Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by AJ from Aberystwyth

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good quality hotel in nice setting. Clean and comfortable rooms with excellent friendly helpful staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Enland

Beautiful building and grounds - but that's it!

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Not overly impressed - hotel it's self was beautiful but staff came across as very 'cool'. Couldn't get a coffee and liqueur after 12.15 at the bar - told we could "make coffee in our room"! Breakfast (full English) served on cold plates! The little things DO matter - so do 'the little people'. We may not be famous but ... Wouldn't recommend it - wouldn't go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ramila from London, England

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Pros: The beautiful grounds
Cons: Nothing!!
Location: Great location
We stayed at the New Hall for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The Hotel's grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed our walk on the woodland path very much. The breakfast was excellent and the Terrace Restaurant was lovely. We enjoyed our dinner there. The most outstanding member of the staff is Tony who gave us a historical tour of the property. His knowledge is amazing. Nothing was too much for him, he was extremely helpful and he made us feel very much at ease. Many thanks, Tony. Great hotel and we will visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by R. Lynn from Longmont, Colorado

Historic hotel with beautiful grounds

Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our family of four stayed here for 2 nights. We had rooms in an adjoining wing to the old manor house. It was very quiet, the rooms were comfortable. We enjoyed the spa facilities and beautiful indoor swimming pool. The grounds are beautiful. The rooms could use some minor repair - carpet, grout, paint, but that didn't interfere with our enjoyment of the New Hall. The breakfast was delicious and located in the old house. The reception staff was EXCELLENT - very helpful, knowledgeable, friendly. We did not eat in the restaurant, other than for the breakfast, as it is expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top break

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Really enjoyable experience, would definitely make a return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK

Luxurious but seriously expensive during your stay

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: the bedroom
Cons: price of food & drinks
Location: about 1/4 mile off the main road in the most idyllic location with a moat surrounding the oldest part of the house
everything at the hotel was amazing and very luxurious. However a Saturday wedding caused rooms not to be ready early for the Sunday wedding we were attending. The options were get ready in the spa - too hot and not private or wait until one room was ready. We got moved from our original room as it was not ready to the room furtherest away from the ceremony and had just 35 minutes to get ready - fine for me but not my partner. A word of caution the food and drinks are extortionate e.g. large glass of wine £10 a bottle £29 (it was a bottle worth £5,99).........bacardi+coke £8.50 I love luxury and it was lovely to stay in a place that the likes of Take That / Robbie Williams stay however I dont have that type of wealth that extends to this level of profitiring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Angela from East Midlands

Beautiful grounds

Posted Jun 17, 2013
A lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds. My only gripes are that it stated on the website, when booking the hotel, no under 18's and there were lots of children and in the hotel guide it said that there was a turn down service with fresh towels and more bottled water, the turn down service did not happen. I would have liked more water as I don't drink tea or coffee. The spa was great, but I would have preferred no children in the pool and spa area. Word of warning. The spa is in a separate building that you must go through the grounds to get to. I didn't know this and wore my fluffy slippers, they ended up filthy, best to take flip flops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Majestic old lady with all mod cons

Posted Jun 14, 2013
Chose this hotel for it's location on a trip to the south west . Beautiful old building excellent spacious rooms and modern bathrooms. Very friendly service . Would certainly use again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Van

Beautiful hotel in beautiful settings

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Gorgeous hotel in gorgeous settings! When you first see the hotel it takes your breath away. We were running late for our spa appointments and the team there were so accommodating and did everything they could to still fit us in. The pool area and sauna/steam room is lovely and sitting out on the terrace for pre-dinner drinks was lovely.