Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pam from BUNBURY WA

nice hotel very central easy excess to every thing

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: locality management very friendly amenities very good
Cons: redecorate
Location: central rail and bus and walking distance to key
hotel fine but rooms a little tired could do with a lick of paint to brighten it up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hans & Elizabet from Brisbane, QLD

Well located and homely

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: The friendly atmosphere, the great location in the centre of the city close to Wynyard railway station and an incredible buss service.
Cons: We have stayed in differen apartmens and they are all the same, in need of renovation of the bathrooms, kitchens and furniture.
Location: Very close to Pitt street mall with wonderful shops and food in the Centrepoint food court. Wonderful trips with Sydney ferries which are close by.
We have stayed four times over the past three years and each time the place is deteriorating further. This time there were no coat hangers at all in the warderobes. There were not two spoons, forks or cups which matched. The crockery is all old rubbish mostly left by previous occupants. The towels are well past their use by date. There were no bowles but they were promptly supplied when reported. The microwave had no seal in the door at all which is a healt hazzard. It was promptly replaced with an other one when reported. The white curtains are so thin they have holes in it and we were too scared to move them in case they fell appart. Each time during the 10 day stay the linen was not changed and the carpet cleaned. Each day the towels were changed and the garbage removed but that was it. We have put up with this small inconveniences as the manager, Trevor, is helpful, friendly and obliging and you can't beat the location right in the centre of the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LMH from Melbourne

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The cleanliness and ammenities.
Having stayed at The Carrington several times over the last 10 years I had no preconceived expectations. The location is phenomenal. Less than a 2 minute walk to the centre of Sydney and Wynyard station directly opposite. The rooms have always been the same. Outdated furniture and linen with minimal utensils in the kitchen. Basic but acceptable, and about what you expect for the rates they charge. Unfortunately on this trip I found the rooms to be filthy. Not just a light layer of dust, but accumulated filth from goodness knows how many guests. As much as the location has always kept me coming back, this stay will be my last. At least until the rooms are cleaned thoroughly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good location but...

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The area near the hotel has lots of city noise. The room is dated and some features are in poor repair, such as the duck tape covering the broken tile soap dish in the shower or the wood disintegrating from behind the laminated surface in a pile on the floor under the cabinet. The larger bed was old and lumpy and the good news the twin bed for our son was very comfortable. Plus was the kitchen and why we stayed there but given the other things, I'll go with out the kitchen in the future--too bad since the people that run the place are super nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by France from Nouméa

Nice hotel close to the train station and bus

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: Old. So close to everything wynyard station is a 2 minute walk
Great value for money, great service, great location. Central to everything. Excellent service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap but not cheerful

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: Great location, nice staff.
Cons: Double glazing and a good clean.
Rooms were large, but very tired, not that clean and extremely noisy. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by R Sleep from Victoria

Great Location, Comfy Beds, Heaps of space,

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Highly recommend this accommodation, Friendly talkative Management staff. Superb location in the heart of the city, only minutes walk to major attractions and to all public transport, plenty of space, great kitchen and laundry facilities within, very tidy, two Large Flat screen TV's, great balcony to view the City. when comparing various accommodations this is Great value for the price paid
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brady bunch from Country NSW

Friendly helpful service, good location

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Plenty of space for a family of six. Second vanity/toilet was very handy as was the kitchen and washer/dryer. The rooms fixtures are very dated which we didnt mind but they could do with either updating the furniture or giving it a good clean. The shower head needed a good dose of clr and we got clean towels every day and rubbish removed but that was it for housekeeping for the 4 days, other than that we were happy. If you want more, you will have to expect to pay more, this suited our budget. Oh, and we had a balcony which was great,(bit grubby) some reviews didn't like the street noise, but it didnt bother us and we live on a rural property, so it wasnt too bad.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lorraine from NZ

Fantastic Location

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff & comfortable beds
Cons: Appearance of the reception area - couple of vac`s during the day (First Impressions) Spent 8 days at The Carrington
Location: Fantastic - central to everything
Comfortable and clean bedding, location was fantastic. Room was rather dated, more attention to the cleanliness / maintenance of the bathroom ie grouting, bathtub & the inside of the bathroom cupboard. The shower rose needed to be tightened to stop the water spraying all over the floor. Reception area needed to be vacuumed more than once a day - as we know first impressions is everything, other than that - Friendly staff, may consider stay again on our next trip to Sydney.
1 out of 5
by Mars from New Zealand

Budget

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: Location was good
Cons: Dirty and smelt bad
Location: Handy for walking to city shops, bars etc
Needed a really good vacum and a good clean, maintenance required to tap ware, couldn't get clean towels on a Sunday cause cleaners day off. Very dated but I can cope with that if the property is clean. I guess we got what we paid 4.