Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Marty from Connecticut

Basic needs hotel-location great

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Gloria Plaza Hotel was clean, neat, convenient to public transportation. Laundry services were available BUT very expensive. Over $110 for less than 20 items.. There was no items dry cleaned. Room had Air Conditioning but was not turned on due to Chinese Government Policy. the outside temperature threshold was not achieved. Room was stuffy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gary B. from Saugerties, NY

Excellent hotel in great location.

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was very helpful, and there was always someone that spoke good English. The breakfast in hotel was good and changed from day to day. It is an easy walk to Master of Nets Garden (1 km) and a moderate walk to Humble Administrators Garden (1.6 km), Suzhou Museum and Lion Grove Garden. There are many good restaurants around the hotel. Pingjiang Road is right across the street. The only negative (not hotel's fault) is the difficulty of getting a taxi outside the hotel during busy times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by I am new in Chi

Very nice and warm hospitality

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Staff is extra ordinary helpful , I was over whelmed, definitely I go back to the Gloria, excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike C from Pleasanton, CA

Absolutely Recimmend !

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, great service, great people! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and I will surely book this hotel again for my next trip to Suzhou!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

GREAT LOCATION

Posted Dec 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
I would certainly recommend the Gloria Plaza. Right across the road is the narrow lane way with the canal...and if you walk along this narrow stone roadway, you will have a canal with all the atmosphere of an Asian Venice for your enjoyment. Do be aware of the electric motor bikes that have the tendency to creep up right behind you without any prior notice. The Gloria Plaza is an older hotel, probably built in the fifties. The rooms are large, and somewhat devoid of excessive furniture, hence there is plenty of space. Hot water abounds, good amenities. Water does go down the drain, and everything is clean. Carpets are not new, however it is regularly cleaned. Room service is great; the included breakfast is also great, with a wide range of foods. I would certainly recommend this hotel for its price (if booked through Hotel club)...for its proximity to the HUMBLE ADMINISTRATORS GARDEN and the canal street mentioned above, as well as to the Mall area to the west of the canal street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Phillip from N.S.W. Australia

Good value and well situated.

Posted Nov 3, 2011
Location: Depends on the person's reason for visiting Suzhou. For a tourist this position was most suitable. If there on business, perhaps other places may be better situated.
The Gloria Plaza Hotel in Suzhou is a great place. Our room was clean, quiet, spacious and very reasonably priced. The staff were extremely helpful and the buffet breakfeasts and other meals served at the hotel very good. The hotel was well situated just across teh road to one of the main walkways through the old city. This area is picturesque, full of great little shops and restaurants and at teh far end led on to teh new I M Pei designed Suzhou Museum. I would certainly go back there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Would not go back

Posted Feb 5, 2009
The bathroom smelled. The hotel was run down. Location was central
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Suzhou Gloria

Posted May 9, 2007
This is a nice three star hotel at a reasonable price. You will not be blown away but it is certainly servicable