Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by AKHILESH from Adelaide, South Australia

A cheap hotel with unfriendly staff.

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Perhaps, the Wi-/internet connection was good, other than that, NOTHING!!
Cons: Staff Hospitality for sure.
Location: In CBD, most of the tourist attractions such as the Darling Harbour, harbour Bridge, Opera House, eating and shopping places can be readily accessed.
This hotel/lodge is reasonably priced and is located in the heart of CBD. Its value for money is seen only in providing a place to stay (sleep and rest) and not intended as a luxury hotel to relax and recreate. The biggest problem with this hotel is its UNFRIENDLY Staff members who literally shout at their customers whilst providing unnecessary information on hotel policies. I (We) also found problems with air-conditioning and ventilation system in our room. Even the windows couldn't be opened and we had a difficult time trying to find some sleep. When the grievances were bought to the notice of the reception staff, I was informed that NOTHING could be done about the matter at the moment. As such, we had to stay in the same room for the rest of the night. It was only the next day, that we were accommodated in a slightly better room. The pathetic attitude of the Hotel staff is a matter of serious concern!! We left our luggage in the Cloak room at the Check-out day and while returning back to collect our belongings, we requested to kindly use the common restroom. Surprisingly, the staff didn't allow us to do that and was indeed, very callous towards our problems/needs. Surely, these guys must undergo a re-training in HOSPITALITY!! In summary, we had a POOR experience, no Value for money and would NEVER recommend this place to anyone.
1 out of 5
by Tom from Warrington, UK

Dreadful place

Posted Mar 17, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Quite central
No lift, no help with luggage. Lack of privacy in the room for using the en-suite. Afternoon and weekend staff were indifferent. The place is really a backpackers hotel but charging normal hotel rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Constructive criticism

Posted Feb 19, 2013
Location: Great really terrific
Two things would have made it great. 1. There was no what's on in Sydney brochures to consult and the receptionist was not sure about things. 2. the king size bed used only queen or double sized sheets and the bottom sheet would not tuck in and left me and presumably all the people before me, sleeping on a bare matress. A real turn off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, cheap and non-luxurious

Posted Jan 27, 2013
Close to circular quay and train station. Hotel rooms are small and provide minimum services
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wade from Jersey City, NJ

Great hotel for couple wanting to see Sydney

Posted Jan 16, 2013
Pros: Very easy to find
Cons: no elevator
Location: very central
Hotel clean and basic, great for a couple of nights to see the city, very central location very close to some great bars and restaurants.
4 out of 5
by Lauren from Washington, DC, USA

Great hotel to save money, but not Sydney's best

Posted Dec 30, 2012
Pros: Location, proximity to metro/subway, etc.
Cons: Small lobby on second floor, no elevator
Location: Less than a block away from a metro/subway making transport from airport easy. Reasonale walking distance to most of the major city attractions.
For our first two nights in Sydney, we stayed at the City Lodge Hotel. Online this looked like a great choice with close proximity to a metro/subway station, downtown, reasonable walking distance to the major sites, internet, and king size bed. What we did not anticipate from the hotel description was the part about being on a second floor of a store front. As such, there was no elevator to the lobby. Also, the lobby opened at 8am so we waited outside for 20-35 mins until the door was unlocked. The lobby area is quite small making multiple check-ins and check-outs a bit of a mess with many people and baggage. The front desk attendants were very nice and quite accommodating with holding our bags until our room was ready. Also, we found the free wireless internet to be a bit spotty but worked most of the time. There was no A/C in this hotel either. Lastly, the shower draining system was a bit odd as the entire bathroom floor seemed to get swamped when taking a shower. We liked many things about this hotel, however, I don't think we would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Wacka from Riverina, Australia

Too many stairs!!!

Posted Oct 15, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: no lift
Location: Hunter st, very close to George st and Wynyard station, even though the trains on City Circle went not working for the weekend.
This hotel is in a great location, near George St and opposite Wynyard station. When I checked your site for a place to stay the comments were all good except for the fact there was not a lift. I thought I would risk it and how bad could it be.....well we ended up on the fourth floor.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sydney traveller

3 days in Sydney

Posted Oct 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was brilliantly located, but lacking in other areas. The room was clean, but clearly lamps etc.. hadn't been dusted in quite a while, there were areas of peeling paint and the all staff, although helpful, weren't native English speakers which made communication difficult at time. This was a back packers type operation, not really a hotel, although the price didn't reflect this! There is a kitchen guests can use which is helpful and a pay laundry there.... Great location, very central, just would have expected better facilities for the price. And perhaps fluent English speakers.
3 out of 5
by Anonymous from Sydney NSW, Australia

:(

Posted Oct 4, 2012
Cons: The cleanines, stains on linen and cot left in the room
Location: Central to the shops and everything else
Was disappointed with the cleaniness because there were stains on the linen and mirror wasn't too clean either