Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Delightful hotel in wonderful setting, but....

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Gardens, terrace, spa (although we didn't use it)
Cons: Dinner food and coffee to be served hot. Instructions to be checked on computer.
Location: Good for National Arboretum - about 35 minutes away.
We stayed in hotel at the end of June as it was a handy venue close to the National Arboretum. The hotel is lovely and it was great to sit out on the terrace and walk round the gardens across the moat. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and bedrooms were nice. There were two complaints though. Firstly, despite the food at dinner being delicious it was served luke warm which spoilt it. The coffee was luke warm too. Secondly, our stay was a treat for my parents staying with us so I had specifically asked for all expenses for both rooms to be put on my bill. Despite me signing for them on my room though, they sent the bill to my parents room! This was very disappointing. They did apologise but the damage was done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Old World Charm

Posted Jun 6, 2015
The grounds around the hotel were beautiful and you can walk inside and out to experience the character and charm of the thousand year old hotel. The hotel staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great stay over for business trip

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Charm
Cons: Seving draught beers in the bar
Location: Great
Great hotel in a superb location. Ideal for any trip to the Midlands
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Durham

Very nice, out of the way hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Ambiance and attentive staff
Cons: Food portions very small for the cost
Location: Out of the way so best to just enjoy the hotel.
Enjoyed the stay very much, hotel and staff were very good. Excellent food but a bit pricey on the full menu.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't enjoy

Posted Apr 18, 2015
I did not enjoy it here at all serves was horrific
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Great old building, friendly helpful staff, delicious food, great room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jeremy from Somerset, UK

A lovely historical place.

Posted Mar 15, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely historical place to stay, comfortable well appointed good size rooms. The dinner and breakfast were very nice, the service could have been a bit more sophisticated for such an establishment - maybe some training is needed?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

New Hall Hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
Breakfast didn't arrive on time! No apology! Difficulty getting drink 2 mins after bar closed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mihnea from Birmingham

Excellent location, amazing service, great hotel!

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
Booked surprise trip for girlfriend to celebrate our 4 year anniversary. The hotel and surroundings are absolutely beautiful. What's more, the food at the restaurant was very nice and the set menu (3 courses for £39) was good value. The staff is very nice, all the way from reception to room cleaning and restaurant. One of the waiters, Bodgan, deserves much praise as he went out of his way to deliver great service and it is much appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by W R from Birmingham

very nice indeed

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful stay in this very nice and clean hotel. Plenty of character. Upgraded to a large room/studio and that was well worth it! The room was massive. Being a foreigner from the continent I loved the espresso machine in the room..