Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from Adelaide

Perfect for exploring the Rocks, staff awesome

Posted Aug 20, 2014
We stayed just for a couple of nights but were very impressed with this hotel. The location was perfect for exploring the rocks. Modern and attractive decor, showers were amazing. The staff were incredible, very helpful and accommodating. Huge difference in customer service between staying here at this boutique hotel vs a large hotel - felt really looked after :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Northern Beaches

A very funky hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The décor and staff
Cons: Not a thing!
Location: The hotel is situated right in the heart of the Rocks (opposite the Clock Tower building). The Rocks markets are but a few feet away.
My husband and I chose this hotel for its location not really knowing too much about it. The hotel is very cool - a combination of old world charm and very trendy décor. Our room (# 120) was light and spacious despite the dark décor - bathroom a little small but very clean. The hotel is small but as mentioned tastefully decorated - if you're after boutique style accommodation then this is the place to stay. The staff are so warm and inviting and we'd like to make special thanks to Paul the On-site Manager who went out of his way to ensure our stay was memorable. Breakfast was included in our package and we could order anything off the a la carte menu which was delicious. The menu prices were also very reasonable which surprised us given the venue. There is a lovely little private courtyard you can have a few drinks on with comfortable lounges and heaters. We will definitely return to the hotel again without a doubt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location close to circle quay

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Small room, but clean and well maintained. Great location. Free wifi. staff was very helpful and kind. Had a very small gym with three pieces of cardio equipment, but one was broken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Two days in Sydney

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: location
My husband and I were only in Sydney for two days. This was the perfect hotel! Quaint hotel, wonderful staff, perfect location - we walked everywhere - Opera House, botanical garden, harbor, weekend market, great restaurants and cafes, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2014 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Thanks very much for your review! I'm really pleased to read that you enjoyed yout time with us at Harbour Rocks Hotel! We hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Dylan Cole General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Maurice Kiely from Auckland

Perfect location and neighbourhood

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great stay and had an excellent meal in the hotel restaurant, Scarlett. We found staff very friendly, relaxed and helpful. Next time for a longer stay we'll book a larger room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your review! It was great to see you enjoyed your time with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal in Scarlett Restaurant! We hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Dylan Cole General Manager
2 out of 5
by barry from Melbourne

Great location,but...

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Sound proofing in street level rooms, and website photos to give realistic representation of what you will get for your money.
Location: The Rocks area is full of historical sites, great restaurants, and close walking distance to Circular quay.
Great location in the heart of the Rocks. Booked Superior Heritage room but it was located on ground floor at street level and a lot of street noise at night prevented a good nights sleep. Hotel website photos of Superior Heritage room did not match the room we paid for! Management maintain it was a Superior Heritage room. If so, photos are very misleading.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by thierrym

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Thanks for the 4 stars!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stephen from Perth, WA

Tiny Bathroom

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The en suite was the smallest I have ever come across; the staff informed me that due to the old building the original en suites could not be altered. For a superior room it was very small. Breakfast was ordered for our first morning; we arrived at 9.30 and there were no tables. When we were seated 10 minutes later we immediately ordered our cooked breakfast. These took over 30 minutes to arrive which is unacceptable. Apparently only 1 chef was on duty that morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Hi Stephen, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm really sorry that we did not live up to expectations. It was very dissapointing for me to read that your breakfast order was delayed. I can appreciate that this would have taken away from the overall comfort and enjoyment of your stay. Sincerely, Dylan Cole General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by jg from seattle wa.

close to all

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good stay very good---------
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Thanks very much for the 4 stars!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by biggers from Melbourne

Excellent hotel!

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful location, comfortable room, great service. We thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant, Scarlett, at which we had lunch on our first day and dinner on our second day - the quality of the food was excellent. We we plan to return to the Harbour Rocks hotel n our next visit to Sydney!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review biggers! Was great to see we rated 5 stars!! We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Sincerely, Dylan Cole General Manager