Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by janet from england

Needs maintainence

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Maintenance
Location: Good location.
Our room needed some redecoration with wallpaper coming away from the wall in places and tiles missing in the bathroom. Some odour of drains in the bathroom. Unfortunately the room we had was adjacent to the next door restaurant courtyard so we could hear their music until midnight and on occasion people talking. Hotel was however well placed by the water. Although their English was limited staff did try and help with queries.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by naskah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Charlotte from Beijing

Maybe old, maybe not

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a great location. However at the moment the area has a lot of construction at the moment. Restaurants in the area are quite pricey, but great atmosphere. We had two rooms...one was good and had lots of charm (though not overly clean) - but the other one was small and had an unpleasant smell. Actually the first room we were shown had no door to the bathroom.....but after convincing the friendly receptionist that is was not appropriate for westerners, she kindly changed it. I would probably stay again but would shop around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Per from Bangor, Maine, USA

Great location

Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room is small, and the shower drains drain slowly, just like I had read from other reviewers. But the location is fantastic. We had a balcony facing the canal (and big windows that open) and there is a great restaurant right next to the hotel with outdoor dining on a roof terrace as well as at the canal. Drawbacks is that public transportation is not very good so bring good shoes for walking. We arrived by taxi but the driver could not find a way to drive there so we had to drag our luggage for about 800 meters. But safe nice alleys along canals to get there. I'd recommend this place if you like historic charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

awesome location on the canal

Posted Apr 27, 2013
best location in the city. right on the canal. heaps of bars and restaurants right outside. would definitely stay here again. very well priced for the location. clean enough and English speaking staff
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dan from Canada

Unfriendly Staffs, Smelly Room

Posted Apr 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was filled with dirty water smell from the bathroom. Clearly it doesn't match the price you paid. We booked a large room and ended given a tiny room. The staff wouldn't help to call a taxi for you because it cause them 5c of the local minute on phone. Just look for a better hotel near by ShanTang. This hotel is not worth your time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Happy Wanderer from Knoxville, TN

Down By The Waterside

Posted Apr 10, 2013
Pros: The location in Old Town is ideal and the rates are good.
Cons: Small room, but I was only sleeping there. Staff are friendly but have limited English.
Location: Have the address in Chinese then get a taxi. Get off at the bridge and get down to the water. It's a few hundred yards walk along the waterfront.
The location couldn't be better, being only minutes walk away from many of the attractions. If you want to go a little further, try a pedicab or motorized tricycle. Uncle's fast Food (UFF) offers a wide selection of complete meals for a pittance and there are pictures to orsed from.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ann S. from Houston, TX

Right on the scenic 7-mile canal

Posted Mar 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Book a "scenic room" for a few dollars more and you can see the colorful scenes along one of the top tourist attractions in Suzhou, other than the famous gardens. Canal boats tie up in front of the hotel, which actually faces the canal, not the street, making it impossible to see from the road. A walk down the canal at night is beautiful, and there are fireworks around 9. Small shops with interesting goods abound just on the other side, and if you walk under the bridge to the left as you exit the hotel, you enter a fascinating market area worthy of hundreds of photos. I'd definitely stay here again. It's about 4 blocks to the #1 bus (walk west) stop, the tourist bus that stops at all the gardens.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kurt

Good Location. Everything else was bad.

Posted Jan 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Felt like beeing in a fridge. Room temperature was around 10 degree!! No electric blanket. Dirty room. Hotel had seen better times long time ago. The view from scenery room was very nice. In summer one could go there but in winter NEVER AGAIN!!!