Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Suzhou

Very good hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2014
I would definitely stay at this hotel again,staff and service were very good.The room was clean although the carpet needed a shampoo as a few stains.Only other thing was the shower door wouldn't close properly and the grouting around the bottom of the shower needs renewing otherwise a very comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tenfeet from Singapore

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
First class hotel. Excellent hotel service. Hotel received short notice from the Government Department which affected their electricity supply on that day we checked in. Staffs at the front desk were professional and absolutely patient. The only minuses are noisy honking of traffic (typical i China anyway) and loud merry makers (this is the busiest and central area of Suzhou). We came from Singapore and has high expectations and we are thoroughly won over. (We stayed in mid December, the low season period. We do not know if the services will be the same for peak period).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JC

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A convenient place to stay

Posted May 26, 2013
It is a convenient place to stay, but the bath room is wear and tear.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TravelsALot from Seattle, WA

Great hotel - great location - great staff

Posted Apr 10, 2013
Best location - close to bus line and shopping. Stunningly beautiful lobby. (Check out the luxurious women's bathroom off the lobby!) The ceiling in the hallways was low - hallways looked a little rundown and old-fashioned, but the rooms were modern. Our bathroom had a problem with the shower leaking - looked like a bit of mold growing on the wall tiles due to water damage. Very friendly and helpful staff - all speak some English. Extraordinary service. They upgraded us to a larger room for no charge.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A.L.

insensitive hotel management

Posted Oct 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
The room we booked said to have a city view, but we were assigned a very small and land-locked room in which for travelers from a very different time zone like us who really need the daylight constituted a major discomfort. Is this the insensitivity of the hotel staffs at check-in or hotels.com fails us? Afterall we had a three nights stay, the hotel is mostly empty and is having its own promotion of big discount rate with room upgrade and other benefits. Also, there was a water leak from the bathroom shower area to the bedroom area which left a patch of wet carpet. There seemed to have no concern for the house-keeping department.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
Service in breakfast room was very bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Marco Polo Hotel is the old Sofitel hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2012
Pros: Location location location !
Cons: Should get rid of the carpet in the hotel.. when walking around smell of cigarette..very unhealthy..
Location: Very close to Metro underground train, city bus stop right outside the hotel.
This hotel just less than10min from the main Suzhou railway station, taxi only cost around 20CNY. Great location, central to everything, underground Metro just next door, bus stop right outside the hotel, food stalls & shopping all around, excellent reception service. I would definitely stay in this hotel again...highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sydney NSW, Australia

Helpful staff

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Pros: Staff
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Central
The staff went the extra mile to be helpful. Useful gym and pool. Good for families. Walking distance to pingjiang lu. Buffet breakfast was weak compared to similarly priced hotels we went to in China.