Nice old house converted into hotel

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Impressive building & grounds
Cons: Maintenance of rooms
Impressive building, nice grounds, unfortunately the day we stayed they must have been painting as there was a smell of turps in the corridor. Room comfortable but shower was very poor pressure and hose support broken so kept sliding down. We reported this when we checked out but no note was made and little interest shown so I expect it will stay broken.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from York

Lovely historic baronial mansion hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
Delightful historic hotel in idyllic spot. Lovely modern bathrooms. Breakfast fine, though we would have liked to have seen more fresh fruit.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gary from Colchester

Management should be ashamed!

Posted Mar 13, 2015 on Hotels
The room was disgracefully dirty, and the management should be ashamed. The bed was beyond uncomfortable, the floor was dirty, and the shower actually had mud and grass in it, which I had to wash prior to entering, the alarm went of randomly in the night for about 20 seconds, and other clients felt it okay to chat in the hallways at 12:30am. the food was average and more expensive than a good London Restaurant.I must stay in hotels 80 times a year and this is by far the worst experience, in over a couple of years.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Colin from Northumberland

Bed

Posted Mar 13, 2015 on Hotels
Very comfortable bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anthony from Norwich

Nice setting, management losing focus on detail

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
Room radiator was badly out of shape and made loud knocking noise all night. Staff have been asked for wifi in the restaurant for months and years but nothing ever gets done. Lamb was hurriedly produced, undercooked and chewy, not good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

review

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
The standard double rooms are very basic and the bed was very uncomfortable. Once we upgraded the room was much better and the bed was very comfortable. It's not cheap though
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jan from Surbiton

Great place for a relaxing time off

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel and friendly staff. The only thing I always find strange about hotels in UK is how bad the WIFI is. 1 Mbit in the year 2015?...