Ratings based on 1,938 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Accessible

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Wonderful experience. Would go back there again. The room was clean and well equipped. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington, NZ

Nice Hotel in Chinatown

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Nice, clean rooms. Friendly staff.
Cons: Double Glazing in all street front rooms!
Location: Within walking distance of Darling Harbour, good bus access to all areas and 5 - 10 minutes walk to Central Station.
Pleasant hotel, nice staff but needs double glazing!!! George street is VERY noisy all night long! When booking we didn't know the area so hadn't realised that it was in the middle of Chinatown and there was lots of Backpacker hostels around the area. Also didn't like all the homeless people on the street but that probably occurs everywhere. All in all we had an enjoyable stay though very tiring.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2015 by Renato, Hotel Management
Dear Gail, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at BreakFree on George. We were disappointed to learn of the disturbance caused by the traffic noise at George Street as we place great importance on our guests and always strive to exceed expectations. We apologise that you experienced this throughout your stay and will certainly share your feedback with our team so we may continue to enhance our offerings and service delivery at the hotel. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back to BreakFree on George soon. Renato Sionillo Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Spacious and clean room. Beds were quite comfortable. Staff were very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel in good location

Posted May 31, 2015
Great experience, friendly staff, great hotel and in a good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2015 by Renato, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Warm greetings from BreakFree On George. Thank you for providing us with feedback following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We understand how valuable your time is and we truly appreciate the effort you have gone to provide us with your kind comments We look forward to welcoming you back to BreakFree On George again soon. Best regards, Renato Sionillo Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Good location

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Position
Cons: Cleaning
Location: As I said above
Spent 7 nights here and found the location ideal for our needs. We were two blocks from Central station, across the road from Paddy's Market and the light rail and the buses were outside the door for travel and to Circular Quay for the ferries. Chinatown and a supermarket were one block away. Darling Harbour a short distance. The room was adequate but not as shown in photo. We had two hot plates and a sink which is the studio room. Staff were very good but the room was not cleaned as well as it could have been. Overall though our stay was quite satisfactory.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2015 by Renato, Hotel Management
Dear Gaye, It is great to receive your feedback after your recent stay and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and were able to travel about easily to visit attractions in the local area. We hope to be able to welcome you back next time you are visiting Sydney. Kind regards, Renato Sionillo Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good location. Everything else was just ok/average

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Better room descriptions and updating the rooms.
The room was ok. The pictures on the website make the rooms look a lot newer than they are. The location was great though and it was fine for what we needed. Probably a bit pricey for what it was though. The 1 bedroom apartments are more expensive than the open plan rooms, yet there is no door to the bedroom so it may as well be open plan.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Renato, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your honest and valued feedback after your recent stay with us. It is feedback such as yours that allows us to monitor our guest's experience and work to correct areas that are not meeting their expectations. We are pleased to advise that we will be having a refurbishment in the coming months and will also be upgrading many of our in-room facilities at the same time. We hope that at some future time we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to BreakFree On George. Kind regards, Renato Sionillo Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great price and location

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: friendly staff, great location
Location: good restraunts near by, paddys market, short walk to darling harbour
Excellent staff, free late check out was great, clean room, great price
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2015 by Renato, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at the BreakFree on George, and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to BreakFree on George in the very near future. Best regards, Renato Sionillo Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nouméa

très bien situé, calme rien a redire super

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: oui la literie est bonne
Cons: rien
Location: dans le quartier chinois près de Paddys-market ,si vous avez du temps il y super pleins de belles choses à voir dans ce quartier .
le personnel de l’hôtel super sympa ,attentif à vos demande et à votre bien être Merci pour tout . je reviendrais , nous avons une suite dans lequel il y avait une chambre avec salle de bain.(baignoire), dans la deuxième pièce il y avait un très grand lit avec elle aussi une salle de bain avec baignoire, une table pour 4 personnes et tout ce qu'il faut pour cuisiner.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by Renato, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Warm greetings from BreakFree On George. Thank you for providing us with feedback following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We understand how valuable your time is and we truly appreciate the effort you have gone to provide us with your kind comments We look forward to welcoming you back to BreakFree On George again soon. Best regards, Renato Sionillo Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Hotel in the city

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Good location Comfortable, clean
Cons: There's no free wifi Directions via lightrail should be included
Good stay, comfortable. Located in the city, no complains. Friendly staff. Good for a short trip stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2015 by Renato, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Warm greetings from BreakFree On George. Thank you for providing us with feedback following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We understand how valuable your time is and we truly appreciate the effort you have gone to provide us with your kind comments We look forward to welcoming you back to BreakFree On George again soon. Best regards, Renato Sionillo Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The cleaners were friendly
Cons: Reception. Cleaning. Internet. Value for money.
Location: In Chinatown so many eating places. The stop for the free bus along George St near to hotel entrance.
Wanted to ensure 2 beds made up. Phoned and was told to go back to Expedia. Reception on arrival was caustic about our needs. Linen was not sent when asked for, had to go and get it, no blanket was included and had to make up the bed ourselves. Eventually got a blanket. Spare blanket had large stain. Mattress was very badly stained and not comfortable. Aircon blew out cold air only. Internet was very expensive. 'Free' TV programmes were rubbish.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2015 by Renato, Hotel Management
Dear Beth, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from our front desk and housekeeping and will certainly address this with the departments involved. This is not to our usual standard and I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to BreakFree On George again soon Best regards, Renato Sionillo Front Office Manager