Ratings based on 442 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff, and very clean. Facilities to make tea/coffee and cook if needed.
Location: Central station near -took train to Blue mountains fantastic.
Fantastic location ner to city and main train station. Found out free bus to city sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the location. great for transport and restau

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Great that we could have the extension of time at check-out as my partner was ill and eased our situation as well. Room very clean and roomy for a small area. Water damage in the bathroom needs attention to door and some surfaces. Breakfast was 1/10. No juice, cereal bowls too small and bad choices of cereal. Had to ask for scrambled egg to be replenished at 7.15am when breakfast started at 7.00am. Bacon cooked to chinese likening but Australians like it a bit crisper. No tea bags only coffee
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I paid for!

Posted Dec 16, 2014
I did not get the room I paid for - arrived, changed quickly & left for function - returned at midnight to find a double bed only - Reservation booking confirmed a queen and sofa bed request. Will not return.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Hotel close to Chinatown and Darling Harbour

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: location, bed was comfortable
Cons: updating the decor and staff attending to requests properly
Room was below standard. No table or chairs to dine at given it was a 1 bedroom apartment. No pots or pans or microwaveable dishes provided and when requested we were given a saucepan and frypan. No plastics for microwave were given but two ceramic bowls and no pot holders to hold them with. The outside of the kitchen cupboard was dirty and stayed that way throughout our stay and the fridge freezer could not be used even though we advised staff on duty on our first night. Freezer size if able to be used is insufficient for purchasing frozen dinners as an alternative meal. The room looked very tired and needs updating. We have previously stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment approx 4 years ago and were happy with the property but this last trip has changed our mind and we will seek alternatives next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Japan

Good location but everything else is so-so

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: Close to central station. Many restaurants nearby especially Asian ones. Felt like a Chinatown. In-room kitchenette was useful. Cons: Access to the hotel was limited to guests who have room key until 11 am, so if you arrive before then for check in/bag drop, you need to wait for someone coming out opening the door. That was inconvenient. The hotel facilities are not too new. You need to be careful not to flood the bathroom when in shower, as many others pointed out. $25/day for WiFi is expensive. Connection speed was good though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Adelaide

Noise Problem, but still a positive experience.

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff.
Cons: The building facilities (bath room fittings, etc.) looked a bit tired. Elevators were under maintenance.
Location: Loved the China Town ambiance, including the Market atmosphere. We enjoyed the close proximaty to all CBD facilities. We would stay their again.
We had an excessive noise problem in the 'return AC register' which we did not realize until readying for bed (midnight) and after we turned off the room AC. We contacted the desk and the person who responded agreed with us. He was very helpful and under the circumstances decided to transfer us to another room (by now it was 1.00am). During the following day and apparently after the maintenance inspection stated that they needed more time to fix it, that night we again packed our PJ's and slept in another room. (first night level 6 and the second night level 3, our room was 907) All in all we slept on three different beds! Interesting experience. Please note that this is a commendation for the person who assisted us, but perhaps a criticism of the building services maintenance. I am in the building game and have a realistic approach to matters of this kind but unless this room was dedicated to 'deaf' persons it should have been obvious prior to our use of the room (the other rooms we used were fine).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bellevue, WA

Great option in downtown Sydney

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: The location was great, just a quick walk from the train station. We got right on the train at the airport and basically took it right to the hotel.
Cons: The room could have been a little cleaner, the bathroom showed a lot of wear and was in need of new shower caulking.
Location: It was within a busy downtown area with lots of shopping, dining, and bars.
This hotel was very good to us, just steps away from Darling Harbor. Even closer to dining, bars, and entertainment.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

lifts

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: close to entertainment centre
Cons: lifts
lifts under repair so were unstable and slow got stuck a few times
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but nothing much else to shout about

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Walking distance to Paddy's Market, QVB, Darling Harbour, Sea Life, Madame Tussaud's, Sydney Tower Eye, Pitt Street Mall, Australian Museum. Located between Central and Town Hall train stations. Short walk up George Street to take the free CBD shuttle 555 to go to Circular Quay and Sydney Opera House. The ride takes about 10 minutes. Got room on the 11th floor so traffic noise bearable. Elevator on the extreme right makes noises which was a bit unsettling when you're in it. Forget about the cafe/restaurant in the hotel. Better off eating out. Hotel staff do just enough but don't expect above and beyond type of service. You get what you paid for!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Plymouth, MI

Nice Hotel, Good Location

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: more staff had to wait at times
Good location. Staff tipped us off to the free 555 bus and good shuttle to airport.