Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central coast NSW

Perfect location

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Clean and tidy. Close to great restaurants and a short walk into the heart of the city. Kids enjoyed their swim in the heated pool in the middle of winter. Would definitely consider staying here's again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surry Hills- great location for dining

Posted May 21, 2014
Check-in staff were absolutely exceptional, kind and charismatic, they all went out of their way to further benefit my experience. Especially Meghan!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cheap and convenient

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: cleanliness and vibrant colours
Location: oxford st (we had our hens night there)
cheap stay, basic but clean facilities. pool not as big as in photos. cleaners came in before check out time asking if we were ready to vacate our room so they could clean it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Downtown Sydney.

Posted Feb 2, 2014
It's not far to walk from hotel to the center of downtown Sydney.
2 out of 5
by Indang from Brisbane Australia

Cheap hotel near city but terrible room

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Cheap hotel
Its our family first holiday trip, room price for the hotel is reasonable, however, we did not enjoy our stay. Terrible room, no window, aircon is very hot, I tell them several times and they gave us electric fan. We've been there summer imagine the room without aircon. They don't even refill milk and sugar. Parking space is super low and its hard to park. Employees need more training, they don't even greet you welcome or good morning, and even a smile. So disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from Sydney

Nice loved the colours, not plain and boring

Posted Jan 30, 2014
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by T from Canadian

newly renovated but still has problems to work out

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: I liked that I didn't have to wait long to check in or out, and that hotel was clean and new looking from recent renos.
Cons: make wifi internet access available throughout all hotel rooms or don't advertise charge for it, provide some noise attenuation in rooms around pool
Location: Central location not far from CBD & shopping. Near parks, botanical gardens, National gallery, Australian Museum, Opera house. police station near
I choose this hotel because it was in location that I wanted, easy to get to from Museum train station and close to Hyde park.. decor was nice, lay out with clean lines & bright fixtures.. Staff seemed helpful & willing to answer my questions & for directions. The room was well furnished and spacious with everything you'd expect in a hotel room, although doors opened both into suite and into bathroom awkwardly making it hard to walk around & into room . A couple reasons I wouldn't recommend this hotel; Wifi internet was very weak & unusable in my suite, was told by front desk staff to try another part of hotel outside of my room if I wanted to use the wifi that I paid $10/day for, Also the indoor pool part of hotel can be very noisy and echoes throughout the hall, speaking across from other side of pool can be heard through the paper thin walls of rooms in that area of hotel, hotel suite servicing carts very loud on the tiled floors, if you can sleep through all that then you are fortunate. Another odd element to my stay was being told I would be charged a 2% service charge for using a credit card for payment of my room, I only stayed 3 days but would have been charged an extra $12 service fee to pay for it simply by using my credit card (who carries that much cash to pay for hotel room)!!
1 out of 5
by Jamie from Melbourne

Avoid Abey Hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: The outside is nice and check-in area funky
Cons: No false advertising, clean the rooms properly and if you have a heated pool, then make sure its working!
Location: For location, its great and walking distance to shopping centres, cafes, clubs etc
What you see and read on the expedia and abey websites is NOT what you get when you arrive! The room is 2 star if that, cheap tacky renovations, did someone say heated pool & sap... Forget that, its cold and not heated at all, spa also cold.. Also the pool and spa was dirty with plenty of dirt floating in the water! The rooms are not cleaned properly at all, dust everywhere!! The lamps have a good 6 months worth of dust collected on them, the toilet was not cleaned properly with under the seat at the back not been cleaned in months with dark yellow pee stains! Designer Amenities?? What you see is NOT what you get, you get cheap toiletries and not what you see pictured and its not designer.... We paid $900 for four night for this dump??? Backpakers of the same quality would of been cheaper or even perhaps cleaner! Avoid this place if you don't want to be ripped off!