Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Average hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Noisy Most of the staff are indifferent and a few are nice and polite No concirigie help or bell boy facilities to help baggage for senior citizens lIke us
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Paint was pealing off over one of the windows leaving paint chips on the ground. Room not equipped with a Hair Dryer. No dish cloth provided for doing dishes or dish rack for drying dishes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Convenient to Hyde Park

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Location, room size, price.
Location: Hyde Park Barracks, Queen Victoria Building, Australia Museum, Central Business District, short ride to Botanical Gardens (or a long walk)
The hotel is older, but the rooms are spacious and clean. The lobby is quite plain, and the hotel in general is not fancy, but the rooms were clean and spacious, with thick walls for sound exclusion. I would rate this as very good value for the money. Good location, with a full breakfast buffet for 14.95 (a steal in Sydney). Within easy walking distance of the Australia Museum, Hyde Park Barracks, Hyde Park and the CBD. There's no doorman, no bellboy, but if that's not important to to you I recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Stellar.

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Location and facilities.
Cons: Hotel bar hours were inconsistent and just plain odd. They claimed a 2 for 1 happy hour, but the door had a "closed" sign on it, and no staff.
Location: Hyde Park, ANZAC memorial, Australian museum, many choices for food and drink.
Very nice hotel, excellent location. Hyde Park right nearby, good places to eat and have a drink. I walked virtually everywhere I wanted to go, really enjoyed the park. Friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the CBD and public railway

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Kitchen, microwave and sandwich press, mini bar etc
Location: Close to public transport and walking distance to the CBD.
Great location, staff friendly and willing to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gig Harbor, WA

Central to everything. Most in walking distance.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Business and pleasure trip with wind down in Sydney. Staff friendly, helpful and attentive. Gave local recommendations that never disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Clean and Pleasing

Posted Oct 12, 2014
I only stayed for the one night though the hotel was clean, the rooms where of a good size to relax in. It was a little noisy outside which could be heard from the room up until about 11.00pm. Would stay there again. Good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Great location

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Great location right on the corner of Hyde Park, easy walk from central. Friendly and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fair price in Sydney

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Location: Location is good.
The price is fair in Sydney. But this hotel should not be rated as 4 star hotel. 3 stars tops. Location is good. But it's too noisy at night for the room facing the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Convenient location, good price

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Cons: Air conditioner switched itself off in the middle of the night sometimes? Plug supplied for sink in kitchenette did not seal plughole properly.
Location: Hyde Park - across the road Museum station and Australian Museum - a few mins walk Hyde Park Barracks and St Mary's Cathedral - 10 mins walk
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was well located and good value for money for Sydney, just at the top of Hyde Park and only a few minutes walk from Museum station which connects directly to the airport. There was a supermarket around the corner and it was a short walk to some good restaurants and sightseeing attractions. Our room was clean and comfortable and fairly spacious. The bathroom seemed to be quite new and was also very clean. We had requested a quiet room and were given Room 306. This room faced over some rooftops and towards the back of some other apartment buildings - so no view so speak of - but that was fine by us as it was quiet. We didn't plan on spending a lot of time in the room anyway apart from sleeping. Windows are triple glazed so effective in blocking out noise. Bed was comfortable.