Ratings based on 448 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sandra from auckland

Very good spot and lots of good things in room

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: The pool area. Lots of room in the room. We could have late check out for no extra charge.
Cons: the Lighting was not good.
Location: Martin Place has a great Italian style café/restaurant. Best coffee in Sydney from extremely fussy Espresso person
pleased to arrive and find even though we were there before lunch our room was ready and we could commence our stay. The selection teas was excellent and good strong flavour teas. Important sometimes after being given cheap weak ones. Pool area was very good and no chlorine smell. Only the food in restuarants not good and extremely expensive. This made us eat out and bring wine in.We would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wollongong

Fine

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Comfortable experience. Breakfast buffet one of the better
2 out of 5
by ece from turkey

Not anywhere near 5 star

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location,staff
The only good thing about this hotel is the location. It is close to all the sights.I booked this hotel as a secret hotel, 5 stars! I like the mystery... If I had known the condition of the matresses. I would not have set foot there... The closets were dirty tooo. I wanted to take a picture of the mattress then decided not to..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jenny from Melbourne

Location is fantastic / interior tired & shabby

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Decor as it's starting to look very tired , shabby & in need of face lift & running repairs on curtains
Location: Fantastic location. Close to George St, short walk to Rocks & Circular Quay , walking distance to main Sydney CBD shopping precinct .
We love staying at the Amora as it's location is perfect, staff polite , our one negative comment would be that the decor has become tired & shabby , over the many times we have stayed there the curtains need repair or renewing & perhaps a change in colour or presentation is about due, to keep up with other 5 star hotels in area & make it more appealing. In saying this we would still stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ollie from london

Good location, centre of the CBD

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Location and value for the price
Cons: Pop the tv on the wall!
One of the comfiest hotel beds i have slept in! Nice clean hotel. Breakfast is ok but not worth it compared to brunches in the City! Nice view. TV location a bit weird as it comes out a side wardrobe, but all in all good value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend in the city

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Close to everything
Cons: Staff at breakfast was very unpleasant.
Location: Close to everything you will need for a city stay
Booked a city stay for my husbands birthday, great night at the Basement, and Saturday at the rocks and market.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elisha from Melbourne

Don't appreciate dishonesty...

Posted Apr 6, 2014
We have stayed at this hotel 4 times now as it is probably the most reasonably priced 5 star hotel in the city although it is more like a 4.5 star. Unfortunately this time around we were given the wrong room type (twin instead of a king). The duty manager said we booked a twin which we definitely did not & it did not have "twin" on our confirmation. He said there was nothing they could do because the hotel was 3 rooms overbooked & they were putting people in alternate hotels. He told us we could upgrade & pay more to get a king which I said he should do for free because of the mistake. To cut a long story short they eventually found us the room we booked but we did not appreciate the string of lies that did not add up. Bad customer service! Also would also be nice if the indoor pool was heated, it is freezing!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not 5 star

Posted Apr 6, 2014
They over sold themselves. We arrived to an awful room it was dirty tiles were broken the bed was rumpled. I took photos and complained which I have never done. They did change our room the next day to a much better room and they also gave the others in our party a better room. I think there has to be a standard if your selling 5 star
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Em from Sydney

Close to the rocks, opera house, and king street

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Nice room. Great views from the corner room of the cityscape and a peak at the harbour and darling harbour. The bed was hard to touch but surprisingly very comfortable to sleep on. I loved the wide window sills, you could sit and just watch the world go by below. Instead of the normal 1-2 windows there are windows all down both sides and also from the bath.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tony from Victoria

Lovely Hotel close to Circular Quay, the Rocks.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The service, comfort and all around experience
Cons: The water temperature of the swimming pool was a touch too cool. Include a drinking fountain near the Wet and Dry Saunas.
Location: Close to Circular Quay, the Rocks, all public transport. Right in the heart of the CBD and much to see and experience.
We enjoyed our stay at the Amora very much. The staff were excellent, friendly and professional, always willing to assist. Check out time of 11am was most useful to us.